The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 10, 2020, 03:13:13 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Slylandro Probe
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Slylandro Probe  (Read 3386 times)
Scott
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 179


does whatever a spider can


View Profile
Slylandro Probe
« on: December 18, 2002, 09:55:58 pm »

Hey, just wondering.. do you still get the 500 RUs for blowing up a Probe with the code the Slylandro give you? Because if not, I don't see much point to getting the code, a Spathi Eluder can blow up Probes easily, usually without even losing crew.
Logged
paulsid
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16



View Profile
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2002, 10:52:10 pm »

Nope, the destruct obilterates it beyond salvage.

I chose to fight a few but after a while they just become too annoying, so then I started to issue the code.

Logged
Casey Monroe
Guest


Email
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2002, 02:13:56 am »

The Spathi can do it without losing any crew, but it's a long and irritating process, and while not difficult, it's unforgiving of mistakes.  Let that probe get too close just once and you'll lose a lot of crew.
Logged
Krulle
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1044


*Hurghi*! Krulle is *spitting* again!


View Profile
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2002, 03:16:50 pm »

Yes, you still receive the 500 RU. But the Probes will stop to replicate, therefor you won't get much more money! Sad
Logged
Scott
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 179


does whatever a spider can


View Profile
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2002, 02:39:50 am »

How many of them do you have to transmit to before they stop replicating?
Logged
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2002, 02:59:47 am »

Quote
How many of them do you have to transmit to before they stop replicating?

If you return to the Slylandro homeworld at Beta Corvi they will gleefully inform you that one of the probes "came home" and they fitted it with its own transmitter, curing the probe problem. (there's an old thread on here that discusses the game algorithm for it, something like -2% probability every game day until it reaches zero.  Or something)

Generally speaking, it pays to repeatedly visit a race's homeworld, i.e., fly 10 pixels away from their planet, turn around, go back, and talk to them again, as certain game events are "visit-based" rather than "calendar-based"
Logged
Arrow
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 78


o_o


View Profile WWW
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2002, 03:02:07 am »

The message about Slylandro Probe spawning got lost in the forum crash; anyone still have the bulk of it?  Or can any of the programmers repost info on it?
Logged
Scott
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 179


does whatever a spider can


View Profile
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2002, 03:46:48 am »

Quote

If you return to the Slylandro homeworld at Beta Corvi they will gleefully inform you that one of the probes "came home" and they fitted it with its own transmitter, curing the probe problem. (there's an old thread on here that discusses the game algorithm for it, something like -2% probability every game day until it reaches zero.  Or something)

Generally speaking, it pays to repeatedly visit a race's homeworld, i.e., fly 10 pixels away from their planet, turn around, go back, and talk to them again, as certain game events are "visit-based" rather than "calendar-based"


So... if you don't return to Beta Corvi, they'll never stop replicating and you can easily get RUs using the code?
Logged
Captain Smith
Guest


Email
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2002, 04:25:22 am »

Quote


So... if you don't return to Beta Corvi, they'll never stop replicating and you can easily get RUs using the code?


In my experience as far as I can remember, when I get the code it sets off the event described before - when I've gotten the code and use it, the probes disappear.  I don't even have to revisit Beta Corvi usually.  Could be wrong, but it's been a while since I use the code, since I'm strong enough at that point to just destroy the probes.
Logged
Fsi-Dib
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 182


The Crimson Corporation


View Profile
Re: Slylandro Probe
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2002, 05:07:09 pm »

Wataf? By the time I get to the year 2157? I already have everything I need; Hellbore cannons, Shivas etc and 30000 RUs. I don't need no more stinking 550 (it's 550) RUs since it'll increase my wealth only by 1,83% Grin

I wouldn't worry about if the probes appear or not. I heard Tauri constellation is quite rich.... Tongue
Logged

The unofficial music critic.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!