The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 19, 2022, 09:09:22 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Announcing network SuperMelee (was: Project ZOMG)
« previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 Print
Author Topic: Announcing network SuperMelee (was: Project ZOMG)  (Read 31864 times)
Anthony
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 358


Star Control Lives!


View Profile WWW
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #60 on: October 28, 2006, 01:01:52 pm »

What did you type in your arguments to play against yourself on 127.0.0.1?
Logged

Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #61 on: October 28, 2006, 02:01:12 pm »

Well, with the game I played with Meep (won't say the outcome of the game. I don't want to spoil Meep's reputation), here's what I did:

--netport1=PORTNUMBER

Meep would then do something like
--netport2=PORTNUMBER --nethost2=HOSTIPADDRESS

Optionally, either player can use --netdelay=NUMBER to set the netdelay. I believe the lowest netdelay setting will be used. Experiment with this a bit until you get it right. Smiley

Note: netport1 means settings for PLAYER 1, which is the BOTTOM PLAYER. IF you are hosting with netport1, set 'network player' on the BOTTOM PLAYER.
Player 1 = bottom. Player 2 = top.
Logged
Anthony
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 358


Star Control Lives!


View Profile WWW
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #62 on: October 28, 2006, 04:28:50 pm »

I keep getting the message "Top player:  Connection closed"

Here are the arguments that I am using for the host and the client:

Quote from: Host args
uqm.exe -C uqm -n content --addon remix --netport1=1337
For the host, the top player is "Network Control", and the bottom is "Human"

Quote from: Client args
uqm.exe -C uqm -n content --addon remix --nethost2=127.0.0.1 --netport2=1338
For the client, the top player is "Human", and the bottom is "Network Control"

Even if I switch the network control and human, they just await a connection, and nothing happens.  I know that this is still being testing, and I'm glad that I'm trying this out, so that I understand what needs to be done for netplay...  Grin
« Last Edit: October 28, 2006, 04:35:33 pm by batman4050 » Logged

Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #63 on: October 28, 2006, 04:44:37 pm »

I keep getting the message "Top player:  Connection closed"

Here are the arguments that I am using for the host and the client:

Quote from: Host args
uqm.exe -C uqm -n content --addon remix --netport1=1337
For the host, the top player is "Network Control", and the bottom is "Human"

Quote from: Client args
uqm.exe -C uqm -n content --addon remix --nethost2=127.0.0.1 --netport2=1338 --netdelay=5
For the client, the top player is "Human", and the bottom is "Network Control"
Your ports don't match; the client has to connect to the port the host listens on. Change net port 2 on the client to 1337 and reverse the control configuration ingame and it should work. Personally, I just leave the ports out completely and just specify the server address on the client's command line.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #64 on: October 28, 2006, 05:28:38 pm »

Yes, leave out the ports. You'll only need to ever specify the ports if your firewall doesn't allow port 21837 traffic, but does allow other ports, and you have no access to the firewall settings at all.

It is the maximum delay of the two sides that is used. If the gameplay is jittery, this usually means that the game is waiting for the remote input for a frame to arrive. By setting a delay, the input you send will only be processed that many frames later.
So a higher delay means smoother play on bad connections, but less responsiveness of your ships. In my experience, a delay of more than 3 frames will cause the gameplay to suffer.
Set the the delay as low as your connection will allow. Unless you're playing over a lan, you'll probably need a delay of at least 2. For me (from the Netherlands) to fOSSiL (in the USA) a delay of 3 frames worked nicely.
As there are 24 frames in a second, each extra frame delayed will give the commands and extra 1000/24 = 42ms to arrive.
Suppose you have a ping time of 200ms to the the remote party. This means it takes 200ms for a response to your ping packet to arrive, so it will actually take 100ms for a packet to reach the remote party. Divide this by the delay per frame gives you 100 / (1000/24) = 2.4. This is how many frames a packet will need to be delayed at the least for a smooth game. As you can only delay whole frames, you should set your frame delay to 3 in this case, which gives you 3*(1000/24) = 125ms.
Note that a ping time of 200ms will usually mean an average ping time of 200ms. If some packets arrive later, you'll still encounter hickups. So it's better to set your frame delay so that it gives your commands some extra time. 125ms where the average time required is 100ms sounds good. Still, occasional stuttering may be unavoidable over long-distance connections.

But you don't really need to calculate all this. Just experiment. Let one player specify no input delay at all, and let the other player try with increasingly higher delay settings. As I said, the actual delay used is the maximum of the two.

In future versions, I'll probably have UQM calculate the required frame delay and set it automatically.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #65 on: October 28, 2006, 10:06:41 pm »

Amusing factoid: if you set up player 1 in a UQM instance as a network host and player 2 as a network client connecting to the above host (in other words, have one copy of UQM talking to itself over the Net), it's impossible to start the game because it gets stuck waiting for remote game start confirmation. This is actually a good thing, as you can cancel at this stage and fix your settings. Wink

In any case, I should be able to handle both in- and outbound UQM game connections (firewall settings check out); if anyone wants a shot at netplay UQM within an hour from now, PM me with a suggested configuration (connection settings, fleets, et.c.).
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #66 on: October 28, 2006, 10:59:39 pm »

Ok, I just discovered outgoing connections aren't working at all on Windows. I'm working on a fix now.

