The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => Technical Issues => Topic started by: sailingby on July 09, 2014, 08:51:29 am



Title: No ending on HD?
Post by: sailingby on July 09, 2014, 08:51:29 am
Hey, I just finished the whole game on the HD remake and when I flew my ship into the Sumatra the game immediately goes to credits without showing me any proper ending. Does anyone else have this problem? Why doesn't the game tell the end story?? It's so brilliant! Disappointing... 


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: Jugger on July 10, 2014, 07:07:06 am
I'm having the same issue. :( Don't know why. It applies only to the HD Beta, not the Alpha.
Due to another issue, which is really severe and makes the game unplayable above a given point, I switched back to the Alpha.


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: Dorno on August 24, 2014, 01:53:19 pm
To fix the 'no ending' issue on the HD beta all you have to do is the following.

Go to the folder you installed SC2 HD in.

Go to the /content/addons/ subfolder.

Delete the 3dovideo.zip file.

It doesn't even contain the 3do videos, but, for some reason prevents the intro and ending.

I figured this out while attempting to install the 3dovideos so they would work with this version of the game.

They work fine on the UQM version, but, the HD version does not seem to work with the 3dovideos.  Additionally, if you have them 'installed' it won't play the opening slides or the opening video.

So, good luck and hopefully they fix the issue with the videos eventually.  Although, I must say I prefer the slides anyway.


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: Jugger on September 30, 2014, 07:45:02 am
Thanks for the tip, Dorno!

I'll give it a try in the next release (UQM HD Gamma?  ;D), when the other issue I mentioned in CTD on saving in UQM HD Beta (http://forum.uqm.stack.nl/index.php?PHPSESSID=2epkur49naq0pmck6571tsrrt2&topic=5684.0) will be fixed, as the UQM-HD main programmer @superbutcherx told me there. He has found the issue and maybe this one here will happily be fixed too then. If not, well, then we can use your hint.


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: superbutcherx on September 30, 2014, 11:09:17 am
Hello hello!

I'm happy to report that I've fixed this issue, too. (In revision 1361 of the source code if you're interested: https://code.google.com/p/uqm-hd/source/detail?r=1361)
It was a minor issue to fix: Just removing the lines pointing to non-existant intro/ending video files was all that it took.

I, too, hope we will name our next release Gamma  :D!


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: Jugger on September 30, 2014, 05:42:00 pm
I'm happy to report that I've fixed this issue, too. (In revision 1361 of the source code if you're interested: https://code.google.com/p/uqm-hd/source/detail?r=1361)
It was a minor issue to fix: Just removing the lines pointing to non-existant intro/ending video files was all that it took.

Just removing those two lines...
Code:
slides.ending = 3DOVID:addons/3dovideo/ending/victory.duk
slides.intro = 3DOVID:addons/3dovideo/intro/intro.duk
...in the file "\3dovideo\3dovideo.rmp" within the archive "...\The Ur-Quan Masters HD Beta 1\content\addons\3dovideo.zip" ?
If so, that'll be really easy and can be done by oneself even by now. 8) Thank you!


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: superbutcherx on October 01, 2014, 09:17:47 am
Yes, those lines are the culprits!

By removing them everything works like a charm.


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: Jugger on October 03, 2014, 10:06:48 am
It works, very nice! :)

Delete the 3dovideo.zip file.
It doesn't even contain the 3do videos, but, for some reason prevents the intro and ending.

Yes, it only contains the file "3dovideo.rmp" (and "uqmpack.nfo"), nothing else.
I didn't try to figure out so far, if the other entries "slides.spins.xx = ..." in the file are really necessary or not.
If not, then I suppose your simple solution may work pretty well too.

By the way, what are these .nfo files literally for, only info or do they have a function (e.g. like testing the correct UQM version)?


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: superbutcherx on October 03, 2014, 10:58:09 am
The slides.spins.xx lines enable thip introduction videos from the 3DO version in the Supermelee ship selection.
(Start adding a ship into your fleet and instead of hitting enter, press alt. Or maybe it was some other key...)

Without the slides.spins.xx lines, or if the viedo files aren't there, then the regular ship introduction picture is shown.

I'm not sure about the usage of the .nfo files. They might be/have been used for checking the version in the original non-HD UQM. Or then again, not.


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: The_Precursor on February 02, 2021, 07:26:05 pm
Would going into game settings and disabling 3do content do the same thing or no?

I haven't had this issue (at least with the intro. Haven't finished yet)

Also what is the protocol for obtaining the 3DO content itself?
I was looking online and the 3DO discs are available but looking for something more immediate if possible.
I understand it as being somewhat involved with the disc and ripping the data etc.  sounds pretty involved.


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: Serosis on February 02, 2021, 07:30:39 pm
Also what is the protocol for obtaining the 3DO content itself?
I was looking online and the 3DO discs are available but looking for something more immediate if possible.
I understand it as being somewhat involved with the disc and ripping the data etc.  sounds pretty involved.

http://files.serosis.net/MegaMod/uqm-0.7.0-3dovideo.uqm


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: capitansolo on February 03, 2021, 02:11:48 am
Downloaded 3do videos but doesnt work..
I just put inside content-->addons with the name of "uqm-0.7.0-3dovideo.uqm" and "3dovideo.zip" for trying and no success.
What are the steps pleaase?


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: Serosis on February 03, 2021, 08:11:49 am
You need to enable them in the Setup -> PC / 3DO menu:
https://i.imgur.com/6WjAXAs.png


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: capitansolo on February 03, 2021, 01:03:16 pm
You need to enable them in the Setup -> PC / 3DO menu:
https://i.imgur.com/6WjAXAs.png

I know but dont work...
Followed the instructions from your pgae
http://megamod.serosis.net/Features
Quote
To start, download the 3DO video package on the Downloads page and make note of where you downloaded it.

Copy the uqm-0.7.0-3dovideos.uqm file to your addons directory. Which by default is

C:\Games\The Ur-Quan Masters MegaMod\content\addons\

After that you can load the MegaMod and opt to use the 3DO videos instead of the PC slides in the settings menu.

Im using v0.7, any idea?


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: Serosis on February 03, 2021, 08:48:29 pm
Make sure you're putting it in the 0.7 addon directory.

By default it's:
Code:
C/Program File (x86)/The Ur-Quan Masters/content/addons

The instructions on my site are for the MegaMod alone.


Title: Re: No ending on HD?
Post by: capitansolo on February 03, 2021, 11:13:00 pm
Make sure you're putting it in the 0.7 addon directory.

By default it's:
Code:
C/Program File (x86)/The Ur-Quan Masters/content/addons

The instructions on my site are for the MegaMod alone.

Yes, installed on that folder as i said v0.70+HD mod BETA -svn r1338
Maybe its the route because i have on
Code:
F:/Programs/UQM/content/addons