The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2022, 03:14:31 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Cloaking Device?!
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Cloaking Device?!  (Read 4447 times)
Precursors=Yeti
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 38


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Cloaking Device?!
« on: August 26, 2003, 12:01:21 pm »

Does it exist?! If so were can it be found?
Logged
piemanager
Guest


Email
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2003, 12:49:31 pm »

there is no cloacking device it was meant to be but probably because of time pressure from evil Accolade or F\P gave it up in the end it wasn't in the retail

kapish?
Logged
Eran Mekhmandarov
Guest


Email
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2003, 04:55:07 pm »

Cloaking device: On an Avenger near you!
Logged
Cyamarin
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 150


Midimaze!!!


View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2003, 12:48:30 am »

The chat with the game's creators said something like "There was a cloaking device, and it was going to make its way into the game, but we couldn't find a way to make it functionally different / more interesting than the Ilwrath's."

So, no.  No cloaking device.
Logged
NECRO-99
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 478


Androsynth Combat Tactics Specialist


View Profile WWW
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2003, 01:30:19 am »

The thing I've always heard and never had time to try was this:
1. Get to the Ilwrath via Hyperwave caster, send 'em on the Thraddash.
2. Go to the Thrad's, but DONT send them after the Kohr-Ah.
3. Given enough time, the two races annihilate themselves, and (apparently) you can check the Ilwrath homeplanet for the device. I don't know if this is accurate, but.. Note that I also heard that this works for SC2, I have no idea about UQM.
Logged

I love being a clone. Everything I do bad gets blamed on the real me!
Chrispy
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Vlik Dweller


View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2003, 06:40:18 am »

the cloaking device was a prank (notice how noone ever found it)
Logged

Paxtez
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 130


Joystick Jedi


View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2003, 07:56:03 am »

Its not a prank.  They made it, but they thought it wasn't 'sexy' enough, to make it worth the trouble.
Logged

....Paxtez....
Chrispy
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Vlik Dweller


View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2003, 02:42:39 am »

i know i was an idea of fred and paul. i ment that it was a prank that people said that it was in the game. (it would be very sexy, but it would make u invincible, their would have to be some downside for it)
Logged

PakoPako
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 105


Lost, Irresponsible, and Stupidly Daring


View Profile WWW
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2003, 02:55:08 am »

Quote
it would be very sexy, but it would make u invincible, their would have to be some downside for it)

A good balance would be a hefty cloak/uncloak cost, and constant drain on your battieries during cloak. You'd be forced to buy extra Dynamos just to use it (and perhaps make it a "slot" weapon, forcing the player to choose between Cloak or PDL).

-=PakoPako-=
Logged

"This was brought to you by FRUNGY, the Sport of Kings!"
Chrispy
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Vlik Dweller


View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2003, 06:15:05 am »

the prob with it is u cant c where u are urself. but since its in a full game i suppose u could just program the comp no to know where u are. that would be way to powerful.
Logged

Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2003, 01:28:08 pm »

The Ilwrath cloaking device is practically useless as both human and computer players can easily deduce the position of the Avenger even when cloaked. The only real advantage of the cloak is that it confuses homing weaponry (Earthling missiles, Orz marines et.c.). Making the Precursor cloaking device work as Chrispy suggested (hiding the Percursor vessel completely from the computer-controlled opponent with no clue as to its whereabouts, while keeping it visible on screen) would make it quite different from the Avenger's cloaking device, and a lot more powerful. The Precursor vessel is ridiculously powerful in the later stages of the game already, so adding a cloaking device to it is probably not a good idea.

Another interesting variant on the cloaking device theme would be a device that makes your fleet invisible in HyperSpace; in other words, nobody could spot you in HyperSpace with this device on. This would be especially useful when you get stuck in Yehat or Ur-Quan space with a dozen groups of enemies bearing down on you.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Deep-Jiffa
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1045



View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #11 on: September 08, 2003, 02:00:58 pm »

And ofcourse, did you thought about the damage it will do? You go to the sa-matra, beat the guards and easily destroy the shield and finish the game because the fireballs and the green balls don't hunt you!!!
Logged

Deep Jiffa Owns j00!
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #12 on: September 08, 2003, 02:50:28 pm »

Quote
And ofcourse, did you thought about the damage it will do? You go to the sa-matra, beat the guards and easily destroy the shield and finish the game because the fireballs and the green balls don't hunt you!!!

The cloaking device would have to be limited to avoid making the game far too easy. Imposing a limit on the time you can remain cloaked (e.g. by introducing a severe energy drain) would help.

Obviously, a cloaking device that can be kept up continuously would make the Precursor vessel practically unkillable.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
NECRO-99
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 478


Androsynth Combat Tactics Specialist


View Profile WWW
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #13 on: September 09, 2003, 10:02:36 pm »

An easy answer to all of this would be that the Cloak is required to be in a weapons slot, and there has to be at least 2 Shivas next to it. This would severly limit the ship's offensive capabilities, thus making relative balance. 2 Shivas would slow the drain to, perhaps, 2 batt a second, and 3 Shivas (Guess that's stock for me) would level off  the drain. The only reason the Ilwrath can keep their cloak up as long as they wish is their insane battery regeneration of 6 batt/second. Another need for it would be upkeep. No doubt it would be very delicate in nature, thus requiring at least 50 crew (1 full crew pod) at maximum 2 squares away to it to maintain functionality.

Of course this device isn't going to be implemented any time soon (if ever) I don't think, but its a nice idea.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2003, 10:03:59 pm by NECRO-99 » Logged

I love being a clone. Everything I do bad gets blamed on the real me!
Chrispy
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Vlik Dweller


View Profile
Re: Cloaking Device?!
« Reply #14 on: September 10, 2003, 04:09:46 am »

that just might work
Logged

Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!