The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 17, 2019, 11:42:30 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 Print
Author Topic: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)  (Read 14525 times)
miri
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #15 on: May 07, 2003, 01:38:58 pm »

Hi!

I just wanted to say that it's a great idea to make a bootable cd with UQM that I can carry around. I tried it though and it didn't work for me: right after it says "Loading initrd.lrd................" it reboots my machine.

Here's some info on my machine.
AMD K6-2 300mhz
192mb ram
one cd-rom drive (lite-on 48x24x48x)
two hard drives, 4gb seagates both

Great work though, I'm sure this is only marginal !
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2003, 09:50:16 pm »

*bump* I have made a new CD image for the 0.3 alpha, available for download here:
 
http://www.submedia.net/uqm/uqm.iso.gz

Thanks to the new features allowing for the content to be placed inside ZIP files, this one loads pretty quickly compared to 0.2, and has much greater stability.  Other than that, it is basically identical to the 0.2 CD image.
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2003, 05:34:23 pm »

Dammit! Two reasons:
1. I haven't read this part of the technical issues before (i seldom look here, mostly in general discussion)

2. I'm at the wrong computer right now. But I'll make sure to burn it before friday and test it over the next week.

I hope to remember to tell you in oneandahalf week how it went on my portable and the desktop.

But i do think your project is absolutly great!!
Just the idea of not having to install anything (especially after 1.0) and just play away is more than enough for me to support your work!
Go for it, Nic.!

BTW: I'm windows-user. Does the .gz file needs to be unpacked? Can either WinZip or WinRAR handle that? I know how to burn iso-files, but i do not know if .gz is a Linux-only filetype.
Thanks for your work Nic.!

And big thanks to all other coders, remixers and....

Edit: Do you plan a complete version after release 1.0 with the remixes and other stuff available at that time to make it one big 650 MB iso? It would make it just sweeter for me! No real need for it, but just dreaming.... Thanks anyway!
« Last Edit: September 24, 2003, 05:39:16 pm by Krulle » Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #18 on: September 24, 2003, 06:51:01 pm »

Quote
Dammit! Two reasons:
BTW: I'm windows-user. Does the .gz file needs to be unpacked? Can either WinZip or WinRAR handle that? I know how to burn iso-files, but i do not know if .gz is a Linux-only filetype.
Thanks for your work Nic.!

WinZip handles .gz in my experience.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #19 on: September 24, 2003, 07:06:44 pm »

Thanks Novus!
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #20 on: September 24, 2003, 07:15:04 pm »

Yes, WinZip should know what to do with gzip files, but if for some reason it doesn't (or you don't want to get WinZip) you can download gzip for win32 here:

http://www.gzip.org/#exe

...and to answer your question, yes I intend to make a "full" CD image once I get the bugs shaken out.  Making people download hundreds of megs at this point for something that might not work at all is a wee bit premature..  Wink

Somewhat Related to the Topic at Hand: I'm beginning to consider moving away from the stock kernel.org Linux kernels for the CD and using one from Debian, SuSE or RedHat instead.  The stock kernel.org tree has quite nice hardware support, but there are reports of machines not being able to find their keyboards with the kernel I've built, and the sheer volume of patches in RedHat's kernel distribution alone makes me think that I'd have better chances of seeing "full coverage" if I went with them (or another vendor) instead.

For the "large Linux shop" crowd: of all the 2.4.x kernels out there, which has had the best support for weird hardware that you've seen?
« Last Edit: September 24, 2003, 10:18:35 pm by Nic. » Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #21 on: September 24, 2003, 07:47:34 pm »

Another thank you, Nic..

I understood why you released small images at first.
Re. "full version": It has just been a question. Thanks for answering that one as well.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2003, 07:47:57 pm by Krulle » Logged
MrMorden
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #22 on: September 25, 2003, 01:22:54 pm »

I'm one of the ones with a keyboard detection probem. Just wanted to report that it is still there in the 0.3 version.
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #23 on: September 25, 2003, 09:37:41 pm »

Quote
Tried it, got an error message:
"gunzip: uqm.iso.gz: not in gzip format"
I'm trying a new d/l to test again...

