The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => Technical Issues => Topic started by: atuhalpa on January 09, 2006, 07:37:32 am



Title: "resolving host name error"
Post by: atuhalpa on January 09, 2006, 07:37:32 am
When I try to install the game from my cd drive I get a "resolving hostname" error.  I followed the directions to the "T", even putting all the downloads in the same folder, and installer 0.4.0 still gives me this error. I burned the copy at a friends because I have an extremely slow connection.


Title: Re: "resolving host name error"
Post by: Novus on January 09, 2006, 09:38:58 am
Is your Internet connection active when you try to install? It seems the installer is still trying to access the Internet and failing.

Have you properly selected the correct directory as the installation source?


Title: Re: "resolving host name error"
Post by: meep-eep on January 09, 2006, 04:26:06 pm
Run the installer with the directory containing the downloaded packages as the working directory.


Title: Re: "resolving host name error"
Post by: atuhalpa on January 09, 2006, 06:29:22 pm
Explain "working directory" please.........................


Title: Re: "resolving host name error"
Post by: Krulle on January 09, 2006, 06:41:34 pm
Best do it (if you're trying the windows version, that is) by starting command
(WIN+R; wait for pop-up window, then command [Enter])
then switching to the install directory using old DOS commands
(e.g. D: for CD-drive, D being the letter of the CD-Drive; then
CD thedirwherefiles/are/burned/to [Enter]
uqm-0.4.0-win32-installer.exe [Enter] being the name of the installer file)
In windows using the explorer you are looking at one directory, but the active one is another one.

Just as a comment,
 enjoy!
Krulle


Title: Re: "resolving host name error"
Post by: atuhalpa on January 15, 2006, 04:43:03 am
C'mon guys I am following all the prompts and selecting the right directories. The problem is in the installer. Have any of you people making suggestions actually installed the game from a folder on your computer? I get a resolving host name error no matter what I do, or if I am connected to the internet it starts downloading the files.


Title: Re: "resolving host name error"
Post by: meep-eep on January 15, 2006, 04:48:30 am
From the instructions Krulle gave you, after the "CD" command, do a "DIR" and paste the output here. Then perhaps we can see what is wrong.


Title: Re: "resolving host name error"
Post by: DwD on January 31, 2006, 12:47:32 pm
Ok, it looked pretty straight forward to me.  Start the installer, at some point, it will ask you for a directory where you may have pre-downloaded content.  Either browse to, or key in your location.

If it won't look for these files on your CD, try copying the whole thing to your HD.