The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => General UQM Discussion => Topic started by: sun on December 18, 2002, 06:55:38 pm



Title: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: sun on December 18, 2002, 06:55:38 pm
The old patch thread is rather crowded and off the front page besides, so I figured a repost was in order. Here is a link to the updated version of the compiled windows exe (305KB zip):
http://attila.stevens-tech.edu/~lnanek/uqm_121202.zip

Thanks again to serendipity for the compile. Copying this over your alpha version exe will fix collision detection (including spathi, mycon, Sa-Matra, etc) and a few other things. The melee pause button is buggy in this version, however, so avoid that button. Here are some additional 'save as' content links that are recommend for this drop in (although if your not firewalled like me getting a full content update via CVS is better):

New content for "The Ur-Quan Masters\content" directory (fixes Yehat missing dialogue):
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/yehat.con?rev=HEAD

New content for "The Ur-Quan Masters\content\ipanims" directory (allows you to stop at planet Earth using this patch):
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/eartmask.ani?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/eartmask.png?rev=HEAD


Title: Re: Link for Windows 0.2 EXE Here
Post by: Parker on December 19, 2002, 06:11:38 am
Thanks!


Title: Developers Stance on this...
Post by: Chad on December 19, 2002, 09:41:59 pm
What is the developer's take on this?  Would it be a good idea to post this on PNF?  Would it be a *fun* idea?  I.e. this is technically an unofficial release, and I don't know if they want it publicized past the hardcore users of the board?


Title: Re: Developers Stance on this...
Post by: Mika on December 19, 2002, 10:06:07 pm
Quote
What is the developer's take on this?  Would it be a good idea to post this on PNF?  Would it be a *fun* idea?  I.e. this is technically an unofficial release, and I don't know if they want it publicized past the hardcore users of the board?

Better to not post them on PNF, as the unofficial ones can contain all kind of nasty bugs and problems due to highly experimental code (and content changes which would be need to included too), so we don't like them being distributed too publically.

Otherwise the idea of unofficial binaries is fine, but I think it's better that those remain inside this forum.


Title: Re: Link for Windows 0.2 EXE Here
Post by: sun on December 19, 2002, 10:18:34 pm
In the original patch thread, regarding an official 0.2 release, Mika (Forum Admin, Core Team) said:
Quote
We are NOT ready to release 0.2 yet. Mind you, the 0.1 came out only two weeks ago, there's no point to do official releases every day, the hassle it takes is just too big and there's often much experimental code around (though you can always compile directly from CVS if you want). We'll discuss this more inside core team when all of us are online.

I'd suspect if we exceptionally release 0.2 this early, it's for transition to new bug reporting system (bugzilla) which is much better than forums for that.

This was about a week ago.  So, as you said, this exe is completely unofficial and should probably not be widely distributed.  It's great to have good people working on SC2 and obviously they should be the ones calling the shots.  This drop in does, however, let people who have no idea how to compile such complex programs, like myself, use spathi and mycon ships and complete the game. ^^

Edit: Replied before seeing Mika's new post, I have to refresh more often. *cries*


Title: Re: Link for Windows 0.2 EXE Here
Post by: Chad on December 20, 2002, 11:21:35 pm
Thanks Mika!

I'm still working on getting a copy of Visual C++.  Haven't touched C++ in years... I still have my copy of Visual C++ 5.0 from my college days.  Anyone know if that will work?  I read a few places that Visual C++ 6.0 or .NET was pretty much required if running Windows.


Title: Re: Link for Windows 0.2 EXE Here
Post by: Nic. on December 21, 2002, 02:53:12 am
I tried and failed to get it to build with VC++ 5.0; got a bunch of errors regarding symbol table mismatches and whatnot -- I'm guessing that something somewhat "big" happened between 5.0 and 6.0 that makes 5.0 mostly obsolete.

But it's no matter, you can build UQM with MinGW, the win32-native version of GCC.  See the "INSTALL.mingw" file in the main directory (of CVS, anyways) for details.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: sun on December 26, 2002, 08:30:10 am
Just bumping my own thread. ^^

Some new info:
1) F10 apparently works as a pause as well (with option to quit as well as unpause) and isn't buggy.