Edit: How big is the file? IE (6.0.2600) started a 12.8 MB d/l and ended up with a 18.7 MB file. Normally i use Mozilla, but it's not installed on this PC (and it never will, since this is not mine).

Edit: The errormessage remains...

I'll just burn it without decompression (by just renaming and removing .gz)
« Last Edit: September 25, 2003, 09:46:12 pm by Krulle » Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #24 on: September 25, 2003, 11:00:13 pm »

Cool it worked!!!!

Either it was MS IE or your provider has a script running. I simply truncated the filename to uqm.iso and burned that as an iso with Nero5.0 and the CD worked. Keyboard detection and sound is fine!

Lovely.

Again: Thanks Nic.!

The more difficult PCs will be tested during next week.

CU,
Martin
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #25 on: September 25, 2003, 11:47:59 pm »

Quote
Edit: How big is the file? IE (6.0.2600) started a 12.8 MB d/l and ended up with a 18.7 MB file. Normally i use Mozilla, but it's not installed on this PC (and it never will, since this is not mine).

God bless Microsoft.  This would be Internet Exploder trying to "help" you by decompressing the stream inline.

Of course, in order for that to be even marginally useful, it would need to rename the file to something without a .gz suffix, and it doesn't do that; so there you are.  I see that you already figured this part out however, but I figured an explanation of what was going on might make your day a little better.  Smiley

I'm glad it works for you.  Keep me posted.
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #26 on: September 26, 2003, 01:42:58 pm »

To clarify: next week i'll be on trip w/o INetconnection. But being able to test several computers. I'll post during the week after next week.... (Going on route with several friends and Portable PCs).

Have a beautiful weeken, a successful week and another nice weekend!
Martin
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #27 on: October 02, 2003, 01:29:39 pm »

Okay have one for a few moments:


On most PC's it works fine (just testet if able to play Melee, though).

1 system did not boot (Intel Celeron II 333 MHz, Award Modular BIOS v. 4.51PG)
Errormessage follows:
Quote
[....]
hub.c: [...]
usb.c: [...]

LinuxRC: Installing - root(nf!) etc(nf!) modules(nf!) log(nf!) - Finished
cat: /var/lib/lrpkg/root.pn.links: No such file or directory
cat: /var/lib/lrpkg/root.log.links: No such file or directory
.: Can't open cat: /var/lib/lrpkg/root.dev.own
.: Can't open cat: /var/lib/lrpkg/root.dev.mod
init started: Busy-Box v 0.60.5 (2003.04.10-00:22+0000) multi-call library
Bummer, could not run '/etc/init.d/rcS': No such file or directory

please press Enter to activate this console.
But what to do with this console i do not know... (Sorry, this is basically my first linux-contact...



1 other computer thoroughly tested:
Mobile AMD Athlon 4 1600+
American Megatrends BIOS Ver 1.13s

works fine with sound, built in Keyboard and external USB-Keyboard (from Logitech).
But saves are lost after reboot (perhaps in the next version? fighting the Sa-Matra is hard to reach without pause).
After 6 or 7 hours (if in pause or speech or continued play does not matter) system crashes. Last time it happened when entering a starsystem by leaving hyperspace. That's when i stopped playing this version (although it is great to play where i want!).

For Melee it is superb, for the game you need permanent saves....

Thanks, Nic.!!!
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2003, 10:23:46 pm »

Quote
1 system did not boot (Intel Celeron II 333 MHz, Award Modular BIOS v. 4.51PG)
Errormessage follows:

The best part about that is that I know you had to type all of that in by hand.  Now THAT'S dedication.  Smiley

From what I can infer, the system got enough of itself booted to try and finish loading its data from the CD-ROM, but it couldn't find the CD-ROM and freaked.  This computer wouldn't happen to have SCSI disks on it, would it?  Putting SCSI disks on a Celeron is kindof like putting nitrous tanks on a Geo Metro, so I'm skeptical, but if the booting CD-ROM wasn't an IDE drive and/or didn't speak ATAPI, the bootscripts wouldn't know what to do.  Sorry, but I only have IDE to test with, so that's all I can "support" right now. Sad

Quote
But what to do with this console i do not know... (Sorry, this is basically my first linux-contact...

