The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 20, 2017, 08:49:15 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: UQM development migrated from Subversion to Git

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General Discussion (Moderators: Michael Martin, fossil)
| | |-+  UQM HD Mod: Still a thing?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: UQM HD Mod: Still a thing?  (Read 175 times)
orobouros
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



View Profile
UQM HD Mod: Still a thing?
« on: October 23, 2017, 10:40:30 pm »

I'm unable to get it to work.  It ran exactly once with no issue, only if you leave the "launch game" checkbox filled during the installer.  Any attempt to launch it using the actual executable or any shortcuts it makes for you, result in crash-to-desktop with the generic "Windows had to close this".  Even after a clean reinstall and reboot.  The game literally can only be run once.  Once you quit, you're done until you reinstall and launch directly from the installer.

It's a crying shame, as I was really enjoying the updated art.  I didn't expect to have this much trouble on an old Win 7 box.
Logged
Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 970



View Profile WWW
Re: UQM HD Mod: Still a thing?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2017, 11:45:53 pm »

Try running the HD MegaMod. https://github.com/Serosis/UQM-MegaMod/releases
It has all the required .dll and Visual C runtimes needed to get it running.

If it works you can take all the HD content from your current HD installation and slap it into the same folders for the MegaMod.

To be clear none of the gameplay has been changed in the MegaMod except one inconsequential alliance possibility and everything that the MegaMod can do is togglable in the menu..
Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your Mega Mod HERE
Mormont
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 199


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: UQM HD Mod: Still a thing?
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2017, 11:54:48 pm »

Have you tried running as administrator? That's worked for me in the past.
Logged
orobouros
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



View Profile
Re: UQM HD Mod: Still a thing?
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2017, 12:51:37 am »

Try running the HD MegaMod. https://github.com/Serosis/UQM-MegaMod/releases
It has all the required .dll and Visual C runtimes needed to get it running.

If it works you can take all the HD content from your current HD installation and slap it into the same folders for the MegaMod.

To be clear none of the gameplay has been changed in the MegaMod except one inconsequential alliance possibility and everything that the MegaMod can do is togglable in the menu..

I'm afraid that's equally unplayable.  The default resolution is ridiculous, and the graphics settings menus are bugged into unreadability with big green rectangles and randomly-appearing portions of menu choices appearing all over the bottom of the screen.  Sigh.  I guess actually playing the HD version was too much to ask for in this day and age.  Even if I pay for the one from GOG, that's the old, standard graphics, right?
Logged
Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 970



View Profile WWW
Re: UQM HD Mod: Still a thing?
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2017, 01:24:26 am »

Well the default resolution is what it is because I wasn't going to make people download hundreds of megabytes for what amounted to an extra addon and a different exe.

Slap the HD content into the addons directory of the MegaMod and see if that helps.

Some screenshots of the problem might help me diagnose your issue as well because this is something I've never heard or seen before.
Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your Mega Mod HERE
orobouros
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7



View Profile
Re: UQM HD Mod: Still a thing?
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2017, 04:04:11 am »

Have you tried running as administrator? That's worked for me in the past.

This turns out to be the best solution, surprisingly.  This box is (old and) only for light gaming (minecraft) and streaming to the TV, so my usual credentials ARE administrator credentials.  But running as Administrator does, in fact, prevent the crashing problem in the first place, allowing me to run the Sourceforge version just fine.  It even left my saves and settings behind when I previously uninstalled (kind of annoying in general, but nice in this case).

I thought that trick making a difference (at least when you already had admin rights normally) went out with Windows XP...

Anyway, Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!