The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 28, 2024, 07:27:18 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Starbase Café (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  SuperMelee Clone (Beta II In-Progress)
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 9 Print
Author Topic: SuperMelee Clone (Beta II In-Progress)  (Read 51145 times)
xenoclone
*Many bubbles*

View Profile WWW
SuperMelee Clone (Beta II In-Progress)
« on: October 03, 2006, 02:41:48 am »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this forum. Years ago, I was addicted to SC II's supermelee. Since then, I've always wanted to program my own similar game. Well, I'm finally doing it! I've been developing a melee clone for about 5-6 months now in my spare time using the Torque 2D game engine, which is possibly the most powerful 2D game engine available for developers.

Now, it's not the same ships or anything like that. Obviously I don't own the rights to it. And I plan on selling it for $10 or so. But it should be a high quality melee game that, if there's enough interest, I could setup to be mod-able so that SC fans could replace my ships with their own.

So I'm curious if there's interest in a game that can be modded? I'm at the point in my programming that I'm going to need to make a decision about whether or not I support it. It's not tirival to implement so I'd really appreciate it if people could say, you know, "yes I'd paid $10 for a game that I could turn into SCII melee on a modern game engine."

I can put up some screens soon if people are interested. Smiley
« Last Edit: October 11, 2007, 11:36:43 pm by xenoclone » Logged

JonoPorter
Enlightened

Don't mess with the US.

View Profile WWW
Re: I'm Creating a SuperMelee Clone
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2006, 07:20:29 am »