The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 03, 2022, 11:45:13 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Flagship in Supermelee
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Flagship in Supermelee  (Read 4973 times)
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Flagship in Supermelee
« on: March 12, 2006, 04:12:44 am »

About a year ago, I created a patch to use the flagship in Supermelee. It wasn't ready to be released to the general public, but I said I'd make a decent patch one day, and here it is.
As the topic has come up on various occasions, but noone mentioned the patch, I suspect most of you forgot all about it.

Ok, how to use it. Here's a bit of a problem for most of you. I only have a patch to the source code. I don't have a Windows development environment, so I cannot create a Windows binary. If someone here gets it running, I'm sure he or she would make some other people happy by posting it here. Just replace your uqm.exe file with it (after backing the original up).

Apart from a modified binary, you'll also need a bit of updated content. Just throw the zzz-meleesis.uqm file in your packages dir (the dir with uqm-0.5.0-content.uqm).

So far the installation. Now on to the usage:
In supermelee, select a ship slot, press your select key, and instead of picking one of the normal ships from the grid, press backspace.
Then when the game starts, you'll get a flagship with modules as described in the files SIS1config.ini (for player 1; that's the bottom one) or SIS2config.ini (for player 2) from the uqm config dir. These are plain text files, for you to edit.

That's all. Now to the files:
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1366



View Profile WWW
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2006, 05:30:05 am »

well i'll go ahead and patch the current CVS and build it for the Win32 users and put it up on my website (not the sourceforge site)  Wink



.:: EDIT ::.
having build error cause of line 65 of
Code:
src/sc2code/ships/sis_ship/sis_ship.c
most likely cause there is no istrtab.h to declare the "SIS_RACE_STRINGS" identifier.

now i'm just guessing, it could be something totally different, but that's the only error which can easily be fixed.  Wink

UPDATE: nvm, i figured it out by looking at all the other races istrtab.h files, i'm now doing fresh builds and putting em up on the website

QUESTION: how hard would it be to make the "select ship" box have pages that you can scroll through so that someone can make extra ships?
« Last Edit: March 12, 2006, 07:14:03 am by Kohr-Ah Death » Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1366



View Profile WWW
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2006, 07:29:18 am »

well thw win32 builds are on my website

http://dickweed.0nyx.com/appz/uqm.rar

http://dickweed.0nyx.com/appz/uqmdebug.rar

if those links don't work then goto my main page http://dickweed.0nyx.com then click on those links, the "hoster" server is very finnicky about links.
Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Koowluh
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 382



View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2006, 12:21:46 pm »

your rars are empty? Mind you, I'm using an old version of rar (the old dos free one)...

EDIT: unrar says that this is not a rar file. Might be that my rar version is rapidly becoming ancient history...
« Last Edit: March 12, 2006, 12:34:33 pm by Koowluh » Logged

I hate drugs. Air is the worst one. Breathe it once and you're hooked for life.
Koowluh
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 382



View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2006, 12:42:38 pm »

Perhaps I can shoot in a request as well to Kohr-Ah Death: Your save game editor works great for editing the flagship and its modules, perhaps you could write one of these proggies up for editing the configuration file for Super Melee? I'm not too lazy to edit the ini file myself tho, but if you feel like writing a proggie for it, I'd be happy to test it for you.  Cheesy
Logged

I hate drugs. Air is the worst one. Breathe it once and you're hooked for life.
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2006, 01:37:53 pm »

your rars are empty? Mind you, I'm using an old version of rar (the old dos free one)...

EDIT: unrar says that this is not a rar file. Might be that my rar version is rapidly becoming ancient history...
Kohr-Ah Death's web host seems to have one of those silly "nobody links directly to files on this server" thingies. If you click a link on a page on another host referring to something other than a web page, it sends you a web page instead. Unfortunately, it uses MIME type application/octet-stream, which roughly means "I don't have the slightest clue what this file contains", so the browser thinks it got the RAR file instead of showing the page. Use an external download manager, paste the URL in the location bar or go through Kohr-Ah's web page. Don't click the links in his post; that probably won't work.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Koowluh
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 382



View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2006, 02:40:31 pm »

ugh, I'm dumb, I should have copied the link instead of being totally ignorant and clicking on it. Now it unpacks, let's try it out. Thanks Novus.
Logged

I hate drugs. Air is the worst one. Breathe it once and you're hooked for life.
Koowluh
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 382



View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2006, 02:52:00 pm »

Okay, quick first glance:

1. Kohr-Ah Death: the debug file is asking me for some strange DLL file. the other executable works fine.

2. Full out crash when there isn't a sisconfig.ini present for a party who DOES have a SIS selected.

3. More crashing when removing a "slot" from the Sis config file. Adding crap to it crashes it too. It all sounds kind of like "yeah duh", but better shoot this down now instead of getting 100s of questions about it.

4. sis2config.ini seems to be used by the top party. Seems a bit illogical. Adding a crew pod to the ini file adds another 50 crew, so that works fine.

