The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 28, 2022, 05:24:06 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Starbase Café (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  is there eny way...
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: is there eny way...  (Read 2737 times)
cloneof
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


CAN I HAS FRUNGY?


View Profile
is there eny way...
« on: August 30, 2005, 04:26:36 pm »

is there enyway to get SC3? (i would like to test it), remaked, normal... i dont care (I JUST WANT IT (im loser))
Logged

FRUNGY, FRUNGY, FRUNGY!!!
Deus Siddis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1387



View Profile
There's a few.
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2005, 05:08:15 pm »

You could download a rip, off of the-underdogs.org but it will not have any sound:

http://www.the-underdogs.org/game.php?gameid=1041


Another option is to buy it on ebay:

http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?sofocus=bs&sbrftog=1&from=R10&satitle=star+control+3&sacat=1249%26catref%3DC6&bs=Search&sargn=-1%26saslc%3D2&sadis=200&fpos=49614&ftrt=1&ftrv=1&saprclo=&saprchi=&fsop=1%26fsoo%3D1&coaction=compare&copagenum=1&coentrypage=search


It seems there is an accolade and atari version, both for PC. I'm not sure what the difference is (perhaps the atari is better patched to run on modern systems).
« Last Edit: August 30, 2005, 05:11:57 pm by Deus_Siddis » Logged
ar81
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21



View Profile
Re: is there eny way...
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2005, 04:33:07 pm »

Is there any way to hack it so it could have custom sound?
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: is there eny way...
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2005, 06:26:29 pm »

In my experience, most sound problems are due to incompatible sound cards and/or Windows. Under DOS with a real Sound Blaster card (not any of this new-fangled cheapo "Sound Blaster" PCI crud, which has little to do with the original Sound Blaster series), SC3 runs fine (usually). Under Windows XP, VDMSound should help you get SC3 running with full sound.

BTW, since when did this place become a warez request board?
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
ar81
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21



View Profile
Re: is there eny way...
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2005, 08:48:32 pm »

Is SC3 warez?
I thought it was like SC2 which went GPL by UQM.
Logged
Zeep-Eeep
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 917


Good Grief


View Profile WWW
Re: is there eny way...
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2005, 02:37:42 am »

I've read that three times and I still don't know
what it means....

As I understand it, the source code for SC2 (or
some of it) was released, granting the UQM
team to create a legal port of the game. The
code used and developed under the UQM project
is protected by the GPL.

Unless I'm mistaken (it happens) the source
code for the other SC games was not released.
Logged

What sound does a penguin make?
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!