The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => General UQM Discussion => Topic started by: gliffor on October 05, 2006, 11:37:45 am



Title: new uqm
Post by: gliffor on October 05, 2006, 11:37:45 am
where can ı download sc3 (lastest version) ?   please help me


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: BlackSpathi on October 05, 2006, 12:04:42 pm
sc3? u can get it here:

http://www.abandonia.com/games/en/822/StarControl3.htm


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: Zarnium on October 06, 2006, 01:52:01 am
Um, I actually tried doing dowloading it there and COULD NOT get it to work. any help? Actually my dad tried it, and he did everything he thought was right, but it kept saying something about Win32.

...actually, did you mean sc2?


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: Defender on October 06, 2006, 04:04:54 am
You need DosBox if your running Win2000 or XP. Those versions will not run any DOS games. DosBox is your best bet for that game.


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: BlackSpathi on October 06, 2006, 08:53:48 am
yup, should work with DosBox

btw. sc1 and sc2 can be downloaded from the same site. Look at the bottom of the sc3 page for links to sc1 and sc2.


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: Novus on October 06, 2006, 02:07:06 pm
You need DosBox if your running Win2000 or XP. Those versions will not run any DOS games. DosBox is your best bet for that game.
That's not entirely true; Windows XP (and probably 2000, although I have little experience with that system) runs many DOS games pretty well on its own (and VDMSound usually fixes the sound compatibility if needed). This applies to SC3 too, IIRC (I don't have the CD at hand to check right now).


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: Zarnium on October 06, 2006, 04:36:17 pm
I did use DOSBox. But my computer is a macintosh so it should have even more trouble with a windows game.


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: AngusThermopyle on October 06, 2006, 07:08:44 pm
Quote
But my computer is a macintosh so it should have even more trouble with a windows game.

If I'm not mistaken, was there not a Mac version of SC3 released?


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: Novus on October 06, 2006, 09:18:07 pm
If I'm not mistaken, was there not a Mac version of SC3 released?
Looks like there was. (http://www.macgamer.com/features/?id=605)


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: Zarnium on October 06, 2006, 09:24:47 pm
Yes, but only the windows version was on abandonia.


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: Defender on October 07, 2006, 01:23:03 am
You need DosBox if your running Win2000 or XP. Those versions will not run any DOS games. DosBox is your best bet for that game.
That's not entirely true; Windows XP (and probably 2000, although I have little experience with that system) runs many DOS games pretty well on its own (and VDMSound usually fixes the sound compatibility if needed). This applies to SC3 too, IIRC (I don't have the CD at hand to check right now).
Well ok...But for all intents and purposes, they either run too fast or don't have sound, so that's why I classified them as not working. But you are right... some do work (like that). :)


Title: Re: new uqm
Post by: Novus on October 07, 2006, 12:38:46 pm
Well ok...But for all intents and purposes, they either run too fast or don't have sound, so that's why I classified them as not working. But you are right... some do work (like that). :)
VDMSound goes a long way toward fixing sound problems with DOS games under 2000 and XP (it's primarily a replacement for XP's built-in General MIDI + Sound Blaster (DAC-only) emulation). Some older sound cards (e.g. SB Live!) have their own SB emulation that works better. In general, the DOS emulation built into Windows 95 and later works quite well in my experience with many games. Generally speaking, the less weird tricks they do, the better they work.

Some games do funny things with the system timers that Windows doesn't allow (e.g. almost anything written by TFB, especially SC2 and The Horde), causing them to run too fast or slow under Windows (especially with sound on); in this case, running them on the real hardware (hope you still have an ISA slot for that Sound Blaster or Ultrasound :)) or DOSBox works better. The problem with DOSBox is that it uses a huge amount of CPU power; late DOS-era games that require a fast Pentium (133 MHz or so) to run smoothly (pretty much any DOS FPS from 1994 onward; e.g. Duke Nukem 3D, System Shock) require the full power of a bleeding-edge current CPU to run well in DOSBox; XP+VDMSound is my choice for those.

Generally speaking, DOSBox is almost always a good solution if you have enough CPU power to emulate a system fast enough for satisfactory gameplay. SC3 on DOSBox suffers from some slowdowns on an Athlon XP, but with a little tweaking it's mostly fine. On a Pentium III or earlier, I wouldn't bother with DOSBox for SC3 (it does a passable impression of a 486SX, which is a bit too slow for SC3).

Don't get me started on the idiot game programmers who failed to take increasing machine speed into account at all and ended up with games that run way too fast on modern hardware (Megarace is probably the most amusing case; it works fine, except that races are over in about a second if you hit a turbo arrow on the track). This sort of thing was excusable in cases where faster but compatible machines simply didn't exist or were non-standard (i.e. back when "PC" meant an original IBM PC with an 8088 CPU and the C64 was a major gaming platform), but writing code that requires a 386 and breaks on a 486 shows a great lack of foresight! In these cases, you need DOSBox or a slower machine.