The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => Technical Issues => Topic started by: Perky on March 09, 2004, 03:22:48 pm



Title: Im confused..
Post by: Perky on March 09, 2004, 03:22:48 pm
I downloaded the installer and noticed that it downloads the files while installing. I usually download the games at school and from there trasfer them to my PC. So is there a installation that doesn't download anything from web or doesn't require internet?


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: FalconMWC on March 09, 2004, 06:17:20 pm
Well not offically. But you can follow these instructions:
Well here is the REALLY easy way to do it.  
(Note - You must have a CD burner)

(FalconMWC on another thread)
(Non-quoted because quoted is hard to read to some people.)

Download and install the full version of 0.2 on the broadband CPU. (Yes, I know it is no the most recent version, but it works on this one the easiest)  

Next find the directory you installed it in and select it.  

Copy and paste on the CD.  
Let it burnnnnnnn.......

Then take it to your "other computer", select the folder on the cd and copy.

Paste on the directory of the C: of you choice. (Just remember where it is)  

Once that is done go into the folder. You should see Content in the top left along with other icons. The one you are looking for is a purplish icon marked UQM or Ur-quan masters, or 0.2. I forget which. Copy and paste to your desktop. (Or just rightclick on the icon and click send to desktop if you have windows XP.  

Next, ENJOY this great (and old!!!) Version of UQM.  

Hoped that helped!


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Deep-Jiffa on March 09, 2004, 07:05:39 pm
Cd burner at school? Just download it at your house, it is only 120 mb!


Title: Re: Im confused...
Post by: FalconMWC on March 09, 2004, 07:21:31 pm
It takes FOREVER with a modem. (about 6 hours for me) until I got broadband ;D


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Deep-Jiffa on March 09, 2004, 07:48:46 pm
He don't have another option, do he? Or... he could get this "remote" cd-burner and install it on one of his school's pc and burn it... But it will be a bit expenssive for freeware...  ::)


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: FalconMWC on March 09, 2004, 08:31:14 pm
All it requires is a CD burner DJ - Most schools have them. (I think)


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Deep-Jiffa on March 10, 2004, 02:11:47 am
Quote
All it requires is a CD burner DJ - Most schools have them. (I think)

Not that I found in one of ours...And there is no reason to put cd-burner in school!


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: FalconMWC on March 10, 2004, 02:17:57 am
The school I am talking about is a computer school. I am sure you have a CPU classroom. It is VERY convient to have a burner. Assignements for one.  What if the teacher wants to test out a program at school and let the students bring it home to study, but does not have a burner at home. Many many uses.


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Terminator on March 10, 2004, 02:22:50 am
Not at my school very basic could not have been more than 4x but then again that was 3 years ago.  In my school we had people who knew what they were doing removing win pass screen and replacing it with their own and other loopholes in their program like barring use of certain programs but allowing use of the Dos Prompt. An old-schooler like myself would know how to acess any of the network drives through File Manager by typing winfile at the command prompt (one of dos anywhere shortcuts.) but considering the school was running a T-3 modem split between 35 machines didn't amount for too much.

By the way you could always choose not to dl the voices and 3do music saving u about 100 megs of HD space.

TERMINATOR - the obnoxious one


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Perky on March 10, 2004, 10:46:06 am
So It doesn't need window registry? Ooh, then it's easy! :)


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Deep-Jiffa on March 10, 2004, 11:32:35 am
Quote
The school I am talking about is a computer school. I am sure you have a CPU classroom. It is VERY convient to have a burner. Assignements for one.  What if the teacher wants to test out a program at school and let the students bring it home to study, but does not have a burner at home. Many many uses.

Well yea, we now learn VB script and we need the 200 mb program Visual Studio 6(or whatever). You know how they told us to get it? Download it from Kazaa....

P.S Seriously, no joke!


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: FalconMWC on March 10, 2004, 05:15:55 pm
I work off a VB. net framework. - And boy is that program huge.

Downloading off the internet for free? Are they expecting that to work on your CPU or just the schools. Then, I would imiagine that you would have a faster mode than dial-up to download that.


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Terminator on March 10, 2004, 09:02:31 pm
If you are working in a school you're not making anything all that big so instead of a cd-burner a 3.5 floppy drive will be used.EDIT: or in other cases Iomega zip drives are used.


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: FalconMWC on March 10, 2004, 09:57:05 pm
Acually the projects I amke and work on fit on about 7 floppies.


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Deep-Jiffa on March 10, 2004, 11:44:07 pm
School: Legally bought cd of Visual Basic.

Home: Download from the internet! :-X


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: Perky on March 11, 2004, 11:09:08 am
First of all it's quite difficult to download anything from web when you don't have internet connection. That's why I download at school.


Title: Re: Im confused..
Post by: meep-eep on March 11, 2004, 05:21:36 pm
The 0.3 installer isn't suited very well for off-line installation. However, if you know a bit about Windows, you can install it manually:
What you need to download is the content pack (uqm-0.3-content.zip), and optionally the music (uqm-0.3-3domusic.zip) and speech packs (uqm-0.3-voice.zip) from the download page. You may also want to download the remix packages.
Also, you need a Windows executable. One freshly baked from cvs will probably do (but read the caveats), get it at http://uqm.stack.nl/files/snapshots/. I suggest you pick the latest release binary.
And you'll need the "version" file from http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/version
Now, create a directory "The Ur-Quan Masters" in your "Program Files" folder. Unzip the .zip file in which the Windows executable came, and put the resulting uqm.exe file in the "The Ur-Quan Masters" dir.
Also create a directory "content" in this directory and put the "version" file there.
In the "content" dir, create a directory "packages", and put the content and (optionally) speech, music, and remix .zip files there. Do NOT unzip them.
Now you should be able to run uqm by starting uqm.exe. You may want to make a link to your desktop, or add an item to your start menu.
Note that you don't have the manual. If you need it (and you should read it before asking questions), get it from http://
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/doc/users/manual.txt.