The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 04, 2022, 12:49:39 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Starbase Café (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Opera help
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Opera help  (Read 5048 times)
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Opera help
« on: November 11, 2004, 03:58:13 am »

hi guys Smiley

after mastering IE, Mozilla, and now Firefox 1.0, ive turned to Opera to continue my browser educational experience. but that little venture has encountered a big fat road block. when i try to access the forums here at this great community i call home, i cant. opera times out after about 15 seconds with the error Network and the address "http://uqm.stack.nl/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl". i can, however, access every other link in this site with quickness and ease. ive tried adjusting my cookies but the default settings are pretty open. im not sure about anything under network in operas preferences, but i messed with just about ever setting there is, to no effect. if anyone using this browser could please give me a hand configuring it, id be much obliged.

~DEFIANT
Logged
TiLT
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 260


To boldly go where no Spathi has dared go before


View Profile WWW
Re: Opera help
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2004, 06:05:21 am »

It shouldn't need configuring. I've been using Opera for years now, and I've never had any problems with this site.
Logged
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2004, 06:18:07 am »

could zone alarm be restricting the site? opera has been given access so im pretty sure thats not the problem. hmmm ill try a uninstall and reinstall and see that leads me. thanks Tilt for the reply.

~DEFIANT
Logged
Zeep-Eeep
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Good Grief


View Profile WWW
Re: Opera help
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2004, 06:37:17 am »

I'm using Opera pretty much out-of-the-box right now. So, in short,
I can't think of anything that might help. It is a sexy browser.
Logged

What sound does a penguin make?
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2004, 10:23:26 am »

still no joy. heres my error window message:

Network problem

The page is currently not available for Opera to display. Please check the following:
Are your proxy settings correct? Is a proxy required to connect to the Internet? Have you tried disabling proxies? Check that the hostname, IP address and port number is correct.
Try enabling Synchronous DNS if it is disabled and disable it if it is enabled, in Opera's Network preferences.
Are you using Internet security software, such as ZoneAlarm or Norton Internet Security? Is this software properly configured? What happens if you disable this software?
Are you behind a firewall on your LAN?
Does other software work? Other browsers? E-mail clients? If not, this is not an Opera related problem.

If you are on a dialup connection, check the dialup properties for your connection and under Server types, make sure it is set to log on to the network.

this really stating to erk me, its the only bookmarked page that i cant access. grrrr!

~DEFIANT
Logged
Zeep-Eeep
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Good Grief


View Profile WWW
Re: Opera help
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2004, 07:53:31 pm »

Stupid thought #1.
Try to empty your cache and history. Then, delete the bookmark.
No, really, try it. Then close Opera, re-open it and type in the
address manually. If it works, then bookmark it. If not, well, then I enjoyed
wasting your time.
Logged

What sound does a penguin make?
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2004, 04:31:18 am »

thanks zeep, but still no access. it weird, in order for me to stay logged on here in IE, Mozilla, or Firefox, i need to give access to 3rd party cookies to uqm.stack.nl in zonealram. without access ill always have to renenter my account name and password. otherwise, im a ok when it has access.

ive tried turning off zone alarm and that does nothing. i really cant think of anything that would restrict network settings for just this forum. it starts to download, hangs, then times out. is maybe the code screwed up? i guess if it was then firefox would have the same problem. well if i cant find a solution, then im going to stick with firefox, as ive yet to encounter a site i cant access lest its windows update, wich i keep IE for. man, and i really wanted to use this browser, it has some rather nice features i liked. maybe ill post at there site, but if you guys have no problems, then it has to be something on my end i would suppose. so i doubt they would have any info. well thanks for your help guys. let me know if you come up with anything else.

~DEFIANT
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2004, 04:50:41 am »

Do the other sites hosted on uqm.stack.nl work, the Ultronomicon and the UQM bug database?

As what browser have you told Opera to identify itself? (it's quickly accessible under F12).

Also, may I assume you are running it on Windows? What version (of Opera)?