2) I have no clue what the version number for this compile should be.  It doesn't matter IMHO since its unofficial anyway. ;p ^^


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 06, 2003, 09:30:43 am
Alright, I have built a completely unnofficial Windows build today (Jan 05, 2003) based on the latest CVS.
It includes lots of fun stuff (see the Changelog if  you really want to know).

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL BUILD!!!!!
You will need the 0.1 release (or some snapshot after that) to start with
Unpack uqm.zip (which will build uqm.exe) into your sc2 dir (NOT the content dir)
http://www.phracturedblue.com/sc2/uqm_010503.zip
there is also a mirror availiable (thanks Chad) at:
http://www.classicgaming.com/starcontrol/temp/uqm_010503.zip

(please use the mirror if you can, since I don't have huge amounts of bandwidth).  the file is about 320k

Then get the updated files below.

You will need to copy your starcon2.0* files from the content dir to the new location (which should be displayed when you first start uqm). It'll be something like:
C:/Documents and Settings/username/Application Data/uqm/s
ave/

Also some of the keys have changed (F12 is emergency quit instead of ''`' for instance).  Someone can proably say what  the new keys are.

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL BUILD!!!!!

These files in the content dir have been updated since 0.1
You may not need all of them, but I don't know whch ones are critical,and which are just nice to have:

content:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/yehat.con?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/starcon.key?rev=HEAD

content/comm/comandr:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/comm/comandr/comandr.txt?rev=HEAD

content/comm/melnorm:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/comm/melnorm/melnorm.txt?rev=HEAD

content/comm/orz:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/comm/orz/orz.txt?rev=HEAD

content/comm/pkunk:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/comm/pkunk/pkunk.txt?rev=HEAD

content/comm/shofixt:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/comm/shofixt/shofixt.txt?rev=HEAD

content/comm/thradd:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/comm/thradd/thradd.txt?rev=HEAD

content/ipanims:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/eartmask.ani?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/eartmask.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/ip_sun.ani?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/ip_sun.0.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/ip_sun.1.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/ip_sun.2.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/ip_sun.3.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/ip_sun.4.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/orbplan.ct?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/ipanims/space.mod?rev=HEAD

content/lbm:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/activity.5.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/title.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/outfit.0.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/sisblu.22.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/arispace.mod?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/battle.mod?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/hyper.mod?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/outfit.mod?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/shipyard.mod?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/starbase.mod?rev=HEAD

content/lbm/micro.fon:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/micro.fon/38.png?rev=HEAD
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/micro.fon/94.png?rev=HEAD

content/lbm/player.fon:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/lbm/player.fon/42.png?rev=HEAD

THIS IS NOT AN OFFICIAL BUILD!!!!!



Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Jimmy C on January 06, 2003, 06:08:55 pm
Thanks, the planet surfaces look beautiful!

I have a few questions.

First where are the savegames located now? I can save and load games but they do not seem to be the savegames I previously had.

Second, just curious but what was modified in the mods?



Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 06, 2003, 06:47:32 pm
Look at the first line in the console window.  That will tell you where load/save games go. (or reread my message above)

Glad you like the planet-surface :)
Dunno what  changed in the mods, but you can always check the Changelog:
http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/ChangeLog?rev=HEAD



Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Jimmy C on January 06, 2003, 07:14:18 pm
Thanks for the location. Missed it the last time.

I'm puzzled by why the scan is slower now. It takes 3 secs to complete a scan and 9 secs to do the full scan. It used to be faster, why the slowdown?

And what's this about the intro/end sequences listed in the change log if I may ask?

Quote
- Added PC version intro/ending font, from VileRancour
- Added files for intro and ending sequence, from fOSSiL; extracted using Mudrony's scripts plus his own work.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Jimmy C on January 06, 2003, 07:30:08 pm
One thing I forgot to add, there are some grphical glitches in the game.
One is in the first starbase sequence. When the starbase is still on emergency power. There is a flash of white specks at one point of the animation loop. It is gone when the base is operating normally.
Another is when the savegame menu is dismissed, there is a flash of white specks again.
In each of these cases, the specks always appear in the same locations.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 06, 2003, 07:32:43 pm
Scan was slowed down to be the same as 3do.  We may decide that it is too slow, but for now it matches 3do.  just hit space to bypass the scans if you want them to be faster.

