The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 05, 2020, 10:18:15 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Mac port
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Mac port  (Read 3978 times)
g4inferno
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


I 100%ed Metroid Fusion before it was launched.


View Profile WWW
Mac port
« on: December 09, 2002, 11:16:35 pm »

I was wondering when we could expect a playable Mac alpha?
Logged

Star Control 2, re-released, for free, for Mac OS X, open-source, with internet play, and editable everything under the sun, and maybe even more... I need to change my pants.  Yes I said Mac. Pants.
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: Mac port
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2002, 11:57:43 pm »

Quote
I was wondering when we could expect a playable Mac alpha?

Related question: is the OSX port going to use Aqua or XDarwin?  Is it going to require Jaguar or will it run on 10.1.x as well??
« Last Edit: December 09, 2002, 11:59:14 pm by Nic. » Logged
Chad
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 201


PNF Webmaster


View Profile WWW
Re: Mac port
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2002, 08:25:42 pm »

Unless I totally misunderstood a discussion on the developers's e-mail list, a Mac OS X port is now up and running.  I have no idea how well though.  I don't believe the OS X port was working at all when the other "alpha 0.1s" were released.
Logged

"...Dogar And Kazon Clack Their Mandibles Against One Another And Snicker With Amusement."
quux
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Mac port
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2002, 08:56:55 pm »

I have the game running on my TiBook and it runs very well. There are some small bugs unique to the mac, but they should be fixed quickly. I can't speak for the core team, but I'd expect that the next alpha release should have a binary for OSX. I don't see any reason why the game wouldn't build on 10.1.x, but I don't have any 10.1 boxes to test with.

The game uses SDL, which uses Quartz or OpenGL on MacOS X for graphics, so XDarwin isn't requred.
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: Mac port
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2002, 09:44:49 pm »

<MR LASTNAME="Burns">

Excellent.

</MR>
Logged
random guy
Guest


Email
Re: Mac port
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2002, 01:37:12 am »

quux what did you have to do to the build scripts to build on osx?
Logged
quux
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 10


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Mac port
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2002, 09:35:34 pm »

Quote
quux what did you have to do to the build scripts to build on osx?


Not much, i had SDL, SDL_mixer, SDL_image, and Ogg Vorbis installed via fink. The only thing i needed to do to the version in CVS was modify build/config_proginfo to make the build system look in /sw/include and /sw/lib for vorbisfile.
Logged
iamlindoro
Guest


Email
Re: Mac port
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2003, 06:55:43 am »

Okay, went into the config_proginfo file, and switched references for vorbis to /sw/bin and /sw/lib, where I have fink installed.. I have installed ALL the fink vorbis packages, from stable and unstable--

the build gets as far as checking for vorbis, but cannot find it.. any guesses as to what the problem is?  libvorbis0-shtools and libvorbis0 are installed, and fink will not update them, soooo...

Any help would be appreciated.

Iamlindoro
Logged
macNoob
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Mac port
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2003, 10:07:35 pm »

Well, you're ahead of me.  I can't seem to get past the "Simple MediaDirect Layer not found." message...
Logged
Quobobo
Guest


Email
Re: Mac port
« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2003, 10:07:54 am »

Hmm...  someone needs to be so kind as to post a compiled version on sourceforge.  Smiley
Logged
Niles.Donegan
Guest


Email
Re: Mac port
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2003, 08:44:34 pm »

I'm at the point of having SDL 1.2.5 installed (I got it from www.libsdl.org), so instead of having the "layer not found", I get a fatal error saying the version of SDL can't be determined.  Hmmm.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!