The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 01, 2021, 12:04:55 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  OSX version won't run.
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: OSX version won't run.  (Read 4552 times)
Clock Nova
Guest


Email
OSX version won't run.
« on: May 22, 2005, 01:52:56 am »

Two questions:

First, do I need to download the 0.4 content file?  The .app does seem to contain a content file of about the same size as the downloadable one.  Is it the same thing, or is the other file additional content?  Some instructions on the download page would be helpful, or in the readme file.  If I need both to play the game, then my second question may be answered.  Otherwise...

I can't get the MacOSX version to run.  It just appears in the dock for a split second and then closes.  When I run it via the terminal, I get this:
"dyld: /Volumes/Cold Storage/Games/The Ur-Quan Masters.app/Contents/MacOS/The Ur-Quan Masters can't open library: /Users/garinh/Library/Frameworks/OpenAL.framework/Versions/A/OpenAL  (No such file or directory, errno = 2)
Trace/BPT trap"

I don't know who this user "garinh" is, but seems like it could be part of the problem.  Perhaps he compiled it and forgot to change the pathway
?  It was my understanding that the current release was self-contained and didn't require external libraries.  Am I wrong?  How can I fix this?
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2005, 02:21:06 am »

Re:  the content, the main content is included with the game.  You would only need to download the 3DO music, voices, or remix packs.  This is spelled out in the OSX README included with the game.

Re:  the runtime error: *sigh*

This is a nearly two-year-old bug with OpenAL:

http://opensource.creative.com/pipermail/openal/2003-October/001591.html

I'm going to rebuild the Mac version to be more well-behaved.  A workaround is to dig into the package and copy the OpenAL.framework folder to /Library/Frameworks  After that, the game should work fine.
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Clock Nova
Guest


Email
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2005, 02:36:07 am »

Thanks.  It works just fine now.  Is there any way to make it remember my user settings, or am I just going to have to wait until that issue is addressed in a future release?
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2005, 02:43:55 am »

There's currently no way to save those settings, but it is planned for a future release.  Alternately, you can just never, ever quit the game.  Smiley
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Clock Nova
Guest


Email
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2005, 02:58:12 am »

I wish I didn't have to but... alas, I must.

Last question, then I'm going to play for a while:

There doesn't seem to be an option to make it run fullscreen rather than windowed.  Is there any way I can make it do this?
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2005, 03:14:10 am »

Quote
There doesn't seem to be an option to make it run fullscreen rather than windowed.  Is there any way I can make it do this?

If you run it from Terminal.app rather than by double-clicking the icon, you can feed the game the "-f" switch to run in fullscreen mode.  Otherwise, no, not until the Unofficial Release of 0.4.0 is finished (which will be "Real Soon Now", I promise Wink )
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Clock Nova
Guest


Email
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2005, 03:24:11 am »

Hey, I didn't realize it was you that was helping me.  Great work, by the way.

I do have one more question, though (at least, for now).  If I download the into and ending movies of the 3DO version from ClassicGaming.com, will I be able to get the game to use them without having to run it from the terminal, or will you also be "unnoficially" fixing that?

I think I'll wait just a little longer for your release.
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2005, 03:34:20 am »

Quote
If I download the into and ending movies of the 3DO version from ClassicGaming.com, will I be able to get the game to use them without having to run it from the terminal, or will you also be "unnoficially" fixing that?

Yes and no.  The official version will use the 3DO intro/outro movies if it finds them, but the videos on the Pages of Now and Forever are screen captures of the videos, not the videos themselves.  If you were to extract the videos from a 3DO CD (instructions here) then you can use them, otherwise the PC slides will just have to do.
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Clock Nova
Guest


Email
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2005, 03:50:10 am »

Darn.  So it's not enough that to just name the files appropriately?  That's too bad as I don't know anyone who has the 3DO disc.  Any idea where else I might find the movie files?  There doesn't seem to be a copyright issue, so anyone should be able to make them available.
Logged
Halleck
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 750


Personal Text


View Profile WWW
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2005, 03:53:45 am »

Actually, I don't think TFB owns the copyright for those videos, so the legality is a bit messy. If you look hard enough, you can find some bootlegs.
Logged


Currently working on: Going outside more

Game projects: Vega Strike / Elite Strike
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2005, 07:34:33 am »

Quote
I think I'll wait just a little longer for your release.

You can stop waiting now.  Smiley

http://www.submedia.net/uqm/
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Clock Nova
Guest


Email
Great work.  Couple of things...
« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2005, 10:55:02 am »

Thanks.  The user settings screen is MUCH better than the standard version.

Couple of things:

1.  It has the strange tendency to give me the "application has unexpectedly quit" message when I quit from the game in full screen mode.  Not, apparently, a big deal since I meant to quit anyway, but strange.

2.  For some reason the game takes a significant performance hit when running fullscreen.  This seems opposite to what I would expect - usually it is more processor intensive to run a game in a window.  If I move down to just bilinear filtering, performance is normal, but I can run it with triscan filtering at 1024x768 in windowed mode.  Odd.

Other than that, great work.

Is there any intent to add mouse support to a later release?
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: Great work.  Couple of things...
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2005, 07:29:28 pm »

Quote
Thanks.  The user settings screen is MUCH better than the standard version.

Thanks.  Once startup settings can be saved to stable storage (via ~/.uqmrc or similar) the pre-game setup menu will likely be reborn as an external setup/launcher program, but until then, I fork.  Smiley

Quote
1.  It has the strange tendency to give me the "application has unexpectedly quit" message when I quit from the game in full screen mode.  Not, apparently, a big deal since I meant to quit anyway, but strange.

I'd be curious to see what the Apple Crash Reporter has to say about such things.  If you could post the backtrace into Bugzilla, that'd help more than a little.

Quote
2.  For some reason the game takes a significant performance hit when running fullscreen.

Heh.  The lion's share of the development for Mac is done on my stalwart little 600MHz G3 iBook running (at the time of this writing) MacOS X 10.4.1.  Everything causes a performance hit for me.  Smiley  Although what you describe is odd, because in full-screen mode, double-buffering is disabled, which should be a Good ThingTM.  Are you using an OpenGL graphics mode?  Does a non-GL mode improve or hurt things?

Quote
Is there any intent to add mouse support to a later release?

There is already rudimentary mouse support.  If you click anywhere on the main menu, it says "don't do that".  Smiley

But yes, more full-featured mouse support is planned for later releases.  Reconciling the various quirks of input via mouse with the rest of the game's input may prove to be non-trivial, though.
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
clock_nova
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2005, 09:13:32 pm »

There's no performance hit when I run it without GL support.  It only happens with GL at fullscreen running any filter over bilinear.

I'd be happy to post my crash log contents to Bugzilla.  Should I just paste the contents of the file into the description field?  Who should I assign it to?
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: OSX version won't run.
« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2005, 10:50:02 pm »

Quote
Should I just paste the contents of the file into the description field?
That's the notion, although a small problem description (e.g., how to reproduce the problem) always helps.


Quote
Who should I assign it to?
Just leave it blank -- it will assign a sensible default.  Not that it matters, none of the coredev guys are terribly territorial about Bugzilla bugs anyhow.
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!