The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
February 18, 2020, 02:53:01 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] Print
Author Topic: Some help with Star Control 1 please...  (Read 4980 times)
PakoPako
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


Lost, Irresponsible, and Stupidly Daring


View Profile WWW
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2003, 02:08:51 pm »

You could also just buy it off eBay for 2-5$US...

-=PakoPako=-
Logged

"This was brought to you by FRUNGY, the Sport of Kings!"
Yehat_Sympathizer
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 60


jie2 do1ng fe1ng


View Profile
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2003, 04:37:07 am »

A question that might be relevant - how do I run a DOS-only compatible program in windows XP? how do I sort out all the EMS mess in there? I haven't used DOS in years...
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2003, 04:42:21 am »

For most old DOS-only games, you'll really want to try DOSBox.  Especially with the newer releases of Windows, which have been doing their best to break backwards-compatibility in recent years..
Logged
Yehat_Sympathizer
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 60


jie2 do1ng fe1ng


View Profile
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #18 on: August 21, 2003, 02:49:42 pm »

still working my way around dosbox. how do you get to the part in the beginning of windows where choose the modes (VGA, safe mode etc.)?
Logged
PakoPako
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


Lost, Irresponsible, and Stupidly Daring


View Profile WWW
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #19 on: August 22, 2003, 08:43:30 am »

I'm not a user of DosBox, so I wouldn't know, but that sounds like you're trying to RESTART Windows in native DOS mode.

I always thought Dos Box was an emulated program, much like console emulations open up their own window of operation. Anycase, to answer your question:

On a Windows 95/98 or WinME machine (grr.. stupid backslash-ME), simply tap, repeatedly, the F8 key above the row of numbers on your keyboard. The window is around 3 seconds, so feel free to start jamming as soon as your computer finishes its RAM check and before the Windows Splash Logo pops up.

For other versions, I don't think they allow you to enter DOS mode (Windows 2000, Win XP, et al) because MS has disabled it or something.

-=PakoPako=-
« Last Edit: August 22, 2003, 08:44:18 am by pakopako » Logged

"This was brought to you by FRUNGY, the Sport of Kings!"
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #20 on: August 22, 2003, 12:12:09 pm »

Quote
I always thought Dos Box was an emulated program, much like console emulations open up their own window of operation. Anycase, to answer your question:

Correct. DosBox probably won't work very well in safe mode or VGA mode or any other cut-down mode of Windows, and you probably won't be able to run it at all in MS-DOS mode.

Quote
On a Windows 95/98 or WinME machine (grr.. stupid backslash-ME), simply tap, repeatedly, the F8 key above the row of numbers on your keyboard. The window is around 3 seconds, so feel free to start jamming as soon as your computer finishes its RAM check and before the Windows Splash Logo pops up.

Windows ME does not support booting from the hard disk into MS-DOS mode due to changes in the boot sequence. You will have to make a boot disk instead.

Quote
For other versions, I don't think they allow you to enter DOS mode (Windows 2000, Win XP, et al) because MS has disabled it or something.

Windows 2000 and XP are based on Windows NT, which is actually a completely different operating system. Windows 95, 98 and ME are based on MS-DOS and the original Windows.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
PakoPako
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


Lost, Irresponsible, and Stupidly Daring


View Profile WWW
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #21 on: August 23, 2003, 12:26:18 pm »

Quote
Windows 2000 and XP are based on Windows NT, which is actually a completely different operating system. Windows 95, 98 and ME are based on MS-DOS and the original Windows.

I thought that NT still had some of its origins in DOS? (and a chunk of OS/2 throw in sometime down the line)

-=PakoPako=-
Logged

"This was brought to you by FRUNGY, the Sport of Kings!"
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #22 on: August 23, 2003, 02:20:38 pm »

Quote

I thought that NT still had some of its origins in DOS? (and a chunk of OS/2 throw in sometime down the line)
"Sort of" and "yes", respectively. Try this site for more details.

To get back on topic and summarise, Windows 95 and 98 can be booted in MS-DOS mode and run old games like the original Star Control series quite nicely in MS-DOS mode if your hardware is compatible. Windows ME users need a boot disk to get into MS-DOS mode, and NT/2000/XP users will just have to try running under Windows' DOS emulation, DosBox or something like that.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Sage
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 234



View Profile WWW
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #23 on: August 26, 2003, 10:26:47 am »

Installing Display Doctor seems to allow you to run SC3 under XP without an emulator at all. The link to it was provided earlier in this thread.
Logged
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3835


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Some help with Star Control 1 please...
« Reply #24 on: August 26, 2003, 07:51:21 pm »

Well, yeah, but SC3 was more modern... what's the issue? And what's the point?
(ok, I back off of that one)
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!