The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 29, 2024, 08:02:33 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Ur-Quan Masters 0.5.0 Run Problem
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Ur-Quan Masters 0.5.0 Run Problem  (Read 2287 times)
sc_2006
Zebranky food

View Profile
Ur-Quan Masters 0.5.0 Run Problem
« on: June 29, 2006, 04:22:01 am »

Hey guys. I am a newbie from Malaysia and I don't know next to nothing about computer codes, programming and stuffs except for the fact that my PC's OS is an XP. I got interested in this game because of glowing recommendation from the Home Of The Underdogs (HOTU) site and followed their link here. I subsequently downloaded the installer to this game as well as the content files and the music files (separately) from my housemate's PC (mine's not connected to the net) and transfer them via pendrive to my PC before unzipping and installing. My problem is, when I run the game I get a DOSBOX  flashing on my screen with a whole lot of technical mumbo jumbo I don't know anything about except that each task was successfully loaded. But the most important is the last 2 lines which goes like this:

Warning: Can't open 'starcon.1st'
Kernel fail to load! 

And it just sits there freezing for hours until I turn it off. Fyi, I did not download and install the voiceover file nor did I burn the files I downloaded and install it from there. Are these gonna cause problems?? Please help. Like I say I am not the least bit tech savvy so if there are any stupid mistakes or simple things that I don't understand, I do beg for y'all's forgiveness in advance.

Thank you.
Novus
Enlightened

Fot or not?

View Profile
Re: Ur-Quan Masters 0.5.0 Run Problem