The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => General UQM Discussion => Topic started by: Julie.chan on May 14, 2016, 05:56:38 pm



Title: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: Julie.chan on May 14, 2016, 05:56:38 pm
So, I'm not able to compile UQM on my Debian 8 system. Very strange; I've never experienced this before. This is what I did in a terminal and the output I got:

http://pastebin.com/rGfvcRC8

Searching the errors at the end suggested problems with a makefile. Is there something bad build.sh is doing that wasn't causing a problem before? And does anyone know how to get UQM to compile on Debian 8?


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: Serosis on May 15, 2016, 06:19:31 pm
I'm not too familiar with Linux, and for that matter Debian, but the only error I see happens during the linking stage.

Try cleaning and recompiling.

I think it is either
Code:
./build.sh clean
or
Code:
./build.sh uqm clean

Been awhile since I had to deal with a terminal.

This guy (https://github.com/stevengj/libctl/issues/1) had success when installing libctl.

Also, for future issues, Technical Issues is where you would post compiler problems and the like.


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: Julie.chan on May 15, 2016, 11:46:40 pm
Try cleaning and recompiling.

I think it is either
Code:
./build.sh clean
or
Code:
./build.sh uqm clean

I've been doing that every time I've tried again to compile UQM. Every attempt is from a clean source directory.

Quote
Also, for future issues, Technical Issues is where you would post compiler problems and the like.

Oh yeah, I forgot that forum existed.  xD


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: Serosis on May 16, 2016, 01:23:57 am
Try reinstalling the SDL and SDL_image dependencies. Or I should say make sure they are the right versions.


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: Julie.chan on May 16, 2016, 03:18:36 am
They're from the Debian repo, version 1.2.

I also have SDL 2 and its headers installed (I need it to compile Project: Starfighter and Naev), but I don't think that should cause a problem, should it?


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: jjj on May 16, 2016, 09:50:58 am
In sc2/build/unix/config_proginfo_host, add -lm to LIB_lua_LDFFLAGS at around line 306

Code:
                LIB_lua_LDFLAGS="-L/usr/local/lib -llua"
                ;;
        *)
-               LIB_lua_LDFLAGS="-llua"
+               LIB_lua_LDFLAGS="-llua -lm"
                ;;
 esac
 LIB_lua_VERSION=""


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: Julie.chan on May 16, 2016, 12:55:52 pm
Mine doesn't have "LIB_lua_LDFLAGS" defined anywhere (or any other text containing "LIB_lua").


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: jjj on May 16, 2016, 03:43:18 pm
It appears to be a change in the build config script that was made after version 0.7.0 was released.  Clone the current git repository tip:

git clone git://git.code.sf.net/p/sc2/uqm sc2-uqm


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: Julie.chan on May 16, 2016, 04:31:47 pm
Alright, I'll try that. Just one question: is the current Git revision compatible with 0.7.0 for netgames?


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: Julie.chan on May 17, 2016, 05:21:26 am
OK, this is a little random, but I decided to give these packages a try:

http://plantmonster.net/~oldlaptop/uqm-packages/deb/uf/

And... they didn't work. The problem: these packages depend on "libmikmod2". This is a virtual package in Debian 8; it doesn't exist. Instead there's "libmikmod3". Perhaps having a newer version of libmikmod is also causing this problem when I try to compile UQM from source?


Title: Re: Having trouble compiling UQM in Debian
Post by: oldlaptop on May 20, 2016, 04:24:11 am
This is a long-standing bug in UQM's build system:

http://forum.uqm.stack.nl/index.php?topic=5853.0

You will also find a simple (ugly) patch to work around the issue in my Debian source packages.

(It would appear that my build environment a year ago had the old libmikmod present, and shouldn't have. I've just put corrected jessie binaries on the server. Incidentally, I only saw this because someone other than you happened to mention it on IRC. I'm happy to help you with my packages, and of course I want to fix any issues people find, but you have to ask.)