The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 04, 2022, 11:25:26 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Simple Question
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Simple Question  (Read 2052 times)
Omagus
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10



View Profile
Simple Question
« on: August 16, 2003, 03:19:34 am »

I know this makes me a n00b, but I would like to know:

How does one actually run command line modifyers (like the -f for fullscreen, etc) in windowsXP?  I tried adding them onto the shotcut on my desktop with which I run UQM, and then I tried running them in dos, and I couldnt get it to work.

I know the answer to this must be simple, I just cant seem to remember how though.
Logged
Gill_Bates
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 87


Dyslectic Devil


View Profile
Re: Simple Question
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2003, 03:34:58 am »

you can always use the Visual Basic UQM launcher someone wrote and is working quite nicely for me.
Just do a search for it here.
If you cannot find it contact me and I shall send it to you (it's rather smal).
Logged

GOD: "Look mommy, I made light!"
Paxtez
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 130


Joystick Jedi


View Profile
Re: Simple Question
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2003, 07:34:38 am »

Its in the FAQ, but basicly you just add the options to the shortcut outside of the quotes marks on the Target line.
Logged

....Paxtez....
Omagus
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10



View Profile
Re: Simple Question
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2003, 09:41:06 am »

ahh... outside the quotes... i think i tried that also, but i probably just didnt do it right

like i said, a simple question
Logged
wyrinn
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Simple Question
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2003, 02:46:52 am »

Well the first thing i ended up doing was opening a command line and trying the modifyers from there. once i came up with a set that i liked (and didnt glitch, no idea why my machine seems to hate it so much) i went back to my DOS experince and created a .bat file
added the line into it
Uqm -o -m pc -q low -d 16
then all i had to do was run the bat file whenever i wanted to launch the program. I hope this helps?

Btw to create a bat file just open notepad type in the comands and then save it as a .bat insted of a .txt

Wyrinn
Logged
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3867


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Simple Question
« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2003, 09:30:53 pm »

Alternately, you could use the UQM launcher java application that I wrote, available at Nic's uqm site, http://www.submedia.net/uqm
(it's at the bottom -- most files are mac only, but that is any platform)

This message was brought to you by the letters F, A, and Q.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2003, 09:32:33 pm by Death_999 » Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!