The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 19, 2019, 02:21:55 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  "Debug" box...
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: "Debug" box...  (Read 3047 times)
Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1300



View Profile WWW
"Debug" box...
« on: February 15, 2006, 11:20:10 pm »

I've noticed that some peoples compiled exe's have no "debug" box where all the data is displayed while playing the game, and i was wondering, how would i get rid of that box with VS 2003?

this is only for personal use so i could play the the game without 2 windows.
Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
HalfShadow
Guest


Email
Re: "Debug" box...
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2006, 11:23:47 pm »

Just go full-screen. If you can't see it, it's practically the same as it not being there, right?
Logged
Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1300



View Profile WWW
Re: "Debug" box...
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2006, 07:54:12 am »

ummm, no, i want it totally gone

i dont really need it anyways
Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1300



View Profile WWW
Re: "Debug" box... and Original source?
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2006, 01:47:34 pm »

and another question, where can i find the source code for version 0.00 of UQM?

or where can i find the original source before it was ported?

that would be something i would love to have a look at
Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Fritz
Guest


Email
Re: "Debug" box...
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2006, 02:18:04 am »

Quote
I've noticed that some peoples compiled exe's have no "debug" box where all the data is displayed while playing the game, and i was wondering, how would i get rid of that box with VS 2003?

You need to link with /subsystem:windows instead of /subsystem:console. In VS 2005 it's under Configuration Properties -> Linker -> System -> SubSystem.
Logged
Halleck
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 750


Personal Text


View Profile WWW
Re: "Debug" box... and Original source?
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2006, 07:59:28 am »

and another question, where can i find the source code for version 0.00 of UQM?

or where can i find the original source before it was ported?

that would be something i would love to have a look at
I'm not sure if you will be able to find the "original" code, if by that you mean the complete source code to the 3D0 version. As far as I know, the code that TFB released had been 'partially ported' already... I assume that they removed most of the proprietary 3D0 code although I may be wrong.
Logged


Currently working on: Going outside more

Game projects: Vega Strike / Elite Strike
Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1300



View Profile WWW
Re: "Debug" box...
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2006, 11:39:30 pm »

Quote
I've noticed that some peoples compiled exe's have no "debug" box where all the data is displayed while playing the game, and i was wondering, how would i get rid of that box with VS 2003?

You need to link with /subsystem:windows instead of /subsystem:console. In VS 2005 it's under Configuration Properties -> Linker -> System -> SubSystem.

i hope that works on VS 2003\

.:: EDIT ::.

Found it and it worked, thanks man
« Last Edit: February 17, 2006, 11:45:48 pm by Kohr-Ah Death » Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Michael Martin
Core Team
*Smell* controller
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 376



View Profile
Re: "Debug" box... and Original source?
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2006, 02:14:20 am »

I'm not sure if you will be able to find the "original" code, if by that you mean the complete source code to the 3D0 version. As far as I know, the code that TFB released had been 'partially ported' already... I assume that they removed most of the proprietary 3D0 code although I may be wrong.

Mostly correct.  We had the "stripped" code available to us, but mainly for reference.  Chris Nelson put the first (purely OpenGL) backend in and stripped out the "3DO-specific, causes things to neither compile nor run" parts.

Among other things, the code used a huge mess of heinous preprocessor directives so that it would compile on various breeds of non-standard C compilers -- after all, at this point ANSI C itself was only two or three years old, and the compilers people were using tended to be at weird half-way points between it and K&R C.

(IIRC, the original PC SC2 used Watcom's C compiler, since it was using DOS4GW.)
Logged
Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1300



View Profile WWW
Re: "Debug" box...
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2006, 09:05:23 am »

well is there anyway i could get the code that TFB handed over?

I've been wanting to look at it ever since i started learning C.
Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: "Debug" box... and Original source?
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2006, 11:17:48 am »

(IIRC, the original PC SC2 used Watcom's C compiler, since it was using DOS4GW.)
I don't think so. PC SC2 doesn't come with DOS4GW, it runs on a 286 (albeit slowly) and contains the following string:
Quote
MS Run-Time Library - Copyright (c) 1990, Microsoft Corp
Looks like Microsoft C to me.

Most importantly, getting SC2 to run properly wouldn't require such a lot of messing around with DOS memory configuration if it didn't require such a lot of conventional memory, while DOS4GW can use practically all RAM through protected mode.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!