The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => Technical Issues => Topic started by: abishur on April 23, 2012, 08:46:05 pm



Title: No OpenGL Can I use OpenGL ES?
Post by: abishur on April 23, 2012, 08:46:05 pm
As the topic says, I can't use openGL, the framebuffer has a weird error which I made another thread about, so I'm wondering if it would be possible to use OpenGL ES instead of openGL?  Is anyone aware of a port that already does this very thing or can tell me what file I would need to edit to update the code for openGL instructions?


Title: Re: No OpenGL Can I use OpenGL ES?
Post by: meep-eep on April 23, 2012, 10:54:21 pm
I'm not aware of anyone having tried this. You could just try substituting OpenGL ES for OpenGL and see where this leads you.
build/unix/config_proginfo_host is where the library locations for OpenGL are defined.


Title: Re: No OpenGL Can I use OpenGL ES?
Post by: abishur on April 24, 2012, 03:21:29 am
I must confess that the more things go towards video stuff the less I understand, but I'm trying :-)  I see the part of the file that talks about openGL, to get it to look at openGLES do I change the part that says "name=openGL" and then just ./build.sh uqm?


Title: Re: No OpenGL Can I use OpenGL ES?
Post by: meep-eep on April 24, 2012, 11:52:14 pm
The name is unimportant. For testing, you could just keep the name, and change the values of LIB_opengl_CFLAGS and LIB_opengl_LDFLAGS in the * case to whatever is appropriate for the OpenGL ES library. Considering that you're running Debian, you can probably leave LIB_opengl_CFLAGS empty if you installed OpenGL ES from a package. I'm not sure what LIB_opengl_LDFLAGS should be.
Maybe the name of the dynamic library is even just libGL, as with standard OpenGL, in which case you wouldn't need to change anything.
Did you already install the OpenGL ES libraries and headers? If so, could you list which files were installed?


Title: Re: No OpenGL Can I use OpenGL ES?
Post by: meep-eep on April 25, 2012, 12:04:39 am
Now that I'm thinking some more about this, I don't think that you're going to win much in terms of speed by using OpenGL (ES), as long as you stay in 640x480 mode. OpenGL is pretty much just used for scaling.


Title: Re: No OpenGL Can I use OpenGL ES?
Post by: abishur on April 25, 2012, 12:53:37 am
yeah, I'd be fine with the normal res, but using sdl the screen display for a second then goes black, I'm hoping using open gles will fix that