The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 25, 2020, 09:36:06 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Getting Started on Win32?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Getting Started on Win32?  (Read 2151 times)
SigEpUCI
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Getting Started on Win32?
« on: December 21, 2002, 11:04:32 am »

Hi Guys,

  I've never worked on open-source before, and would like to start messing around with this code... Can someone provide me pointers on setting up a Win32 Environment (Currently have VS6.0)? Thanks!

Jeff
Logged
Cyamarin
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 150


Midimaze!!!


View Profile
Re: Getting Started on Win32?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2003, 10:09:39 pm »

I was going to teach you how to do this, but I've just now realized I don't know how.  I can do it with an MS-DOS program, but uqm.exe is a Windows program, and I don't know how to make it accept command line switches.
Logged
sun
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 16


technique ja nai


View Profile
Re: Getting Started on Win32?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2003, 03:08:58 am »

Regarding the OP I have no idea how to compile anything, sorry I can't help. ^^  Regarding getting the parameters from the manual working we do have a thread on that wayback but:

If you don't have a shortcut you need to make one:
1) right-click on uqm.exe in the game directory (probably C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters)
2) pick Create Shortcut

Then add the parameters to it:
1) right-click on the shortcut
2) pick Properties
3) add your parameters after the quote in the Target field.

For example if you have:
"C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe"
Then change it to:
"C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\uqm.exe" -r 640x480 -d 16 -f -c supersai -q high

Or whatever parameters and directory you need, those are just what I use.  Sorry if some of that was too obvious, I figured if I was writing it up I should right everything up. ^^
« Last Edit: January 24, 2003, 03:10:09 am by sun » Logged
SigEpUCI
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Getting Started on Win32?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2003, 07:18:37 am »

I actually figured it out a little while after posting. Download CVS, then sync up the tree with the CVS client. Open the VS project file, then try to compile to figure out which libraries you need. (There are a few free ware ones that you will have to download) Eventually i got it to run in VS and played it through.

Good luck
Logged
Cyamarin
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 150


Midimaze!!!


View Profile
Re: Getting Started on Win32?
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2003, 10:39:14 pm »

That's what I thought, but I wanted to try it before I advised someone else how to do it, and I couldn't get it to work.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!