5. Bit of a peeve, but perhaps fixable: the rating for the ship is not calculated dynamically. The result:



6. More of an enhancement: Is it possible to build in thrusters/turning jets in the ini file?

back to toying with it now, I'll spam this thread some more if I find anything else.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2006, 03:16:42 pm by Koowluh » Logged

I hate drugs. Air is the worst one. Breathe it once and you're hooked for life.
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2006, 03:12:33 pm »

Godlike.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2006, 05:20:11 pm »

1. Kohr-Ah Death: the debug file is asking me for some strange DLL file. the other executable works fine.
Let me guess, the debug version of the C runtime; msvcrtd.dll if Kohr-Ah Death is using MSVC.

Quote
2. Full out crash when there isn't a sisconfig.ini present for a party who DOES have a SIS selected.

3. More crashing when removing a "slot" from the Sis config file. Adding crap to it crashes it too. It all sounds kind of like "yeah duh", but better shoot this down now instead of getting 100s of questions about it.
Error checking is pretty much zero, I see. Hardly surprising for a quick hack.

Quote
4. sis2config.ini seems to be used by the top party. Seems a bit illogical. Adding a crew pod to the ini file adds another 50 crew, so that works fine.
Player 1 has always been the lower player, although the sanity of this can be debated.

Quote
6. More of an enhancement: Is it possible to build in thrusters/turning jets in the ini file?
Shouldn't be too hard (especially for meep-eep)...
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1366



View Profile WWW
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2006, 05:47:15 pm »

1. Kohr-Ah Death: the debug file is asking me for some strange DLL file. the other executable works fine.
Let me guess, the debug version of the C runtime; msvcrtd.dll if Kohr-Ah Death is using MSVC.


actually msvcr71d.dll, man i wish i could find a way to make my builds of uqm to be non dependant on those files
i'm uploading both msvcr71.dll and msvcr71d.dll in a single rar file.

it'll be: http://dickweed.0nyx.com/appz/runtimes.rar

remember that my hosting is very innicky about outside links, so if it doesnt work the first time goto my site with a new window and then click the links, or use a download manager.
Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Kohr-Ah Death
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1366



View Profile WWW
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2006, 05:50:09 pm »

Perhaps I can shoot in a request as well to Kohr-Ah Death: Your save game editor works great for editing the flagship and its modules, perhaps you could write one of these proggies up for editing the configuration file for Super Melee? I'm not too lazy to edit the ini file myself tho, but if you feel like writing a proggie for it, I'd be happy to test it for you.  Cheesy

i didn't write the saved game editor, someone else did and put it on PNF linkin to fileplanet, and those links aren't very reliable at this time so i put the save game editor on my site Smiley
Logged

The artist once again known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Koowluh
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 382



View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2006, 06:29:45 pm »

i didn't write the saved game editor, someone else did and put it on PNF linkin to fileplanet, and those links aren't very reliable at this time so i put the save game editor on my site Smiley

Owww, too bad. Oh well, I'll just use my trusty old notepad then. Works too, just no error checking in there Wink

Quote from: Novus
Error checking is pretty much zero, I see. Hardly surprising for a quick hack.

Yup, I figured as much too, but it's best to stay ahead of the people who are going to b*tch about it when it doesn't work in a single click and just add some error checking in, altho this can be very primitive (generating a default SiS +the config file for example).

I'm loving this thing, I'm going to build myself a heck of a flagship to fight against...
Logged

I hate drugs. Air is the worst one. Breathe it once and you're hooked for life.
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2006, 09:53:26 pm »

2. Full out crash when there isn't a sisconfig.ini present for a party who DOES have a SIS selected.
Well, it's actually not a crash. I just decided to let the program exit when there's an error (with an error message in the console box). It was the easiest thing to do, and this is a hack. I could have just gone on, but that would be more confusing. People would be wondering why it isn't working, while they get a message now that could help to solve the problem. I know a console message isn't the best solution. The console box would normally vanish when the program terminates (although you can change that). And making an in-game error message is not worth the effort for me.

Quote
3. More crashing when removing a "slot" from the Sis config file. Adding crap to it crashes it too. It all sounds kind of like "yeah duh", but better shoot this down now instead of getting 100s of questions about it.
Same thing.

Quote
4. sis2config.ini seems to be used by the top party. Seems a bit illogical. Adding a crew pod to the ini file adds another 50 crew, so that works fine.
I mentioned this in the original posting. I could change them, but that may be confusing to others, as in the full game there's only 1 player and that's the bottom one.

Quote
5. Bit of a peeve, but perhaps fixable: the rating for the ship is not calculated dynamically. The result:
What do you mean by rating? You mean the amount of crew (which your image doesn't show btw)? I'm aware of this. The ini file isn't actually loaded until the ship is selected. Getting this to work isn't worth it, for a hack.

Quote
6. More of an enhancement: Is it possible to build in thrusters/turning jets in the ini file?
Yeah, that's trivial. I'll make a new patch later.

Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Koowluh
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 382



View Profile
Re: Flagship in Supermelee
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2006, 10:06:43 pm »

Well, for a hack, it works pretty darn well.  Grin
I was just thinking that you were going to add it to Super Melee as an option later on, that's why I pointed out the things I found...
Logged

I hate drugs. Air is the worst one. Breathe it once and you're hooked for life.
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!