The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
February 17, 2020, 08:06:57 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Star Control 2 Localization
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Print
Author Topic: Star Control 2 Localization  (Read 12693 times)
Babelfish
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3



View Profile
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #15 on: November 20, 2004, 05:32:10 am »

Thanks to Andrew for the help and the app  Smiley I'll compile it soon and try to make the necessary special spanish chars with it.

My main problem stayed, though. The translated text appears in the game, but non-standard characters don't, even with the extra PNG files properly named (after each ASCII code)  and placed in the ".fon" folder.

However, I think I've found a tricky workaround to solve it. There are a few regular characters that the game doesn't use - at least a search through all the comm files didn't find any of them in the game text (",#,+,=,[,\ and ]). So I will replace those with the ones I need. Thus, 34.png (by default ") will depict an 'ñ' character - so should I write for instance in my translation 'España', I'd write 'Espa"a' instead. After the proper and readable translation, a 'Replace All' will do the job, just keeping an eye in system text - to make sure it doesn't get corrupted.

It might not be the right solution for western european language packs (if the core team has intended to do so anytime), but it works for a spanish version, and doesn't mess with the english character set. At last I can go ahead with translations without feeling them useless.

If any of you people find it a crazy idea, please wake me up to my senses before it's too late  Roll Eyes
Logged
zap
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15



View Profile WWW
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #16 on: November 21, 2004, 06:45:31 pm »

That's a ugly hack, I think.

You can try getting the russian pack from cvs here:

cvs -d :pserver:anoncvs@cs.ozerki.net:/mnt/stuff/cvs checkout sc2-ru

There are several already translated things that *work*, so if it works for Russian, it *must* work for Spanish as well (I don't think sc engine is biased towards one or other language ;-))
Logged

Greetings,
   Andrew
Babelfish
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3



View Profile
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #17 on: November 21, 2004, 09:59:48 pm »

Actually you were right. That was an ugly solution.
Anyway, I solved my problem - which turned to be a stupid one, as expected. I got inspired by your russian translation files, specifically by the cyrillic character transcription in your txt files. Simply I wasn't using the right character codes, thus the font files were misnamed. That's why I didn't get to see the special chars. I was basing on a wrong ASCII codes table. Apparently, the codes for certain characters in ANSI coding are different... I'm not quite sure about it.
Never mind, anyway. I can carry on translating now, without weird workarounds, and without messing with the standard version files.

Thanks a bunch for your help  Wink
« Last Edit: November 21, 2004, 10:02:40 pm by Babelfish » Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #18 on: November 22, 2004, 02:23:47 am »

Mac OS X users who want to use this add-on have a couple of extra steps required of them, due to the fact that the Mac Launcher still doesn't do --addon

  • After running "make", rename the ru.zip to zzz_ru.zip
  • Ctrl-click on the UQM game icon and choose "Show Package Contents".  Navigate down to "Content:Resources:content:packages"
  • Copy the zzz_ru.zip file into this folder.

Then launch the game as normal.
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Bultro
Guest


Email
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #19 on: December 01, 2004, 06:32:32 am »

I think there should be an "official" webpage about localizations on this site, where anyone can get info and upload a localization pack.
This would get more people to be interested in making a localization for their country; i would probably volunteer for an italian one.
See http://c-evo.org for example, it's organized very well...
Logged
Bultro
Guest


Email
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #20 on: December 01, 2004, 06:35:44 am »

Ehm... sorry, the link doesn't work... how do i make links on this damn forum?  Grin
However the site was http://c-evo.org
Logged
zap
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15



View Profile WWW
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #21 on: December 04, 2004, 06:58:04 pm »

I made a small change to sc2 sourcecode in order to support locales.
The problem is that in some places (like MakeReport()) functions from ctype.h (like isalpha() and isgraph()) are used, which won't work for anything but ASCII codes if the locale is not set.

The solution is to place a optional language.txt file in the root content directory (provided by the language addon) which contains the language defines (currently it contains just the locale). This way:

#(Locale)
ru_RU.CP1251

Can any of the developers take a look at the patch, and if it is okay, place in the CVS?
The diff can be downloaded from http://cs.ozerki.net/zap/sc2-rus/language.diff
Logged

Greetings,
   Andrew
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1030


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #22 on: January 05, 2005, 03:43:06 am »

BTW, just as a side-note:
The german localization team homepage is at
http://sc2de.berlios.de
The last major change was upgrading the branched sourcecode from 0.2 to the current sourceforge cvs-version.
The texts (including landertexts)  have been translated already, but the release still needs some testing, and correcting, especially since a few quirks following the upgrade to 0.3 need some attention by the "code-adjusters".

This message is only here to prevent the start of a second german localization project. One should be enough. Official announcements will follow "when it is ready".

Enjoy,
Krulle
« Last Edit: January 05, 2005, 03:45:26 am by Krulle » Logged
GDP_Spaceman
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


SC2 for ever!!


View Profile WWW
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #23 on: January 27, 2005, 02:01:35 pm »

The german translation is complete now.

@UQM-Team
Do you want to integrate it in to UQM ?
Logged

It's time for a german SC2 Smiley
Project page at http://www.gdp-gameware.de
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2005, 03:13:54 pm »

Quote
The german translation is complete now.

@UQM-Team
Do you want to integrate it in to UQM ?

Ah, nice.
I suggest you add a new bug report for this, and we'll look at it.
We will probably want the languages as separate packages, which currently isn't possible with all the hard-coded strings, so integration may take a while. But I guess we could just link to your project page from our website for now.

Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
GDP_Spaceman
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


SC2 for ever!!


View Profile WWW
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #25 on: January 29, 2005, 02:32:20 am »

Sounds great  Cheesy

... i add information about where you must do changes to support
chars over 136 from the fonts.
Logged

It's time for a german SC2 Smiley
Project page at http://www.gdp-gameware.de
zap
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15



View Profile WWW
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #26 on: January 30, 2005, 01:20:34 am »

hmm strange, I only had to make one minor change in order to support characters with codes up to 255.
Logged

Greetings,
   Andrew
GDP_Spaceman
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


SC2 for ever!!


View Profile WWW
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #27 on: January 31, 2005, 11:55:13 am »

The other Problem is "isprint (ch)" in the files gameopt.c and melee.c

But i see, you working already on the integration of "setlocal".  So  i
dont't post it again...

The third thing is the lander report...  but i search for a solution at the moment.
Logged

It's time for a german SC2 Smiley
Project page at http://www.gdp-gameware.de
zap
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15



View Profile WWW
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #28 on: February 01, 2005, 05:11:44 pm »

The lander report is also fixed by setlocale(). According to Meep-Eep, the fix is already in repository, so better get a fresh copy of the sources from svn...
« Last Edit: February 01, 2005, 05:12:15 pm by zap » Logged

Greetings,
   Andrew
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Star Control 2 Localization
« Reply #29 on: February 05, 2005, 02:39:39 am »

GDP_Spaceman: Where would I download the necessary files?
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!