The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 28, 2021, 10:48:55 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....  (Read 8888 times)
jimb00
Guest


Email
Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« on: March 16, 2004, 02:27:50 pm »

Hi, just downloaded and installed all components of UQM 0.3.

When I try to run it a black window appears for a second then dissappears. I've tried turning off all hardware acceleration, running in compatibility mode, in 256 colors, in 640x480 screen res and disabling visual themes (all in a variety of combinations). Still just got a black screen  :-/

Any ideas?
Thx muchly

(WinXP, 32MB geforce2)
Logged
Deep-Jiffa
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1045



View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2004, 03:46:10 pm »

It is a known problem(for some reason). It has nothing to do with the hardware, just with the driver's type: NTFS. But to be sure that it is that problem, give us the error messege it writes before it get closed, and trust me there is one.
Logged

Deep Jiffa Owns j00!
FalconMWC
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1059


Avatar Courtesy of Slyrendro


View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2004, 05:11:35 pm »

A hint - Press, the pause/break button in order to read it, unless you watn to watch it go by a a bunch of times.
Logged
Terminator
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 308


Obnoxious One Reformed


View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2004, 08:22:16 pm »

I ran XP for about a month (didn't like it) see if u can find a dos prompt (I'm uncertain weather it has it or not from what I've seen DOS programs don't seem to work) or do a serch for command.com It won't close the window till u tell it to.
here's how u must type in DOS cd\progra~1\the_ur~1
press enter
uqm press enter
note the number for (the_ur~?) may change if u have it installed more than once.

Logged

We must each create our own paths. Do not mimic mine, I don't even like myself.
Zeep-Eeep
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Good Grief


View Profile WWW
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2004, 09:09:46 pm »

Yes, WinXP ha a command line. It's called cmd.exe, not command.com.
If you open a Run dialog box and type "cmd.exe" you'll get that evil black box.

I haven't tried running UQM on Windows, but I assume there is a shortcut on the desktop invloved. If so, you can bring up the properties of the shotcut and make sure the "close on exit" button isn't checked. This will leave the DOS
window open after UQM cashes and you can copy the error message.
Logged

What sound does a penguin make?
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2004, 11:04:21 pm »

Quote
It is a known problem(for some reason). It has nothing to do with the hardware, just with the driver's type: NTFS. But to be sure that it is that problem, give us the error messege it writes before it get closed, and trust me there is one.

It is a known problem?
It has something to do with NTFS?
I'm sure you mean well, but if you don't know what you're talking about, please don't confuse other people.

jimb00:
"downloaded and installed all components", does that mean you didn't use the installer? Chances are you put something in the wrong dir then.
I suggest you follow Zeep-Eeep's directions, that should provide some more useful messages, if not for you, then for us here.

Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Deep-Jiffa
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1045



View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2004, 04:36:46 am »

Quote

It is a known problem?
It has something to do with NTFS?
I'm sure you mean well, but if you don't know what you're talking about, please don't confuse other people.

jimb00:
"downloaded and installed all components", does that mean you didn't use the installer? Chances are you put something in the wrong dir then.
I suggest you follow Zeep-Eeep's directions, that should provide some more useful messages, if not for you, then for us here.


Forgive me if I am wrong, but I thought that his problem is with the key.cfg . If I am wrong, I am sorry.
Logged

Deep Jiffa Owns j00!
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #7 on: March 17, 2004, 05:09:39 am »

It *could* be a problem with the key config, if you're using a 0.2 config with 0.3 or messed yours up manually. But "It's a known problem" suggest to me an unfixed bug in uqm, while you probably mean that some other people have had the same problem. It also suggests that you're pretty sure of what you're saying, while there are other, (imho more likely) explanations. I personally suspect that the game can't find the content files.

I'm curious, you say you thought this was a problem with key.cfg (it's "keys.cfg" btw); where does NTFS come in?

Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Deep-Jiffa
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1045



View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #8 on: March 17, 2004, 06:40:45 am »

I have no clue, but I know that when I had that problem (with 3.0) it was fine when it was fat32 and got messy when it coverted to NTFS.  :-/
Logged

Deep Jiffa Owns j00!
Mark Vera
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 219


Me?You mean me,personally? How nice of you to ask!


View Profile WWW
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #9 on: March 17, 2004, 05:31:11 pm »

Quote
I have no clue, but I know that when I had that problem (with 3.0) it was fine when it was fat32 and got messy when it coverted to NTFS.  :-/


Well, I don't have any problems with 0.3 and I got XP and no Fat32 drives at all. I think the error message would be nice to hear before assuming anything.
« Last Edit: March 17, 2004, 05:31:24 pm by Mark_Vera » Logged

Jofan
Guest


Email
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2004, 09:33:16 pm »

I have the same problem. I get that error:
"Error: Could not copy default key config to user config dir: No such file or directory."

I install the game in: D:\Juegos\The Ur-Quan Masters
Logged
ihaka
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2004, 02:37:01 pm »

Just search your Ur-Quan directory for the file starcon.key and copy that to C:\Documents and Settings\User\Application Data\uqm (where user = your user name).
Logged
Patrick
Guest


Email
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2004, 10:32:07 pm »

I am getting the same error on Win2k.  Copying starcon.key into uqm creates a complaint that it didn't understand a single line of the cfg file(which is what I got when I tried to put in my 0.2-era keys.cfg from a previous install).  Then it renames keys.cfg to keys.old(which is odd since i technically didn't have a keys.cfg in there) and retries, upon which I get Error: Something went wrong and we were looping again and again so aborting.  Possible cause is your content dir not being up-to-date.  
I imagine the reason I am looping is that it isn't renaming starcon.key, just copying it into keys.old and so it hits the same thing over and over.
I used the Windows 0.3 installer.  Can someone just provide a 0.3 era cfg, or explain the format so I can create one that 0.3 will accept?  
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2004, 02:26:02 am »

In the uqm-0.3-content .zip file there's a starcon.txt. Copy that file out of the archive and put it as keys.cfg in the config dir.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
mshieh
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Can't run 0.3 at all on winXP....
« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2004, 04:17:15 pm »

I manually copied over starcon.key to keys.cfg and it now gives me a new error.  I installed by only installing the executable, then unzipping the content .zip into the package directory.  I also tried installing by downloading the content .zip, and received the same error.  I am running XP.  Is there a single file installer?

Initializing SDL (pure).
SDL driver used: directx
SDL initialized.
Initializing Screen.
Set the resolution to: 640x480x32
Initializing SDL audio subsystem.
SDL audio subsystem initialized.
Initializing MixSDL mixer.
MixSDL using driver 'SDL_audio'
MixSDL Mixer initialized.
   opened dsound at 44100 Hz 16 bit stereo, 4096 samples audio buffer
Initializing sound decoders.
Sound decoders initialized.
0 joysticks were found.
Kernel failed to load!
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!