The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 22, 2019, 09:39:56 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Print
Author Topic: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)  (Read 14529 times)
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #30 on: October 06, 2003, 05:37:04 pm »

umm..
any tips on creating a boot FLOPPY? or do i just have bad luck that my %^$%$$%^$% bios doesnt allow me (yet even DETECT my cd-rom drive!) to use my cdrom drive as a boot device..?
still: good job!
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #31 on: October 06, 2003, 06:44:07 pm »

Maybe you need to change the boot-order drom IDE0->CD-ROM to CD-ROM->IDE0 (the FLOPPY will also be somewhere in that order) in the BIOS-Setup (nearly always under Advanced BIOS or Advanced CMOS Settings). If you wish to boot from CD-ROM, the CD-ROM must be searched before the HDD is searched for a bootable partition.
Most elder systems (Pentium MMX and slower) did not allow CD-ROM boot, but all newer systems should allow it.

Note: for security reasons, my mobile PC has the boot-order IDE0 -> NONE -> NONE, if i want to play on my mobile, i need to go to the bios setup first.
Logged
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #32 on: October 06, 2003, 10:53:22 pm »

hmm.. it just doesnt let me...
when i go into BIOS mode, it never mentions that i have a cdrom drive (not even in the system specs thingy!) so when i even try to change it, it mumbles that i dont even have a cdrom drive, which i (ofcourse) have..

and: my system should be able to boot from cdrom, if my bios lets me configure it that way.... it just doesnt let me! Sad
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #33 on: October 07, 2003, 07:42:53 pm »

I'm not a specialist (try and error settingschanger),
but some BIOS-systems set the CD-ROM drives on IDE1, IDE2 or IDE3 (depends on your number of HDD-drives), because they detect something there but do not recognize CD-ROM-drives different than HDD-drives (simple detection if there is a media or not connected).

During startup, does your BIOS write lines on the screen what he detects, or stays the screen after memorycheck blank until the OS loads?
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #34 on: October 08, 2003, 03:20:24 am »

The "whole system crashing" phenomenon I'm going to have to blame on SVGAlib.  The specific kernel revision that the game uses has logged about 1 year of continuous uptime on my grandmother's computer, and about 3 months of uptime on another machine that I have it installed on (would be longer but for a self-induced power outage, don't ask) so I know from experience that it's solid.  On the other hand, I remember using SVGAlib circa 1996, and I recall that had a nasty habit of crashing and taking down the entire computer with it; although it has undoubtedly improved since I last dealt with it, I'm skeptical that it has fully kicked that habit.

If your BIOS cannot see your CD-ROM, then there is no way to boot from it, and as such no way to boot into UQM.  A BIOS upgrade (check the website for your motherboard manufacturer) and/or a new CD-ROM might be able to get you where you need to be, but if you're not up for that kind of headache, just stick with the "native" version; it's got more features than the CD-ROM version at this point anyhow..

A boot floppy is entirely possible -- I took my inspiration (and more than a little code) from the Bering LEAF distribution (http://leaf.sf.net/) which does still fit nicely on floppies as far as I know.  It may make an interesting exercise to pull apart a LEAF boot floppy, make it detect the CD-ROM, and load the game from it.  Let me know how that works out.  Smiley
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Yeah, i even have 2...
« Reply #35 on: October 08, 2003, 09:24:32 pm »

SVGAlib could be the reason for the freeze. That's why i hope you will support floppy-saves in the next version....

Anyway it is great to Melee....

I gotta take a look if i can bring timewarp on a boot-CD for myself, since i like taking games and play everywhere without bothering about the installed OS....

Anyway, i hope I've been a help testing, ask again anytime! (hoping that it becomes better and better each time you ask for testers...) Wink

I do not mind if you wait for version 0.4 or so (since the resource system changes) or for a loaderprogram for linux (which could make the "fullversion with addons" better accessible).

I really like your work and must say thanks again, Nic.!
Logged
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 376



View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #36 on: October 09, 2003, 09:20:27 am »

Launcher for *nix:  Work out your favored command line options.

Put them in a shell script.
Put the shell script in /usr/local/bin or whereever.

You win!
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #37 on: October 09, 2003, 02:02:33 pm »

Did that with windows in a .bat file but with a bootable CD-ROM it seems less easy, especially if your only used to windows and are burning an image d/l from the net. And usually there are switches, because some people like it different...
Logged
Hory
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #38 on: October 11, 2003, 03:49:31 am »

It would be nice to have an ISO of the final version (when it will be available), with speech and music (and even 3DO music for you know what kind of a release). And bootable, of course Smiley. Yep, a UQM CD, that would have it's own jewel case and sit near all the other Full CDs in someone's collection...
Logged
Hory
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #39 on: October 11, 2003, 03:53:52 am »

In the previous post, 3DO music should have been 3DO movies.....
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #40 on: October 13, 2003, 10:45:14 am »

The CD image is new and improved (maybe)!

The CD is now using kernel version 2.4.22 with patches from Alan Cox.  As Alan appeared to be maintaining a few fixes related to funky keyboard support, I figured his might be a good one to try.  If you were having problems with keyboard detection before, try the new version and see if they are magically resolved.

I also decided to turn on APM support, because I really like to type "poweroff" at a console and have the right thing happen; Smiley but this is reportedly problematic on certain machines.  If people report more crashing than before I'll turn this off, but if not, it's always fun to have more features than less.

Download here:
http://www.submedia.net/uqm/uqm.iso.gz
« Last Edit: October 13, 2003, 07:25:28 pm by Nic. » Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #41 on: October 13, 2003, 02:28:08 pm »

APM is not really needed since it is a boot CD. For me it does not matter if i just shut off or if i need to quit every program to make the computer shut itself off (since HDD is not needed, there is not much risk of losing data here).

But, just for the kid in me, I'd like everey possible notcrashing feature. Thanks, Nic.!

BTW: It might take a while until i can test it....
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #42 on: October 14, 2003, 12:38:37 pm »

I just updated the CD image yet again, this time I added rudimentary support for saving games to floppy disks.  Hooray.

Caveats:
  • The save drive must be the "A:" drive, also known as "/dev/fd0" to us Linux folk.
  • The disk must be formated as an MS-DOS floppy (Linux folk, download mtools and use mformat)
  • The disk must have a volume label of "UQM_SAVES"

How it works in a nutshell is that before starting the game, it will look on the A: drive and see if it has a disk inserted labelled "UQM_SAVES".  If it does, it will attempt to use it; if not, it will ignore the floppy drive.

Switching disks mid-game will yield undefined results; if you want to switch disks, hit F12 to reset the game after you do.
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1017


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #43 on: October 14, 2003, 01:50:05 pm »

Cool Cool! Great! Gotta fetch a disk and start (by tomorrow). Thanks, Nic.!
Logged
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: got a cd-burner? (was: CR/LF problems?)
« Reply #44 on: October 15, 2003, 01:23:53 am »

nice Smiley
too bad im not really able to test it on my fast computers (bootable-cd only work on my slowest one Sad, still nice to hear this small project going on.. Smiley )
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!