The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 25, 2020, 08:55:51 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Print
Author Topic: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here  (Read 11244 times)
PhracturedBlue
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


Me developer. Here me roar!


View Profile
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #15 on: January 06, 2003, 09:32:56 pm »

Quote
I can't seem to even play the game in this version. On the start up menu thing, the arrow keys won't move the choice down to Super Melee or anything.


The keyboard code has completely changed.

You need to get: http://cvs.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/*checkout*/sc2/sc2/content/starcon.key?rev=HEAD

(and probably other things from the content dir too)
« Last Edit: January 06, 2003, 09:42:20 pm by PhracturedBlue » Logged
Scott
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 179


does whatever a spider can


View Profile
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #16 on: January 06, 2003, 10:47:42 pm »

Aside from the commndr one, I can't seem to download any of the /comm content.

Everything else worked though, and I agree, the new planets are nice. Smiley
Logged
PhracturedBlue
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


Me developer. Here me roar!


View Profile
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #17 on: January 06, 2003, 11:05:16 pm »

Quote
Aside from the commndr one, I can't seem to download any of the /comm content.

Everything else worked though, and I agree, the new planets are nice. Smiley


That is because I don't proof-read my submissions. I have fixed the links in my original post, so they should work now.
Logged
Jimmy C
Guest


Email
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2003, 08:40:20 am »

I spotted a bug in this version.
I was attacking the Sa-matra with a Shofixti when it was bounced towards the forcefield. Seeing that destruction was unavoidable, I blew up the Scout instead. Imagine my surprise when the focefield disappeared with the blast! I was tempted to enter with my flagship but decided to disarm the Sa-matra first. When I finally brought my flagship in, it bounced off the opening, making it impossible to finish the game!
I've run this fight several times on this version before and since, I have never downed the barrier without taking out the generators before. It looks like it happened only because my Scout was very close (almost touching) the barrier before it destructed. You should look into this if possible.
Logged
Jimmy C
Guest


Email
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #19 on: January 07, 2003, 10:17:06 pm »

One rather serious bug in this version.
It seems that the game could halt when you are scrolling through your savegame slots. It seems to be random. I've had it happen to me when saving or loading. All I did was use the arrow keys to move through the slots then the game just halted, and the only key still functional was F12!
Logged
OHHDEAR
Guest


Email
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2003, 02:32:05 am »

How do you do the "OHH DEAR IT IS TIME FOR ME TO ESCAPE FROM COMBAT" maneuver thingy with this version? Numpad Plus and Space don't seem to do the trick anymore?
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #21 on: January 08, 2003, 03:21:19 am »

You can define it yourself via the "starcon.key" file but I believe it's Space + Enter now by default.

Oh, and it's no longer ` or ~ to exit, it's now F12.  Enjoy.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2003, 03:21:53 am by Nic. » Logged
Chad
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 201


PNF Webmaster


View Profile WWW
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #22 on: January 08, 2003, 06:58:09 am »

PhracturedBlue, I have mirrored it to the location below if you want to update your link above...

http://www.classicgaming.com/starcontrol/temp/uqm_010503.zip
Logged

"...Dogar And Kazon Clack Their Mandibles Against One Another And Snicker With Amusement."
Jimmy C
Guest


Email
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #23 on: January 08, 2003, 07:50:36 am »

Quote
You can define it yourself via the "starcon.key" file but I believe it's Space + Enter now by default.


No. It's space and the right Shift key. Also, the left and right Shift keys let you zoom out and in on the starmap. The numpad is no longer used in the game.
Logged
ErekLich
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 247


One Ring to rule them all, eh you know the rest.


View Profile
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #24 on: January 09, 2003, 07:41:22 pm »

I had trouble finding the new savegames...

let people know that the savegame folder may be "hidden"!
Logged

Oh God, please don't let me die today!  Tomorrow would be SO much better!
Synaptic Failure
Guest


Email
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #25 on: January 10, 2003, 04:00:01 am »

I found another bug. Performing a single scan for minerals/biological data/energy sources results in coloring the planet's resources window and not restoring its original color in the end. Auto scan works perfectly, though.
Logged
ErekLich
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 247


One Ring to rule them all, eh you know the rest.


View Profile
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #26 on: January 21, 2003, 05:56:46 pm »

hey PhracturedBlue/sun

as of Jan 22, there seem to have been some failry substantive updates that those of us without CVS access aren't enjoying yet.  Any chance we could get another unofficial build out of you nice folks?  Thanks!
Logged

Oh God, please don't let me die today!  Tomorrow would be SO much better!
Chad
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 201


PNF Webmaster


View Profile WWW
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #27 on: January 21, 2003, 06:50:05 pm »

Yeah, I want an unofficial build with the synched voice and text! Smiley
Logged

"...Dogar And Kazon Clack Their Mandibles Against One Another And Snicker With Amusement."
PhracturedBlue
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


Me developer. Here me roar!


View Profile
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #28 on: January 22, 2003, 12:10:33 am »

I am waiting to make sure the code is reasonably stable.  we did some pretty significant mods (the grafx drawing thread has had a major overhaul in the past week).  Everything seems pretty good now, so I'll probably do another one soon.  I will need to build a content update patch too, so it takes some time, and I am very busy at the moment.
Also, there are one or two cool features which may be done soon, that would be nice to roll in too.

I would say, there is a good chance you'll get a new snapshot by the weekend, and perhaps sooner.

Logged
PhracturedBlue
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 88


Me developer. Here me roar!


View Profile
Re: Link for Windows .2 EXE Here
« Reply #29 on: January 22, 2003, 12:13:32 am »

Quote
I found another bug. Performing a single scan for minerals/biological data/energy sources results in coloring the planet's resources window and not restoring its original color in the end. Auto scan works perfectly, though.

By the way, this is a feature, and not a bug.  I don't know what the 3do did, so I just leave the scan color as is.  If someone will tell me what 3do did for single-scan, I will implement that.  The PC side will eventually work right, whenever I get around to adding the extra menus for it.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!