The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 18, 2022, 07:33:20 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Slave shield...
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Slave shield...  (Read 5176 times)
Digx9
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Wait until I find my armed starship for killing ya


View Profile
Slave shield...
« on: July 15, 2005, 08:26:54 pm »

Can I make something for those worlds with a slave shield?
Please... Answer Undecided! Thank you. Smiley
Logged
VOiD
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 316


Resident pseudointellectual


View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2005, 02:19:00 am »

Um... make something? What do you mean, make? You can't go hunting for minerals or bioforms on slave shielded worlds, nor can you communicate with them. Is that what you're asking?

I'm afraid this question is a bit hard to answer unless you're more specific.
Logged

I don't think so, therefore I'm probably not.
My Deviantart page | My Bandcamp page
Digx9
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Wait until I find my armed starship for killing ya


View Profile
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2005, 03:51:47 am »

Like... Taking out the slave shield, for example. Huh
Logged
VOiD
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 316


Resident pseudointellectual


View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2005, 05:42:18 am »

Ah, I see.

There is nothing you can do directly about the slave shields while in orbit (at least not until very late in the game), but there is a plot line which involves this issue very prominently. I can't go into specifics without spoiling a lot of the fun, though. Suffice to say: if you play the game, the slave shield issues will eventually be resolved. Wink


EDIT: If you have very specific problems, you can probably find a way around them by checking the Wikipedia: http://uqm.stack.nl/wiki/
« Last Edit: July 16, 2005, 05:46:02 am by VOiD » Logged

I don't think so, therefore I'm probably not.
My Deviantart page | My Bandcamp page
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1365



View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2005, 08:45:20 am »

he_probably_ment_to_take_them_out_permanently_through_the_source_code_also.
and_if_your_wodering_why_im_typing_with_underscores_its_because_i_accidently_spilled_water_on_my_keyboard_and_now_all_my_keys_on_the_bottom_dont_work.
Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
VOiD
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 316


Resident pseudointellectual


View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2005, 01:09:43 pm »

Interesting. This, of course, means you've completely lost CTRL. Cheesy


EDIT: Wait, let me rephrase that: "Oh my GOD! Kohr-Ah Death is out of CTRL! Arm the cannons!"

EDIT2: (How death can spin out of control, however, is beyond me. I mean, it's death. Either you're dead, or you're not. How hard can it be?)

EDIT3: Ok, I'll stop now.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2005, 01:23:42 pm by VOiD » Logged

I don't think so, therefore I'm probably not.
My Deviantart page | My Bandcamp page
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1365



View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2005, 12:08:41 am »

LOL and now I have no keyboard Wink
Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3866


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2005, 06:03:07 pm »

What, are you typing by using the mouse on the character palette?
Logged
VOiD
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 316


Resident pseudointellectual


View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #8 on: July 18, 2005, 10:05:38 pm »

Nah, he just plugs a usb cable into his ear and uses his awesome mental powers.

EDIT: Come to think of it, if he has awesome mental powers, will he even need a cable?
Logged

I don't think so, therefore I'm probably not.
My Deviantart page | My Bandcamp page
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2005, 10:12:22 pm »

Code:
AMIBIOS (C)2003 American Megatrends Inc
A6702VMS V1.0 081503

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
Checking NVRAM...
1048576 KB OK
DRAM Clock= 400 MHz, SDRAM CAS Latency= 2
DEL:Setup  F11:Boot Menu  F12:Network boot  TAB:Logo  F10:Flash Recovery
Autodetecting Pri Master..ST3400832AS
Autodetecting Pri Slave...ATAPI CDROM

Error: Keyboard not found. Press <F1> to continue.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Zieman
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 151


Oh, and it burns...


View Profile
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2005, 10:18:12 pm »

Code:
Error: Keyboard not found. Press <F1> to continue.

LOL
ROFLMAO
 Grin
Logged

...and keep it under Lightspeed!!!
Halleck
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 750


Personal Text


View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2005, 01:20:47 am »

Hahaha.

I think I remember happening to me once...
Logged


Currently working on: Going outside more

Game projects: Vega Strike / Elite Strike
VOiD
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 316


Resident pseudointellectual


View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2005, 03:10:42 am »

Code:
Error: Keyboard not found. Press <F1> to continue.

Cheesy Makes you feel kinda helpless, doesn't it?
Logged

I don't think so, therefore I'm probably not.
My Deviantart page | My Bandcamp page
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1365



View Profile WWW
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2005, 12:17:29 pm »

mouse cut and paste, i cant find a character palette for win2000.

but now that i have CTRL again i will cleanse...

my hard drive.


Quote
Code:
Error: Keyboard not found. Press <F1> to continue.
i have actually gotten that message a few times. Grin
and i actually got that same message after i spilled a volatile liquid on my keyboard... h2o
Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Sander Scamper
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 408


I'm not a little teapot


View Profile
Re: Slave shield...
« Reply #14 on: August 01, 2005, 09:33:11 am »

Dihydride Monoxide - A deadly liquid that can kill if you are submersed in it, and it has become so incredibly ingrained in our society (damn industries that use this stuff) that humans can't live without it for more than half a week!

If I had awesome mental powers, I'd bet that I also had 802.11g =p
Logged

"Oops!" KA-BOOM!!

"Space is a dangerous place where wimps eat flaming plasma death" -The Zot....or is it the Fot?? We may never know...unless the guy in the back tells us!

UQM/SC2 = World Peace.
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!