The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => Technical Issues => Topic started by: pariah on November 29, 2008, 06:33:06 am



Title: System lock up
Post by: pariah on November 29, 2008, 06:33:06 am
Well, it's not technically a lock up.

Whenever I play the game, I get to an arbitrary place and the entire thing jams up so badly that I can't even Alt+Ctrl+Del.

However, after waiting about three minutes for it to clear up, I got a blip of music/sound effects, so I get the idea that it's a very very very massive slowdown. But no matter how long I wait and no matter how many blips I let pass, I can't unfreeze the cursor or get out of the game. I have to reset the entire system.

I'm using WIndows 2000 Pro, ATI Radeon 9300 512 MB RAM



Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: Kohr-Ah Death on November 29, 2008, 06:43:10 am
What do ya got going on with UQM?

Like do you have the add-ons (I.E. Voices, Remixes, 3DO Music) installed?

What does it say in the "dos-box" while this is happening?

Are you using a mod or just vanilla UQM?

And if it is at a certain event could you upload the save game to see if "we" could duplicate your issue?




Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: pariah on November 29, 2008, 07:43:06 am
Yep, have all the add-ons.

When you say dosbox, do you mean non-fullscreen mode or the dosbox emulation software? If it's the former, it says nothing. If it's the latter, I don't use that software.

Just vanilla UQM.

The lock up happens arbitrarily. It's not any one event that causes it. But I do have a savegame if you think it would help.


Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: Kohr-Ah Death on November 29, 2008, 07:54:01 am
i mean the command screen when you are in windowed mode, the other window that opens up with UQM.

hmm, try removing the add on packages and see what happens.

I've used UQM on a Win2000 machine (Pentium III) and never had any arbitrary lock ups.

Using UQM 0.6.2 right?
try re-downloading the content package, only about 11 megs from the main page and give that a whirl.

stop me if you've already tried all these things, otherwise i'll keep going ;D



Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: pariah on November 29, 2008, 09:55:24 am
Oh. There is no dosbox that opens up with UQM. It's just the one game window.

I'll try re-downloading the content.


Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: Novus on November 29, 2008, 12:19:04 pm
Well, it's not technically a lock up.

Whenever I play the game, I get to an arbitrary place and the entire thing jams up so badly that I can't even Alt+Ctrl+Del.

However, after waiting about three minutes for it to clear up, I got a blip of music/sound effects, so I get the idea that it's a very very very massive slowdown. But no matter how long I wait and no matter how many blips I let pass, I can't unfreeze the cursor or get out of the game. I have to reset the entire system.
Sounds like a driver issue. Try using the setup menu to switch audio from OpenAL to MixSDL and graphics from OpenGL to pure framebuffer (or vice versa).


Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: pariah on November 30, 2008, 06:25:54 am
I did a fresh reinstall of everything. It works fine now.

Except now I'm not encountering any hostile probes. There's absolutely zero of them anywhere.


Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: Kohr-Ah Death on November 30, 2008, 07:48:33 am
Hmmm, either you already got rid of them or you are just lucky enough to not encounter any yet.


Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: pariah on November 30, 2008, 09:31:52 am
I've just started playing so I haven't gotten to the Slylandro gas giant yet.

Every time I played this game in the past, at least one probe would be upon me around 15-30 minutes after I've left Sol.

I've already finished looting the Centauri constellation and have traveled all the way to Spathi space without a single probe. It's been around a couple hours.

Has it ever took anyone else more than an hour or two to find one before they start multiplying?


Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: Kohr-Ah Death on November 30, 2008, 11:33:17 am
hang out around sol for a bit in hyperspace, allow for a few "days" to pass to see if any probes come to you.
that's just weird.


Title: Re: System lock up
Post by: pariah on December 01, 2008, 07:11:38 am
It's December 22, 2155 at this point and there's only been one probe encounter in Umgah space.

The StarCon universe just doesn't feel as dangerous as it should without those probes. :(

I'll try making a new game and linger around Sol to see if that helps any.