I've been using Opera on this site ever since we started it and the only problem I recall having with this site was when it didn't want to save my login info, but that turned out to be because the system date was a year in the future (so cookies would be expired as they were issued).

Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Zeep-Eeep
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Good Grief


View Profile WWW
Re: Opera help
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2004, 06:23:26 am »

Hmm, I have Opera IDing itself as IE 6.0. Oh, do you allow for
refering/re-direction? Do you allow JavaScript?
Logged

What sound does a penguin make?
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2004, 07:14:42 am »

Quote
Do the other sites hosted on uqm.stack.nl work, the Ultronomicon and the UQM bug database?


nope, i was wrong, i cant access thoes either. same time out issure as before. so if its the site, any ideas as to why or at least why me...hahaha.

Quote
As what browser have you told Opera to identify itself? (it's quickly accessible under F12).


ive tried all options, same thing happens.

Quote
Also, may I assume you are running it on Windows? What version (of Opera)?


windows xp pro sp2 and a few minor updates.

i tried the release version 7.54 i think it is. then saw the build 7.6 preview, thinking maybe it was a bug so i switched to the preview version. should i go back?

~DEFIANT

Quote
Hmm, I have Opera IDing itself as IE 6.0. Oh, do you allow for
refering/re-direction? Do you allow JavaScript?


yes and yes.

heres an interesting thing i found. when i enable the eveball icon(view), i was messing around with the "user mode", i then toggled show images and links only and the text links for "news", "forums", "wiki", "bugdata base", and "ultronomicon" all are red text and all have a line throught them. what does that mean? these are all the links that time out. i feel where getting closer to the bottom of this mystery. oh how i do love a good mystery Wink

~DEFIANT
« Last Edit: November 12, 2004, 07:26:13 am by DEFIANT » Logged
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2004, 11:57:06 am »

well, i did a full reinstall of windows. not because i wanted to see if opera would work (which it does as I'm making this post from said browser, ya!) but because i updated my ati drivers. which caused my pc to loop reboot... *smacks head* DOH! so i would like to thank you all for taking time to help me sort this issue out. THANK YOU! now if you'll excuse me, I'm going to take this thing for a spin *revs up and squeals tires* SEE YOU ALL ON THE FLIP SIDE!! vvveeeerrrrrooooommmmmm... =loud crashing sound, breaking glass= ...just kidding:P

~DEFIANT

ps: i did happen to use a program called xplite, that lets you remove components from windows (msn, messenger, windows restore, ect...). maybe i might of removed something opera needed. just an after thought. hmmm...
« Last Edit: November 13, 2004, 12:46:06 pm by DEFIANT » Logged
Zeep-Eeep
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Good Grief


View Profile WWW
Re: Opera help
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2004, 08:33:27 pm »

Glad it's up and running. Welcome to Opera.
Logged

What sound does a penguin make?
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2004, 05:28:50 am »

It may have had something to do with ipv6. uqm.stack.nl has both an ipv4 and an ipv6 address, while most servers on the net still only use ipv4. Perhaps your Windows mistakenly used ipv6 when it noticed uqm.stack.nl supported it, but couldn't connect as your ISP probably doesn't support it yet.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2004, 06:03:53 am »

you may be right on that because i did have ipv6 installed and enabled to make sure i could use both. I'm going to do a little test and reinstall ipv6. if it fails, then we have a winner. ill let you all know what i find.

~DEFIANT
Logged
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 815



View Profile
Re: Opera help
« Reply #14 on: November 14, 2004, 07:01:05 am »

confirmed. it was ipv6, meep. I'm just curious why firefox would let me in and not opera? any ideas?

also, do i need ipv6, or am i OK with the old ipv4?

again, thanks everyone. operas kinda growing on me. ahhhhhh!!! GET IT OFF!! GET IT OFF!! Grin

~DEFIANT
« Last Edit: November 14, 2004, 07:03:50 am by DEFIANT » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!