The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 05, 2020, 09:52:44 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Can it run in OS X yet?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Can it run in OS X yet?  (Read 3835 times)
EldritchEvil
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Only eats Khor-Ah!


View Profile WWW
Can it run in OS X yet?
« on: December 25, 2002, 01:29:11 am »

In the Troubleshooting forum, I've seen threads about the OS X version crashing.  But I can't find a OS X version of the download.


Help!  I love Star Control, let me play!
Logged

www.warsmith.org

Go!  Go!  Go!
Marty
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2002, 11:12:15 am »

Heya EE:

If you're familiar with programming and Unix, you can download the source and get to work on debugging and helping everyone get the game going for X.  Otherwise, you're going to have to be patient and wait just a bit longer.

Logged

When you're marired, you'll understand the importance of fresh produce.

Tony Soprano
itsthatguy
Guest


Email
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2002, 07:00:02 am »

Getting urquan masters to run on osx is pretty simple depending on how much you like fooling around with the termainal and have a good internet connection...

first off open the terminal and type "cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@cvs.sc2.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/sc2 login"

then

"cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@cvs.sc2.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/sc2 co sc2"

all of this will download the latest development build into a folder in your home directory, or if you rather you may change directories to something else first to put it there: such as "cd Desktop" thus putting the sc2 folder on your desktop

anyhow after this switch into the sc2 directory using "cd sc2" if you were to type "ls" now you would see all of the files inside the sc2 directory

anyhow the files must now be taken from their current coded format into something playable and usable by a computer, I am going to assume you all ready have the development stuff installed, it is another cd that came wiht osx 10.2 or downloadable from apples developer website (regestration is free) anyhow back to the compiling simply type "./build.sh uqm"

the ./ is needed to specify where the build.sh file is, in our case it is in our current folder thus the ., two periods or .. would specisfy a folder above you in the heirachy, anyhow this should compile uqm and leave a file "uqm-debug" after the while compile process is compleated you may play uqm by typing "./uqm-debug" and it should hopefully run. good luck



p.s. more files are neede, I suggest you install fink to get them

http://fink.sourceforge.net/index.php

sorry I forget what is needed off the top of my head, but it is available in other threads in the forums good luck
Logged
Death 999
Guest


Email
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2003, 03:43:05 am »

similarly, I have

have_library: command not found: sdl-config [16]
have_library: command not found: sdl-config [17]
have_library: command not found: sdl-config [32]
Fatal: Could not determine version of Simple DirectMedia Layer
Logged
Anonymous
Guest


Email
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2003, 06:16:41 am »

you need to install SDL http://www.libsdl.org/

sorry i dont have an OS X machine so i doubt i could give you very good instructions to install it.
Logged
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3845


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2003, 10:51:46 pm »

OK, I have both the developer version and the runtime... since this is a compilation operation, I guess I need the developer stuff. Should I go into the build.sh script and tell it where to find all the SDL code? If so, where in the script is it?
Logged
EldritchEvil
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Only eats Khor-Ah!


View Profile WWW
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2003, 07:25:36 am »

When I try that, I get a cvs command not found.  Help! Cry
Logged

www.warsmith.org

Go!  Go!  Go!
David Morse
Guest


Email
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2003, 10:16:53 am »

So go get CVS.
You're probably 1/3 to 1/2 way through the "get cryptic error that means I don't have XYZ thing properly installed" phase.  After that its pretty easy.  Welcome to hell Unix.
Logged
Marty
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2003, 12:41:25 pm »

Okay, I have to admit that I am *way* out of my league here.  Before upgrading to X, the only unix I used was in school--and that's pretty much limited to Pine, Elm, Banners, ps, ls and that a few other toys.

The only programming course I had was the intro course.  While I am currently learning Unix for X (the wonderful O'Reily book) and Pratical C (again, another cool O'Reily book), I am no where proficient enough with the system and programming to contribute to UQM.  (As an aside, however, I did manage to install Fink and do some fiddling, but I digress).

Gettinig UQM to run on my own is the reason why I got the darn books in the first place, but right now I'm going to get the basics down.  Which is a down right shame, since I've been waiting to play UQM since I saw it on my friends' 486 way back in 1998.  

So, I'm going to keep reading the Forums and be a patient little Mac user.  I've been waiting 5 years to play UQM, I can wait a wee bit longer.

To the rest o'my mac brothers and sisters, good luck on setting it up.  I just know when I'm way out of my league.

Later.
Logged

When you're marired, you'll understand the importance of fresh produce.

Tony Soprano
Nic.
Guest


Email
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2003, 09:42:54 pm »

Since I've been meaning to learn about how NextSTEP OSX packaging works anyways, I'll look into getting this game built and packaged up on my wife's computer, wife permitting, of course.  Wink

If all goes well, I'll post a link to a (hopefully) working MacOS X binary version soon.  But I wouldn't hold my breath if I were you..
Logged
EldritchEvil
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 9


Only eats Khor-Ah!


View Profile WWW
Re: Can it run in OS X yet?
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2003, 10:18:27 pm »

Yay!  Thanks. Grin  I know nothing about the UNIX side of OS X, but I am learning.  Ditto Marty.
Logged

www.warsmith.org

Go!  Go!  Go!
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!