The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 08, 2022, 01:12:45 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5 Print
Author Topic: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?  (Read 16231 times)
guesst
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 692


Ancient Shofixti Warrior


View Profile WWW
PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« on: August 24, 2003, 11:16:58 pm »

There's been some talk in the past about the problem with porting SC1 to modern PCs, because the source is lost. However, souce for SC2 was lost to, excepting the 3DO version. Hense my question.

Is the Genesis source for SC1 to be had anywhere and can we petition for it to be released?

(I expect this will be a short lived thread, but the question had to be asked.)
Logged

A new game and it's code each week. Please visit Cymon's Games
Chad
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 201


PNF Webmaster


View Profile WWW
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2003, 08:29:34 pm »

I think this is a fine question and idea.  Though, for some reason I remember someone saying somewhere that the Genesis code was lost as well?

I mean, I have several friends that have played Star Control 1, but never part 2.  Some people just don't give a damn about story, adventure, etc.  But SC1 really appealed to them and they have found memories of it.  A modern day port would rule!
« Last Edit: August 25, 2003, 08:30:38 pm by Chad » Logged

"...Dogar And Kazon Clack Their Mandibles Against One Another And Snicker With Amusement."
Juffowup
Guest


Email
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2003, 08:50:15 pm »

I love the story and adventure of SC 2.

However, there is little replay value in a single player quest type of game (though I have played SC 2 many many times).

SC 1 is best enjoyed as a two player game.  Several of my friends and I have played countless hours on the Genesis.

I'd love to have a modern multiplayer networked SC1 with more scenarios.  Though I'd also be happy with a way to edit scenarios on the Genesis rom.

While I'm here, does anyone know of a good crossplatform (Mac and PC at least) Genesis emulator.  The goal here is for me to play on my Mac with an old Friend/windows user in cross the country.

Logged
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2003, 03:27:56 am »

is there way to play sc1 genesis over the net on an emulator? i have yet to play any body other than the ai. or maybe like you said, a port to pc, with some servers? or netplay? or something, so everyone can hook up and do battle together. that would be fun. id love to take on the uqm team or anyone in this forum for that matter. i think i would find a worthy challenge here among fans Grin. since the ai is ...well... sucks.
~DEFIANT
« Last Edit: September 01, 2003, 03:30:35 am by DEFIANT » Logged
Sage
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 234



View Profile WWW
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2003, 03:36:16 am »

There is a piece of code referred to as Kaillera that can be imported into the source of any emulator that will enable netplay. However I am unable to find any Genesis emulators using Kaillera.

(after a quick trip to Zophar.net)

Gens appears to support the Kaillera network. Use this with your SC1 ROM, and enjoy. Wink
« Last Edit: September 01, 2003, 03:36:43 am by sageallen » Logged
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2003, 11:03:03 am »

sweet,  ill go check that out. its too late to mees with now. but im looking forward to it working. thanks Sage. i appreciate your "wisdom".
~DEFIANT
Logged
guesst
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 692


Ancient Shofixti Warrior


View Profile WWW
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2003, 02:00:23 am »

Yeah, but the Genesis version's framerate was so stinking slow. You'd think that a system that was popularized by the blasting speed of Sonic would be able to do better, but I read somewhere that the guy who programmed it ran out of time. Ah well.
Logged

A new game and it's code each week. Please visit Cymon's Games
Sage
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 234



View Profile WWW
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2003, 02:12:15 am »

Basically, P&F got it running, then the game was shipped before being optimized. Very sad indeed.
Logged
guesst
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 692


Ancient Shofixti Warrior


View Profile WWW
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2003, 06:59:56 am »

Quote
Basically, P&F got it running, then the game was shipped before being optimized. Very sad indeed.


It wasn't FF or PR3 who worked on the genesis port, except ast they guy used the original code, as I remember. It was somebody else that my semester-starting-just-moved-baby-on-the-way fried brain can't remember, but recently joined the actual TFB team.
Logged

A new game and it's code each week. Please visit Cymon's Games
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2003, 03:53:46 pm »

Quote
Yeah, but the Genesis version's framerate was so stinking slow.

Most Genesis emulators let you fiddle with the timing of the emulated Genesis in a lot of ways. You can probably use this to speed up SC1. I've done this on Genecyst and DGen, and the worst side effect seems to be that the music is sped up, too.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
guesst
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 692


Ancient Shofixti Warrior


View Profile WWW
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #10 on: September 05, 2003, 12:37:32 am »

Quote

Most Genesis emulators let you fiddle with the timing of the emulated Genesis in a lot of ways. You can probably use this to speed up SC1. I've done this on Genecyst and DGen, and the worst side effect seems to be that the music is sped up, too.


Well, yeah, the game can play faster, but what it needs is more time slices so it plays smoother, and there's really not much you can do about that. Try it out and see what I mean.
Logged

A new game and it's code each week. Please visit Cymon's Games
Orz Brain
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


We are the Orz. You will be *joining our party*.


View Profile
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2003, 03:03:05 am »

Port the PC version and then code in the Genesis campaings.
Logged

We are the Orz. You will be *joining our party*. Resistance is *very sad*.
PakoPako
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


Lost, Irresponsible, and Stupidly Daring


View Profile WWW
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2003, 02:27:33 am »

Quote
Port the PC version and then code in the Genesis campaings.

Bleargh. DOSBox it.
If you code in the Capaigns, you'd have to add something to create the starmap. Even without the cool cycle movement of the stars, the SC1 Full-Game was REALLY different from SC2. (what, with the mining, colonizing, and fortifications on the mooooooon base)

-=PakoPako=-
Logged

"This was brought to you by FRUNGY, the Sport of Kings!"
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2003, 01:16:36 pm »

Quote

Well, yeah, the game can play faster, but what it needs is more time slices so it plays smoother, and there's really not much you can do about that. Try it out and see what I mean.

I suppose this depends on the emulator, but in Genecyst, for example, increasing the virtual FPS setting to 90-100 Hz (instead of the NTSC default 60) makes the game noticeably smoother and roughly as fast as PC SC1. It seems that Genesis SC1 is doing the same thing every game cycle, but is taking more time per cycle. This would be the probable result of a rushed direct translation from PC or Amiga.

If the game is still jerky, you may have too little CPU power and/or graphics bandwidth to run the emulator at the increased speed. In this case, the emulator will probably skip the display of a few frames to keep the game running at the desired speed.

BTW, does anyone know what frame rate UQM melee is running at?
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
guesst
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 692


Ancient Shofixti Warrior


View Profile WWW
Re: PC port of Genesis SC1, maybe?
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2003, 11:45:37 pm »

Hmm, I'll have to try this out. I use GENS, but I'll defonately give it a shot. If it works, anyone up for a internet melee game?
Logged

A new game and it's code each week. Please visit Cymon's Games
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!