The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 28, 2021, 11:45:44 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  gamepad problem
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] Print
Author Topic: gamepad problem  (Read 9626 times)
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 813



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #30 on: November 30, 2003, 08:45:47 pm »

i feel rather noobish, but i havent become one with XP yet. where do i find "documents and settings?" i feel its right under my nose. i just cant seem to find it...heh.

~DEFIANT
« Last Edit: November 30, 2003, 08:46:07 pm by DEFIANT » Logged
Deep-Jiffa
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1045



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #31 on: December 01, 2003, 12:51:16 am »

c:\
or d:\
whereever you windows is installed.
Logged

Deep Jiffa Owns j00!
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #32 on: December 01, 2003, 02:08:42 am »

There will then be a hidden directory called something like "Application Data", and then an "uqm" under that.  That's where the keys.cfg should be.
Logged
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 813



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #33 on: December 01, 2003, 04:23:52 am »

ok i found the hidden file and opened it, but there is no "uqm" in there. so i made one and placed the key.cfg in there. ran the game and still nothing. so what do i do now? ill check back from time to time.

~DEFIANT
Logged
Deep-Jiffa
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1045



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #34 on: December 01, 2003, 06:27:33 am »

Creating uqm if it doesn't exist is like... damn I can't find something for it, well it just do nothing! Make sure you have entered the "correct" user name folder, then apllication data(for example if your user name that YOU PLAY ( yes, play, nothing else is acceptable)is... lets say "oh mighty deep jiffa" then go to the hidden aplication data in document and setting/oh mighty deep jiffa/ and there you go! Uqm folder, if it isn't there, hmmm don't look at me! I am not a programmer, yet... uqm source looks like javascript, I might learn it uqm code after I finish javascript. There! Finished.
Logged

Deep Jiffa Owns j00!
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 813



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #35 on: December 01, 2003, 09:37:58 am »

man, you have nothing on the mycon, when it comes to comunication... but i take it you mean run uqm, then while its running to go to that folder and ill find it there... oh? ok, why didnt you say so. he he just foolin with you.

hmm, thats funny. i just went to check to see if anything has changed, before i was going to do what i stated above, and low an behold, here is uqm. with all the files, and yes, do my little blood shot eyes deceive me... KEYS.CFG. its a charlie brown christmas.

now can some one please tell me what the heck just happened here. how does this this aplication (ghost) file work? first its not here, then poof it is. man, windows xp is creeeeping me out.

needless to say, its been found, its been edited, its been fun...sweet...thanks guys. you have been most helpful.

Michael Martin: thanks and keep up the great work on the project.

Deep_Jiffa: thanks for your time too, it gave me the motovation to go looking back there, even though i figured i was wasting my time. thanks

happy again...
DEFIANT
Logged
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #36 on: December 02, 2003, 04:45:34 am »

I've actually never heard of the file going away when the application is done.   :-/  Other than that, it's basically WinXP's version of Unix's "home directories", which are an abstraction we like.
Logged
We Come In Receptacles
Guest


Email
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #37 on: December 25, 2003, 12:44:19 am »

Quote
After the line with SDL something the remaining lines fly through so fast that I can´t read them, nor that I could press PAUSE and thus be able to read them.

Is there a way to let the lines run through slower on the screen to see what the lines with Joystick say?


bumping this in the hope someone will reply to that question...joypad config wrong or my joypad isn't recognized, don't know which.  Tried using windowed mode but don't know how to slow down the text that appears.

I'm using an old analog joypad (serial port) with 6 buttons.

Why is the keys.old file included for release .3, am I supposed to use that file??

I tried configuring the current VCONTROL version of keys file, using both current template and the one suggested in the keys.old file, neither worked.

Even tried numbering buttons 1-6 (rather than 0-5), no luck.

I'd appreciate any help with this, and sure someone else will in the future.




Logged
We Come In Receptacles
Guest


Email
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #38 on: December 25, 2003, 04:21:01 am »

Quote


bumping this in the hope someone will reply to that question...joypad config wrong or my joypad isn't recognized, don't know which.  Tried using windowed mode but don't know how to slow down the text that appears.

I'm using an old analog joypad (serial port) with 6 buttons.

Why is the keys.old file included for release .3, am I supposed to use that file??

I tried configuring the current VCONTROL version of keys file, using both current template and the one suggested in the keys.old file, neither worked.

Even tried numbering buttons 1-6 (rather than 0-5), no luck.

