The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 27, 2022, 12:47:28 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Changing the UQM universe?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Changing the UQM universe?  (Read 2852 times)
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Changing the UQM universe?
« on: March 30, 2004, 09:52:00 pm »

When i was playing UQM storymode again, for about the 10th time in my life, i was wondering: Is it able to change the coordinates of all stars? Just assign them at random, and possibly getting the constellations right? Would be fun! Finally a *real* challenge again! Smiley Also it would be fun if some race locations were changed. And ofcourse the starbase coordinates. Maybe a bit to the middle?

Ohwell.. maybe it is not possible at all.. I dont know! But if it is.... Wink
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2004, 04:48:49 am »

See src/sc2code/plandata.c in the sources; you can move anything and everything around on the starmap, but that's really only dealing with half of it; all of the clues and whatnot would need to be "fixed" with respect to the new locations if you were to do so.
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
FalconMWC
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1059


Avatar Courtesy of Slyrendro


View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2004, 05:01:37 am »

Well you still could move some to knock a gamer of memorizing places. For instance:

Dela Touri  - can't move the illwrath homeworld though...

Some rainbow worlds, though not the ones that species referr to.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2004, 05:01:51 am by FalconMWC » Logged
bripo
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 7



View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2004, 08:46:58 pm »

It's been a few years since I played the full game, but I seem to remeber that the positions of the rainbow worlds formed a pettern, which means you wouldn't be able to move them.
Logged
Chrispy
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Vlik Dweller


View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2004, 09:06:29 pm »

You could make a new pattern.
Logged

Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2004, 10:38:06 pm »

Really, patterns don't exist. Why? Cause everything is a pattern, sometimes its a random pattern, sometimes it looks like something.

Ofcourse, you can make a new "pattern", by positioning the rainbows in a new arrow, or in a star, or something like that..
Logged
FalconMWC
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1059


Avatar Courtesy of Slyrendro


View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2004, 11:29:50 pm »

Of course you would have to keep some of the rainbow worlds in the same place. That is because the Thraddash, Spathi and other aliens tell you the locations of certain Rainbow worlds.  
« Last Edit: April 09, 2004, 11:30:03 pm by FalconMWC » Logged
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2004, 11:31:57 pm »

What about changing that too? Just put a "beep" over the coordinates in the sound files, and add a readme that some things are beeped over because of the coordinate changes..
« Last Edit: April 09, 2004, 11:32:23 pm by Megagun » Logged
Chrispy
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Vlik Dweller


View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2004, 11:40:03 pm »

Quote
Really, patterns don't exist. Why? Cause everything is a pattern, sometimes its a random pattern, sometimes it looks like something.

Ofcourse, you can make a new "pattern", by positioning the rainbows in a new arrow, or in a star, or something like that..

Some patterns are a lot more recognisable than others.
121212 <= this jumps out in the human mind. You automatically think that 1 is next.
12345<=this also jumps out. You automatically think that 6 is next.
Of course if could be anything that is next but you dont know that yet.
12349<=since this shows you that if doensn't follow what you'd expect, you assume its random.

At the moment the rainbow worlds follow a recognisable pattern. If they were scattered, yes that would be a pattern, but you couldn't make educated guesses as to where more of them are.
Logged

Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2004, 02:06:36 am »

Indeed.
Anyways: As i've got nothing to do for the coming 5 days, i may be exploring that plandata.c file a bit.. Wink I've already seen quite a bit of it, and if i'm correct I only have to play with numbers a bit, and with datafiles. But probably, it's going to be way harder..

Maybe, i'm only able to replace Sol, which would also make a nice change. *New* systems to mine (Ever mined a star system in the upper right corner?) and more.
I'll see, though I really have NO idea of building it, when I changed it.
Logged
Bwahaha
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 32


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile WWW
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2004, 09:01:39 am »

Beware of just mucking randomly about with plandata.c, as other code further down the track depends heavily on some of that data.

For instance, the solar system generation code uses the X/Y coordinates of a star as a random seed when generating all of the planets and moons within that system.

If the new X/Y coordinates only generated say, 2 planets instead of 7, and hypothetically the aqua helix is supposed to be on the 4th planet, it will never appear because the 4th planet was never generated.

If you want to delve that deeply into the code, look into all of the genXXX.c files as well, as they are responsible for overrides of planet/moon data, amongst other things.

On the subject however, I see a lot of these kinds of posts and feel ever more strongly that the speech module is holding back a lot of these kinds of innovations.  

Perhaps any builds of UQM with these kinds of modifications could hard-compile the speech out, and bring us back to the glory days when we were all playing this on our 386's, had to read it all on the screen, and by god, still loved every minute of it.
Logged
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Changing the UQM universe?
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2004, 05:01:38 pm »

Yeah, wasn't that strange, in the old days, i've enjoyed SC2 without speech. Now, when i play UQM, i play ONLY WITH speech, cause without its kinda boring.. Weird, eh?

Well, speech doesn't really hold off anything. Just put beeps above the coordiate part and it goes fine, add a small notice somewhere, such as at Captain Hayes, where you ask him "Is there anything special with conversing with aliens?" he'll reply something such as "Well, as your main computer got messed up in the building of your Precursor vessel, it isn't able to translate alien star coordinates, That's why you'll hear beeps sometimes." And, as we don't have speech for that sentance, it is possible to add a small joke after it, such as "Whoops! Forgot to turn my microphone on!" Wink
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!