The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 10, 2022, 02:24:17 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Patch to find a star system quickly
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] Print
Author Topic: Patch to find a star system quickly  (Read 8120 times)
kworces
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


jumping *peppers*!!


View Profile WWW
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2005, 07:20:45 am »

When I saw this patch I immediately thought back to a patch someone made in the beginning of the project. We didn't use bugzilla yet and so I haven't been able to find it again. It looks like that was probably your patch too.

It's actually a patch that has a good chance to make it into the official version in some form (with your permission).

Yeah, I mentioned it way back then in the IRC channel, if memory serves.  Then I stopped following the project for a long while.  So it's probably the same patch you remember.  Anyways, if you want to make it (or a variation on it) part of the official version that's cool with me.

And in the meantime anyone else who wants to redistribute it in source or binary form is welcome to do so.  I just don't want to maintain binaries myself (particularly if it means rebooting to Windows).  ;-)
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2005, 11:20:12 am »

I like this patch. I would like it even more if I could enter the full name of a star in a cluster (e.g. "Alpha Centauri") and select only that star. Right now, searching for "Centauri" works, but searching for "Alpha Centauri" fails silently (the selection isn't changed at all).

I'd also change the default key mapping to a key that actually exists on my keyboard; many European keyboards don't have a "/" key!
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2005, 01:14:05 pm »

UQM 0.4.0 - Find Star mod W32 binary: http://home.deds.nl/~megagun/sc2/UQM-fsmod.rar

There you go. Also includes the original description text from http://www.misfitcode.com/urquanmisfits/
Logged
Torch
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 23



View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2005, 02:26:55 pm »

UQM-fsmod.rar is broken ('Unexpected end of archive'). Please make new archive.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2005, 02:52:43 pm »

Try this instead. I've applied the starmap search and ship spin video patches.

The usual disclaimer, of course, applies. If you break something, you get to keep the pieces.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2005, 04:24:58 pm »

Rargh. Blame my internet for failing when I reuploaded it (forgot to mention the name of the creator of it).. Reuploading....
Logged
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1366



View Profile WWW
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2005, 04:51:20 pm »

Quote
The usual disclaimer, of course, applies. If you break something, you get to keep the pieces.

LOL i like that...

time to give the star search thingy a go
Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
kworces
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


jumping *peppers*!!


View Profile WWW
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2005, 05:38:49 pm »

I like this patch. I would like it even more if I could enter the full name of a star in a cluster (e.g. "Alpha Centauri") and select only that star.

Yeah, that would be better.  Try v2 and see if that works.  The star name is optional so the original behavior still works.  But if you provide the star it should work.  Searching for "lam drac", "illum", and even something like erroneous "zeta procyon" should give expected results now.

http://www.misfitcode.com/urquanmisfits/
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #23 on: July 19, 2005, 06:26:46 pm »

Just updated to v2 of your patch. Using MinGW under XP I get some really nasty graphics corruption after a while. Star names being printed over the map, the entire starmap turning blue, menus and stuff disappearing and so on. Also, the search feature sometimes seems to fail to find stars.

Seems like you have a synchronisation problem somewhere in there; probably lack of locking in the graphics code.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
kworces
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


jumping *peppers*!!


View Profile WWW
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #24 on: July 19, 2005, 09:42:05 pm »

Just updated to v2 of your patch. Using MinGW under XP I get some really nasty graphics corruption after a while.

The only drawing code is DrawSISMessage.  That logic didn't change between v1 and v2, so I'm not sure why you would be getting this behavior now and not before (unless the new version didn't apply cleanly for some reason); but I'll take a closer look at it when I have some time.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #25 on: July 19, 2005, 10:03:57 pm »

The only drawing code is DrawSISMessage. That logic didn't change between v1 and v2, so I'm not sure why you would be getting this behavior now and not before (unless the new version didn't apply cleanly for some reason); but I'll take a closer look at it when I have some time.
I only get these problems sporadically, and I didn't test v1 quite as thoroughly as v2. I reversed the v1 patch before applying v2, and the end result seems to be correct. Besides, it works most of the time, which I'd hardly expect from a badly applied patch.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
kworces
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


jumping *peppers*!!


View Profile WWW
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #26 on: July 20, 2005, 03:49:14 am »

I only get these problems sporadically, and I didn't test v1 quite as thoroughly as v2. I reversed the v1 patch before applying v2, and the end result seems to be correct. Besides, it works most of the time, which I'd hardly expect from a badly applied patch.

Yeah, looks like DrawSISMessage needs to be proteced by GraphicsLock, which it was not where I was calling it.  So I added the lock for those calls (v3, now available).

As for the search failing...  I've searched for a few dozen star systems, multiple stars within those systems, stars that don't have peer stars (procyon, organon) with and without using prefixes.  The search has always worked for me.  To track down any search failures I'll need a repeatable example.

I'm fully willing to admit my code is not be bug-free, but I need to know more specifically what is wrong before I can fix it.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #27 on: July 20, 2005, 09:35:02 am »

To track down any search failures I'll need a repeatable example.
I know. The problem is that I couldn't find any sort of pattern to the failures. At one point, nothing worked. Then I restarted the game and the search worked perfectly. Next time around, searching for a system was apparently ignored, but then worked when I tried again. This could be related to the graphics problems (redrawing of the map going missing, which looks quite like the search failing). I'll check out v3.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #28 on: July 20, 2005, 03:24:53 pm »

Version 3 of the patch is looking good. No bugs detected so far. I'll try it on a few different operating systems just to make sure.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
fossil
Core Team
Frungy champion
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 94



View Profile
Re: Patch to find a star system quickly
« Reply #29 on: January 18, 2006, 02:58:08 am »

A mostly modified version of this patch in now in CVS. It works somewhat differently and is folded into the new DoTextEntry().
The major difference is that you do not hit Enter before you start Tabbing through the matches and the text edit box is more in line with the rest of the GUI. Also the Menu-Tab key is called Menu-Next.

Enjoy, and thanks to kworces for the original!
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!