The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 28, 2021, 11:20:24 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  gamepad problem
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Print
Author Topic: gamepad problem  (Read 9625 times)
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #15 on: October 28, 2003, 03:00:04 am »

Just for future reference (e.g., where do we need explicit instructions), what was the difference between the keys.cfg that didn't work and the one that did?
Logged
ConjurerDragon
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #16 on: November 13, 2003, 11:45:02 pm »

I too would like to play UQM using the Joystick and not the keyboard.

I took a look at the keys.cfg file, but have no clue what to alter to get it working and the line that says something like "Joysticks should work if they are USB and in Windows XP" further discourage me.

Is it possible to use the Joystick in Windows 95 C when it is a non-USB Joystick (an old Quickshot)?
bye
Michael
Logged
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2003, 10:25:15 am »

Start UQM and look for a line near the top of the console window that says

"X joystick(s) were found."

If X is not zero, you're home free.
Logged
ConjurerDragon
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2003, 05:02:52 pm »

Quote
Start UQM and look for a line near the top of the console window that says
"X joystick(s) were found."
If X is not zero, you're home free.


When I start UQM (and I do with the -o -f -q high -c biadapt)
it runs through very fast, and I never have seen a line
"Joysticks were found" - neither 1 nor 0

Only 4 lines with errors:
The Ur-Quan Masters v0.3 (compiled Sep  5 2003 03:55:46)
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY;
for details see the included 'COPYING' file.

Warning: %APPDATA% is not set. Falling back to "%USERPROFILE%\Application Data"
Warning: %USERPROFILE% is not set. Falling back to "..\userdata" for %APPDATA%
Warning: %APPDATA% is not set. Falling back to "%USERPROFILE%\Application Data"
Warning: %USERPROFILE% is not set. Falling back to "..\userdata" for %APPDATA%
Warning: %APPDATA% is not set. Falling back to "%USERPROFILE%\Application Data"
Warning: %USERPROFILE% is not set. Falling back to "..\userdata" for %APPDATA%
Saved games are kept in E:/Spiele/STARCON/The Ur-Quan Masters/content/../userdat
a/uqm/save/.
Initializing SDL (OpenGL)."





Logged
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #19 on: November 15, 2003, 03:38:40 am »

Keep going.  Here's my startup spam:

Initializing base SDL functionality.
Saved games are kept in /home/mcmartin/.uqm/save/.
Initializing Pure-SDL graphics.).
SDL driver used: x11
SDL initialized.
Initializing Screen.
Set the resolution to: 640x480x32
Initializing SDL audio subsystem.
SDL audio subsystem initialized.
Initializing MixSDL mixer.
MixSDL using driver 'SDL_audio'
MixSDL Mixer initialized.
   opened dsp at 44100 Hz 16 bit stereo, 4096 samples audio buffer
Initializing sound decoders.
Sound decoders initialized.
1 joysticks were found.
The names of the joysticks are:
   079d:0202
VControl opened joystick: 079d:0202
7 axes, 12 buttons, 1 hats.
Logged
ConjurerDragon
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #20 on: November 15, 2003, 01:15:31 pm »

After the line with SDL something the remaining lines fly through so fast that I can´t read them, nor that I could press PAUSE and thus be able to read them.

Is there a way to let the lines run through slower on the screen to see what the lines with Joystick say?
Logged
ConjurerDragon
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #21 on: November 16, 2003, 04:23:16 am »

Forget about the last question: When I ran UQM without the fullscreen command I could easyli stop and copy the lines as they ran through, they are:
Initializing SDL (pure).
SDL driver used: directx
SDL initialized.
Initializing Screen.
Set the resolution to: 640x480x16
Initializing SDL audio subsystem.
SDL audio subsystem initialized.
Initializing MixSDL mixer.
MixSDL using driver 'SDL_audio'
MixSDL Mixer initialized.
   opened dsound at 44100 Hz 16 bit stereo, 4096 samples audio buffer
Initializing sound decoders.
Sound decoders initialized.
0 joysticks were found.
       'lbm/scclrtab.ct' -- 8722 bytes"

So 0 Joysticks were found means that I´m out of luck?

That is strange as even the old SC 1 still runs fine on my PC and detects the same Joystick.
bye
Michael
Logged
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #22 on: November 16, 2003, 09:19:50 pm »

We're using SDL to handle all input; under Windows, that should forward to DirectInput.  If DirectInput can't see your joystick, UQM can't.  If it can, then it should.  If it can't, then there's a bug in SDL somewhere.
Logged
ConjurerDragon
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 25



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #23 on: November 17, 2003, 09:06:30 pm »

Quote
We're using SDL to handle all input; under Windows, that should forward to DirectInput.  If DirectInput can't see your joystick, UQM can't.  If it can, then it should.  If it can't, then there's a bug in SDL somewhere.


I tried today with the original SC1 and the original SC2 and in both games I´m able to use the Joystick.

If "theres a bug in SDL somewhere" then can I do something about it on my system or is this something that had to be changed in the game?
bye
Michael
Logged
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #24 on: November 18, 2003, 06:41:10 am »

Neither of the original games uses DirectX.  Check the "Game Controllers" section of your control panel and make sure Windows knows about it; I suppose if your DirectX version were less than 5 or so this would also cause problems.

If it isn't any of those, then it's an interface issue in a library we didn't write.
Logged
Captain_Archer
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 32


I am writing the book...


View Profile WWW
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #25 on: November 27, 2003, 06:18:23 am »

I am having this same problem - if someone could email me their keys cfg file that is completed thats for a USB pad on WinXP ( I use a Microsoft Sidewinder 1.1 ) I would be VERY THANKFUL!!

( Fustration builds here due to not able to play with a pad! )

Logged

I have a house in the system Alpha Centauri - on the 3rd planet.
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 813



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #26 on: November 28, 2003, 06:24:49 am »

its in the mail...

~DEFIANT
Logged
Captain_Archer
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 32


I am writing the book...


View Profile WWW
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #27 on: November 29, 2003, 01:22:40 am »

Thanks DEFIANT! I tried the file and it works with both my Sidewinder pad and my hacked SNES pad!
     Now I can truly enjoy the game thanks to these 3 people on the forum : ( and of course the people who are making the remake! )  Mark Vera, Nic and Defiant!

Thanks guys!@
Logged

I have a house in the system Alpha Centauri - on the 3rd planet.
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 813



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #28 on: November 30, 2003, 11:39:47 am »

in a recent turn of events, i am forced to be one asking for help, instead of giving it. its seems after installing "windows xp professional" my controller has stopped working. ive tried messing with the settings in both the keys.cfg and the settings in windows for control pads. nothing seems to be working and i didnt change anything besides the upgrade.

ive also taken note, that in my installed programs, "ur-quan masters(remove only)", is no longer there. my questions is, does UQM need to be registered with windows in order to get the controller to work, and... how would i go about doing that with the folder i already have that works. well with the keyboard anyway.

i knew i should of stuck with win98se, but i couldnt resist the upgrade. oh well...help Huh

~DEFIANT
« Last Edit: December 01, 2003, 02:02:45 am by DEFIANT » Logged
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #29 on: November 30, 2003, 06:17:13 pm »

Are you editing the right version of keys.cfg?  Win98se keeps up under the UQM directory, IIRC, while XP keeps it in the currently logged in user's "Documents and Settings" directory.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!