As for the intro/ending, the graphics are there, but fOSSiL is still working on getting the code to read them working I believe.  So they should be ready soon.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Scott on January 06, 2003, 08:35:14 pm
I can't seem to even play the game in this version. On the start up menu thing, the arrow keys won't move the choice down to Super Melee or anything.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 06, 2003, 09:32:56 pm
Quote
I can't seem to even play the game in this version. On the start up menu thing, the arrow keys won't move the choice down to Super Melee or anything.


The keyboard code has completely changed.

You need to get: http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/starcon.key?rev=HEAD

(and probably other things from the content dir too)


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Scott on January 06, 2003, 10:47:42 pm
Aside from the commndr one, I can't seem to download any of the /comm content.

Everything else worked though, and I agree, the new planets are nice. :)


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 06, 2003, 11:05:16 pm
Quote
Aside from the commndr one, I can't seem to download any of the /comm content.

Everything else worked though, and I agree, the new planets are nice. :)


That is because I don't proof-read my submissions. I have fixed the links in my original post, so they should work now.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Jimmy C on January 07, 2003, 08:40:20 am
I spotted a bug in this version.
I was attacking the Sa-matra with a Shofixti when it was bounced towards the forcefield. Seeing that destruction was unavoidable, I blew up the Scout instead. Imagine my surprise when the focefield disappeared with the blast! I was tempted to enter with my flagship but decided to disarm the Sa-matra first. When I finally brought my flagship in, it bounced off the opening, making it impossible to finish the game!
I've run this fight several times on this version before and since, I have never downed the barrier without taking out the generators before. It looks like it happened only because my Scout was very close (almost touching) the barrier before it destructed. You should look into this if possible.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Jimmy C on January 07, 2003, 10:17:06 pm
One rather serious bug in this version.
It seems that the game could halt when you are scrolling through your savegame slots. It seems to be random. I've had it happen to me when saving or loading. All I did was use the arrow keys to move through the slots then the game just halted, and the only key still functional was F12!


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: OHHDEAR on January 08, 2003, 02:32:05 am
How do you do the "OHH DEAR IT IS TIME FOR ME TO ESCAPE FROM COMBAT" maneuver thingy with this version? Numpad Plus and Space don't seem to do the trick anymore?


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Nic. on January 08, 2003, 03:21:19 am
You can define it yourself via the "starcon.key" file but I believe it's Space + Enter now by default.

Oh, and it's no longer ` or ~ to exit, it's now F12.  Enjoy.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Chad on January 08, 2003, 06:58:09 am
PhracturedBlue, I have mirrored it to the location below if you want to update your link above...

http://www.classicgaming.com/starcontrol/temp/uqm_010503.zip


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Jimmy C on January 08, 2003, 07:50:36 am
Quote
You can define it yourself via the "starcon.key" file but I believe it's Space + Enter now by default.


No. It's space and the right Shift key. Also, the left and right Shift keys let you zoom out and in on the starmap. The numpad is no longer used in the game.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: ErekLich on January 09, 2003, 07:41:22 pm
I had trouble finding the new savegames...

let people know that the savegame folder may be "hidden"!


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Synaptic Failure on January 10, 2003, 04:00:01 am
I found another bug. Performing a single scan for minerals/biological data/energy sources results in coloring the planet's resources window and not restoring its original color in the end. Auto scan works perfectly, though.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: ErekLich on January 21, 2003, 05:56:46 pm
hey PhracturedBlue/sun

as of Jan 22, there seem to have been some failry substantive updates that those of us without CVS access aren't enjoying yet.  Any chance we could get another unofficial build out of you nice folks?  Thanks!