I'd appreciate any help with this, and sure someone else will in the future.


SOLVED...hope this helps others.

OK did some banging on keyboard, and little ole me (forthwith known as Mr. DOS) discovered that shift + tab stopped the scrolling crap long enough so I could see what the hell was going on.

Adding config to VCONTROL (keys.cfg) in the ".2 style" (as demonstrated in keys.old, under example for 2 axis 2 button joypad) didn't work, the error messages was "expected ':' missing".
Adding config to VCONTROL, using example for "Win XP with USB analog/digital gamepad", wasn't working at first either...I got several error messages about wrong value for HAT (referring to the 0 values given in the "POV hat controls").

So what happened is I had removed the #'s from the "POV hat controls" entries, and these weren't recognized on my gamepad so game refused to run.  SO...don't use those entries unless you need them.

Here is what I eventually added which worked (pasted here directly from keys.cfg, so you can copy and paste yourself):

joystick 0 threshold 10000   # How far to move before it counts; 0-30000
Menu-Left: joystick 0 axis 0 negative
Player-1-Left: joystick 0 axis 0 negative
Lander-Left: joystick 0 axis 0 negative
Menu-Right: joystick 0 axis 0 positive
Player-1-Right: joystick 0 axis 0 positive
Lander-Right: joystick 0 axis 0 positive
Menu-Up: joystick 0 axis 1 negative
Player-1-Thrust: joystick 0 axis 1 negative
Lander-Thrust: joystick 0 axis 1 negative
Menu-Down: joystick 0 axis 1 positive
Menu-Cancel: joystick 0 button 3
Player-1-Special: joystick 0 button 3
Menu-Select: joystick 0 button 5
Player-1-Weapon: joystick 0 button 5
Lander-Weapon: joystick 0 button 5
Menu-Page-Up: joystick 0 button 1
Menu-Page-Down: joystick 0 button 2
Menu-Zoom-In: joystick 0 button 4
Player-1-Escape: joystick 0 button 4
Lander-Escape: joystick 0 button 4
Menu-Zoom-Out: joystick 0 button 0

note I'm not sure if the threshold setting of 10000 is necessary (vs. just 0), but anyway it's working.

Again, I'm using a cheapie analog (serial port) 6-button joypad, a "ProPad" to be exact, but I think it uses standard Micro$oft drivers so hopefully this config will work for other people using old serial-port joypads (and possibly others).


Logged
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #39 on: December 25, 2003, 08:47:13 am »

The "threshold" value indicates how far from the true center the joystick has to be for a value to count.  If it's actually at 0, any jitter on the joystick will be read as a joystick motion, which is often inconvenient for menus.  If you have a supremely well-engineered gamepad, it won't matter.  (SDL reads joystick axis values as integers between -32767 and 32767.)
Logged
Terminator
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 308


Obnoxious One Reformed


View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #40 on: February 10, 2004, 09:58:26 pm »

I have an old school gamepad (serial port) and have the same problem its listed as a 2-axis 4 button gamepad DONT LAUGH!  Let put it this way I used to use it for Castle Wolfenstien 3D & DOOM.  
« Last Edit: February 10, 2004, 10:00:00 pm by Terminator » Logged

We must each create our own paths. Do not mimic mine, I don't even like myself.
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #41 on: February 11, 2004, 02:04:25 am »

How is it being detected as 2-axis, 4-button a problem?
Logged
Terminator
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 308


Obnoxious One Reformed


View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #42 on: February 11, 2004, 04:23:42 am »

Quote
How is it being detected as 2-axis, 4-button a problem?


Actually I think it more of a compatabilty issue win 98 recognizes it as a 2-axis 4-button gpad I figured its a remake of an old dos game my gpad uses the serial port like all joysticks back in the day used, is it win or do I not know what I'm doing?

Also in dos prompt directories are displayed in Win 98 length but I have to type in the dos namesmaking it very difficult to use any of the parameters.

Note: When I start in dos mode the controls are changed Why?
« Last Edit: February 11, 2004, 04:31:49 am by Terminator » Logged

We must each create our own paths. Do not mimic mine, I don't even like myself.
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 387



View Profile
Re: gamepad problem
« Reply #43 on: February 11, 2004, 05:56:56 am »

Check where your savegames are between the two; Win98 has no concept of home directories.

UQM is not a DOS game; it's using DirectX under the hood.  If Windows can't see the joystick, it likely won't show up when the SDL libraries do the probe.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!