The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum

The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release => Technical Issues => Topic started by: azaz117 on April 28, 2019, 05:01:15 am



Title: UQM and UQM EE .dmg downloaded but can't open (MacOSX)
Post by: azaz117 on April 28, 2019, 05:01:15 am
Hello

I run OSX El Capitan v. 10.11.6 on my computer.

I've downloaded both UQM 0.7.0 and UQM EE 0.6.4 from Sourceforge.  However, I can't even open the file to install on my computer.

For USM 0.7.0 I receive a message saying:
Netplay protocol version 0.4. Netplay opponent must have UQM 0.6.9 or later.
Error: Can't create /Users/******/.uqm: Permission denied

(my name appears on the message instead of ******)

For UQM EE 0.6.4, I simply can't open the .dmg file at all.

Please help; simple Mac user here.  I have no experience using Terminal or anything to manipulate the code / permissions / anything on my Mac

Best,
Azaz117


Title: Re: UQM and UQM EE .dmg downloaded but can't open (MacOSX)
Post by: Death 999 on April 28, 2019, 04:01:13 pm
I have no idea why you'd lack permission to create a directory in your own home directory. That's weird.  I noticed that the Finder doesn't let you create one that way, but you can do it through the terminal, and I'd expect the installer to act more like the terminal than the Finder in this regard.

Still, if you open the Terminal application in Utilities and enter the command 'mkdir .uqm' that may help.


Title: Re: UQM and UQM EE .dmg downloaded but can't open (MacOSX)
Post by: CelticMinstrel on April 30, 2019, 02:26:34 am
I would venture a guess that it might have something to do with the sandboxing that Apple is pushing onto everyone lately. Unfortunately, even if the guess is right I'm not sure how it could be fixed.


Title: Re: UQM and UQM EE .dmg downloaded but can't open (MacOSX)
Post by: azaz117 on May 04, 2019, 08:53:18 am
Thank you, both of you!

It might have something to do with my Apple ID, which I share between both my computers. I tried downloading and opening the .dmg file in my main computer, and it worked fine.

Still don't know the problem, but at least I was able to open and play the game.