The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => General UQM Discussion => Topic started by: Casey Monroe on December 23, 2002, 11:10:07 pm



Title: Does the melee have a pause function?
Post by: Casey Monroe on December 23, 2002, 11:10:07 pm
Sorry if this question has been asked/answered already, but can you pause the melee game?  How is it done?


Title: Re: Does the melee have a pause function?
Post by: paulsid on December 23, 2002, 11:21:28 pm
F1 pauses anywhere inside the game.


Title: Re: Does the melee have a pause function?
Post by: Black Monk on December 24, 2002, 12:00:02 am
...except in the .12/.2 build that you can download from these forums.  Well, technically it pauses but the problem I've run into is that it won't unpause and in fact crashes the game for me.  I think other people have had issues as well.

So the original .1 release should be ok.  But the nicer build you can download from the forums is a "beware" type of thing.


Title: Re: Does the melee have a pause function?
Post by: paulsid on December 24, 2002, 04:08:33 am
Yes, but at least one of the 0.12 .EXEs was updated with a newer build that removed the unpause bug.  :)  I'm not sure which one though.


Title: Re: Does the melee have a pause function?
Post by: Jimmy C on December 24, 2002, 08:22:48 am
If you're running one of the .12 exe with the pause bug, There's a workaround. Use the F10 key to pause instead of the F1 key. If you do that, remember: NEVER press the spacebar before pressing F10 again to unpause.


Title: Re: Does the melee have a pause function?
Post by: sun on December 24, 2002, 09:21:26 am
I actually have a newer compile from serendipity I could post, but the directory for various files like the saved games changed so it's no longer drop in compatible.  The better filtering algorithms like supersai might have been removed as well, I think, so I haven't played with later builds much.


Title: Re: Does the melee have a pause function?
Post by: norg on December 26, 2002, 08:45:22 pm
it's almost like having the old "Boss Key" from leisure suit larry ... the one that wouldn't take you back to the game since you were being naughty. *grin*


Title: Re: Does the melee have a pause function?
Post by: Casey on December 26, 2002, 11:10:50 pm
Thanks guys!