The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => Technical Issues => Topic started by: merakspielman on August 01, 2004, 04:51:20 am



Title: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 01, 2004, 04:51:20 am
I've looked through previous topics, but nobody seems to be having this particular problem.

Upon opening uqm.exe, I get a dos box for a split second and then it disapears.

I started in DOS mode so I could see the message. It is as follows:

Fatal Error: Couldn't mount content dir: No such file or directory


Now, everything seems to be in the correct place. The installation completed without a hitch. In the Content directory is a file ("version") and a the Packages directory . In the Packages directory is a directory "Addons" and three .zip files: uqm-0.3-3domusic, uqm-0.3-content, and uqm-0.3-voice.

All of the zip files seem to function properly. I can open them and extract all the files in them with no errors (I did this just to see if there were any problems with them).

So what gives?


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 01, 2004, 04:57:38 am
I am currently redownloading the .zip files to see if that's the problem.


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 01, 2004, 05:02:56 am
redownloading didn't help. Same error. (thank goodness for broadband, or that little experiment could have taken a while!)


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: Michael Martin on August 01, 2004, 05:55:16 am
This often means that the working directory isn't set right, or some other sort of wackiness with directories.  Try passing the content directory directly to the program with the -n switch.


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 03, 2004, 05:01:25 am
It's not working. Perhaps I'm not using the -n switch correctly.

from the command line:

uqm -n content
uqm -n c:/program files/the ur-quan masters/content
uqm -n ./content
uqm -n /content

all returned the same error message.

would perhaps installing it to a different directory help? Heck, I'll try it and get back to you.


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 03, 2004, 05:11:31 am
I installed to a different directory. Now I get a different error:

Can't stat c:/documents and Settings: Invalid argument


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: Michael Martin on August 03, 2004, 07:49:26 am
If you have spaces in your directory name you need quotation marks around the full name.


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 03, 2004, 08:22:19 am
like so?

uqm -n "c:/program files/the ur-quan masters/content"

didn't work. The same "couldn't mount" error.



Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: 0xDEC0DE on August 03, 2004, 09:03:11 am
Are you using forward slashes (/) for illustrative purposes, or are you actually using forward slashes in your pathnames?

backslash (\) is the directory delimiter in win32 systems. Using forward slashes will cause errors similar to what you're seeing.


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 03, 2004, 10:05:34 am
hmm... I just tried the correct slashes... they didn't work. I'm not sure if I was using the correct ones before or not (it's been years since I used a DOS prompt).

What's confusing me is the installation I tried in another directory - the one that returned the "Invalid Argument" error. Why would I get different errors from different locations?


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: meep-eep on August 03, 2004, 10:54:29 am
Actually, even on Windows, you should be able to use forward slashes for C functions like open() and rename(). Furthermore, in uio (so in uqm), backslashes will be replaced by slashes on Windows. So I doubt that's the problem.

But if your install is correct, you shouldn't even need to supply the content dir yourself.

When you say you started in DOS mode, may I assume you meant you started UQM from a command.com or cmd.exe window, and you did not actually start the computer in DOS mode (on Windows 9x)?

I just noticed that the message "Couldn't mount content dir" is also (wrongly) printed when it's the config dir that can't be mounted.
The latest cvs snapshot should fix that. See http://uqm.stack.nl/files/snapshots/ for that. (just replace your installed uqm.exe with the one you download there). Though a number of bug fixes have been made since the 0.3 release, it's unlikely to solve your problem. But at least we'll know whether it's the content dir or the config dir that's actually the problem.

What is your 'APPDATA' environment variable set to (type 'set' in a command window)? Most Windows versions will set that on most systems, and UQM should report when it uses another dir as fallback. But if it is set, but to some strange dir, I can expect problems like yours. UQM will try to create the path to the config dir, but if APPDATA is set to something like ""C:\Documents and Settings\YourName\Application Data\", and "C:\Documents and Settings\YourName" does not exist, UQM probably won't have the permissions to create that path, unless you run it as administrator. (This should not be an issue on Windows 9x.)
What Windows version are you using for that matter?



Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 03, 2004, 11:37:52 am
I tried the snapshot uqm.exe replacement and it didn't change the error.

I am running Windows XP. I typically log in as the Administrator, so permissions shouldn't be a problem. The APPDATA path is set to C:\documents and settings\administrator\Application Data.

I'm using the command prompt from the Accessories menu in the Start menu.


Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: meep-eep on August 03, 2004, 01:16:51 pm
If you get that stat error, the game is at least past mounting the content directory. I find that "invalid argument" error strange though. It's not an error that stat should ever return. One thing worth checking is whether "C:\Documents and Settings" has valid dates and times (for all 3 dates and times).

Also, case may be an issue. While UQM should be able to handle it (and often it doesn't even have to do anything special), it's not impossible that there's some bug somewhere.
What is the exact path (with the exact capitalisation) where you installed UQM?
And the path set in APPDATA, does that match the capitalization of the actual path?
Those messages you quoted, are they literal copies of the actual error? I'm not only refering to the capitalization, but also things like a slash at the end of the path can be relevant.



Title: Re: Can't get 0.3 to run, windows XP
Post by: merakspielman on August 04, 2004, 07:25:04 am
I've given up and installed it on a different computer, one that I don't like to use nearly as much. It worked flawlessly the first time over there.