Update: fixed version available on the snapshots page.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2006, 12:31:58 am by meep-eep » Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Anthony
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 358


Star Control Lives!


View Profile WWW
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #67 on: October 29, 2006, 02:58:55 am »

Thanks meep-eep.  This is awesome.  I was able to connect to myself.

If anyone wants to test out multiplayer, I'll be on Hamachi; it's a wicked VLAN program.  check it out.  http://hamachi.cc

Room: UQMultiplayer1
Password Fwiffo

EDIT:  I played super melee with someone through Hamachi, and it was awesome!  Although there was some lag, the experience was still just as great.  So much fun.  Again, good stuff meep-eep.  Grin
« Last Edit: October 29, 2006, 04:45:37 am by batman4050 » Logged

meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #68 on: October 29, 2006, 06:21:11 am »

I talked in the the IRC channel with your opponent, and you should not have any lag if you had set an input delay. With a link as good as yours, a delay of 1 would be enough, but 0, which you had, is pushing it.

Also, CVS now contains a fix for a loss-of-sync error with the Kohr-Ah Maurauder. It also has improved sync loss detection, which unfortunately makes it incompatible with earlier builds, so you won't be able to use it with people who are still running an older version.
Snapshots are in the usual location.

And here's a little challenge for those who know C. What is wrong with the following piece of UQM code that could cause a network game to lose sync? (It didn't, but it could.)
Code:
SetVelocityVector (&AsteroidElementPtr->velocity,
        DISPLAY_TO_WORLD (((SIZE)TFB_Random () & 7) + 4),
        (COUNT)TFB_Random ());

Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #69 on: October 29, 2006, 11:40:08 am »

Also, CVS now contains a fix for a loss-of-sync error with the Kohr-Ah Maurauder. It also has improved sync loss detection, which unfortunately makes it incompatible with earlier builds, so you won't be able to use it with people who are still running an older version.
Snapshots are in the usual location.
Great!

Quote
And here's a little challenge for those who know C. What is wrong with the following piece of UQM code that could cause a network game to lose sync? (It didn't, but it could.)
Code:
SetVelocityVector (&AsteroidElementPtr->velocity,
        DISPLAY_TO_WORLD (((SIZE)TFB_Random () & 7) + 4),
        (COUNT)TFB_Random ());
Parameter evaluation order undefined; i.e. compiler may decide to call the random generator for the third parameter and then the second parameter instead of the intuitively obvious left-to-right order. One of my pet peeves with C.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #70 on: October 29, 2006, 12:21:17 pm »

Tried playing today with Michilus_nimbus. Both running WinXP SP2. Normal didn't work. Neither did it work through Hamachi (we could ping eachother fine). Connecting worked, selecting ships worked, but as soon as we entered the battle, we'd both lose connection.

Code:
[12:11] <Michilus_nimbus> NETPLAY: [0] +/- Connection state changed to: inBattle.
[12:11] <Michilus_nimbus> Network connections have gone out of sync.
[12:11] <Michilus_nimbus> TFB_Prim_Stamp: Tried to draw a NULL frame (Stamp address = 0415F6CC)
[12:11] <Michilus_nimbus> TFB_Prim_Stamp: Tried to draw a NULL frame (Stamp address = 0415F6CC)
[12:11] <Michilus_nimbus> TFB_Prim_Stamp: Tried to draw a NULL frame (Stamp address = 0415F69C)
[12:11] <Michilus_nimbus> TFB_Prim_Stamp: Tried to draw a NULL frame (Stamp address = 0415F69C)
[12:11] <Michilus_nimbus> NETPLAY: [0] +/- Connection state changed to: unconnected.

And yes, we both used the latest snapshots. :/
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #71 on: October 29, 2006, 04:27:28 pm »

Did any of you use any non-standarc content packages?
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Megagun
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 580


Moo


View Profile
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #72 on: October 29, 2006, 07:21:03 pm »

Hm. Don't think so.... Hmm... Maybe not. I think I have a content pack that enables the usage of SIS vs SIS in Melee (since I have a seperate UQMflagships EXE in my UQM folder)...
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #73 on: October 30, 2006, 07:57:19 pm »

*looks up*

Oh my.  I think I need to get my MacBook fixed sooner rather than later so I can get this built...
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Anthony
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 358


Star Control Lives!


View Profile WWW
Re: Project ZOMG
« Reply #74 on: October 30, 2006, 09:05:17 pm »

[Oh my.  I think I need to get my MacBook fixed sooner rather than later so I can get this built...

Cool; good luck with that.  Install Hamachi and join the UQMultiplayer1 room, so that everyone can play without worrying about router settings... Cheesy
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!