Not much to see there, anyhow.  It's a pretty "stripped down" Linux system; wanted to keep all the resources I could free for UQM.  Smiley

Quote
But saves are lost after reboot (perhaps in the next version? fighting the Sa-Matra is hard to reach without pause).
After 6 or 7 hours (if in pause or speech or continued play does not matter) system crashes. Last time it happened when entering a starsystem by leaving hyperspace. That's when i stopped playing this version (although it is great to play where i want!).

  • Saves are not stored permanently because I have no guraranteed place to put them.  Linux can write to floppies and harddisks formatted with FAT32, but it cannot write to NTFS yet (due to lack of specs from Microsoft)  Since floppies are becoming rare on PCs these days, and NTFS filesystems are becoming less rare, I'm in a tough spot, and have no good ideas.  Some bad ones I've thought of include:
    • Making a 1MB Minix partition on the first HDD found that can hold it, and stash the games there (risk trashing your entire HDD for UQM?  whoo!)
    • Include network support, and upload the savegames to a central repository.  This would involve including support for every brand of network card, modem configuration, ISDN card, CSU/DSU cards, etc. and having a highly-available server for uploads at the ready.  It would likely "not work" more often than it "worked", and wouldn't be worth the effort at all considering the limited audience
    • "just trying it", i.e., looking for a good place to write, and bailing out (with a warning that saves aren't persistent) if none is found.  This is likely the best option, but I'm stuck on figuring a way to do it that's "unobtrusive" and happens fairly quickly (the CD-ROM already takes a bit longer than I would like to bring the game up)

  • The whole system crashes, or just the game?  If it was just the game, did it restart automagically?  If it was the whole system, did it just lock up, or did you get nasty errors onscreen?
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #29 on: October 03, 2003, 12:05:59 am »

Quote
The best part about that is that I know you had to type all of that in by hand.  Now THAT'S dedication.  Smiley
Well after all your work... And it IS my favourite game after all... And 10fingertyping helps...


Quote
This computer wouldn't happen to have SCSI disks on it, would it?  Putting SCSI disks on a Celeron is kindof like putting nitrous tanks on a Geo Metro, so I'm skeptical, but if the booting CD-ROM wasn't an IDE drive and/or didn't speak ATAPI, the bootscripts wouldn't know what to do.  Sorry, but I only have IDE to test with, so that's all I can "support" right now. Sad
Well it does due to certain circumstances 8it is my old one with _all_ my old CD-ROMdrives after all (including one 2xCD-Burner from the old times when SCSI were the only decent working ones....

Quote
Not much to see there, anyhow.  It's a pretty "stripped down" Linux system; wanted to keep all the resources I could free for UQM.  Smiley
expected that since you mentioned it as minimalized system before. Therefor i did not try until you would tell me what to do there (well okay, i did peak around, but found nothing informative to me).

Regarding saves: i understand your concerns and the trouble implementing it before you reach a better testing version (this one is still one of the first after all...) But floppies are seeing  what is standing here still on most systems, even new ones. Your Linux does still have minimal USB support? You could try implementing USB-memorystick or USB-Zip-drives or similar... Nearly everyone of my friends owns at least a USBmemorystick. Most even own external USB CD-ROM-Burners or ZIPs.

Regarding crash: The system freezes with sound skipping (repeats loop every 12 to 15 seconds). Game does not miraciously restart (it does so when exiting, as you already mentioned some posts before) but with a restart saves are still there, that would be no problem. The system even hangs if i exit the game every oneandahalf hours and reload. (Note: all this counts for my mobile only, on the other systems the people are mostly killing each other (Edit: to clarify: Doom and other games like that), they stopped meleeing after they've seen Timewarp. They do prefer Timewarps' melee (mostly thanks to the graphics, some even like the weird ships offered there).

Greetings,
Martin

PS: Until the first crash I've sold the egg-case fragments for a shiny new mauler, and were on my way to get hold of the bomb, afterwards i mostly paused the game and waited six hours and continued then. This lead mostly nowhere, but the crash remained....
« Last Edit: October 06, 2003, 01:37:30 pm by Krulle » Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!