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Chad on January 21, 2003, 06:50:05 pm
Yeah, I want an unofficial build with the synched voice and text! :)


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 22, 2003, 12:10:33 am
I am waiting to make sure the code is reasonably stable.  we did some pretty significant mods (the grafx drawing thread has had a major overhaul in the past week).  Everything seems pretty good now, so I'll probably do another one soon.  I will need to build a content update patch too, so it takes some time, and I am very busy at the moment.
Also, there are one or two cool features which may be done soon, that would be nice to roll in too.

I would say, there is a good chance you'll get a new snapshot by the weekend, and perhaps sooner.



Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 22, 2003, 12:13:32 am
Quote
I found another bug. Performing a single scan for minerals/biological data/energy sources results in coloring the planet's resources window and not restoring its original color in the end. Auto scan works perfectly, though.

By the way, this is a feature, and not a bug.  I don't know what the 3do did, so I just leave the scan color as is.  If someone will tell me what 3do did for single-scan, I will implement that.  The PC side will eventually work right, whenever I get around to adding the extra menus for it.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: seankreynolds on January 22, 2003, 12:16:38 am
I think the 3DO did the same thing ... if you did a bio scan it would filter the planet green and show the bio locations, leaving the green filter in place until you did a different scan, left the scan submenu, or launched a lander.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Cyamarin on January 22, 2003, 01:29:46 am
All I know is the the PC did NOT do that.  It changed the color back to normal, and left the scan dots on the screen.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Nic. on January 22, 2003, 04:35:08 am
I hate to make a liar out of you, but it most certainly did do that:

(http://www.submedia.net/~nic/images/scan.jpg)

It even put a colour-cast on the planet, which is something UQM doesn't do..


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 22, 2003, 09:07:10 am
Well, as I said, i will probably take care of the menus soon.  But I'm not doing that dumb planet tint.  I think they only did that because they chnaged the vga palette, to  do the scan coloring.  And 3do dosn't do it.  So if you really want  the planet tint, you can write it yourself.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Death 999 on January 22, 2003, 08:55:21 pm
That image, at first blush, really confused me because I forgot why the moon was crawling with 'life'. Also, I find it nofty that they got the moon's day length right (29 Earth days, not our 28 day month). :: sigh:: Can barely wait until this works for me...


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Garry Upton on January 23, 2003, 12:39:28 am
Quote


No. It's space and the right Shift key. Also, the left and right Shift keys let you zoom out and in on the starmap. The numpad is no longer used in the game.


Please tell me they're not planning on removing the numpad from the final version of the game...few things annoy me more than trying to fly SC ships with the alpha keys.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: OHHDEAR on January 23, 2003, 03:13:03 am
Use the arrow keys.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Cyamarin on January 23, 2003, 09:53:26 pm
I know it leaves the tint up as long as you're in THAT screen.  What I mean is that it takes the tint away as soon as you hit "Exit Scan", which you will notice (according to the description above) that the 3d0 appears NOT to do.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: PhracturedBlue on January 23, 2003, 10:21:01 pm
Quote
I know it leaves the tint up as long as you're in THAT screen.  What I mean is that it takes the tint away as soon as you hit "Exit Scan", which you will notice (according to the description above) that the 3d0 appears NOT to do.


you should probably realize that the developers are attempting to make the gameplay the best it can be, not necessarily follow the 3do or PC down to the most minute detail.  i don't have a 3do, but the way the scan works today makes sense to me, and  appears to approximate what the 3do did pretty well (in fact, I'd be very surprised if the 3do doesn't clear the scan when exiting the 'scan' menu, since we haven't actually changed any of that code).  A lot of people (well, mostly it's just me that matters) don't like the slow speed of the scan, so i plan to implement the PC version too (scan comes up all at once, when doing individual scans)...but we'll probably have control for the speed in the configuration  tool eventually too.  the autoscan will stay as it is, since it wasn't present in PC (but we're not removing it to make a 'pure' PC version, as it is a nice feature).  

So basically, we only implement differences when either (a) what we have appears to be not right (mathces neither PC nor 3do), or (b) the differences between the PC and 3do are significant enough that they bother someone enough to fix it.


Title: Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
Post by: Cyamarin on January 24, 2003, 02:36:54 am
You're absolutely right, and I fully support the way you're approaching the project.  I was just in a purely academic discussion about the way the game used to work.