The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 21, 2019, 04:00:40 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  new uqm
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: new uqm  (Read 2660 times)
gliffor
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 16


last man in the shofixti space


View Profile
new uqm
« on: October 05, 2006, 11:37:45 am »

where can ı download sc3 (lastest version) ?   please help me
Logged

abidikgubidiktwistwislaklaklagalugatwistwis
BlackSpathi
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2006, 12:04:42 pm »

sc3? u can get it here:

http://www.abandonia.com/games/en/822/StarControl3.htm
Logged
Zarnium
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Mr. Owl ate my metal worm.


View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2006, 01:52:01 am »

Um, I actually tried doing dowloading it there and COULD NOT get it to work. any help? Actually my dad tried it, and he did everything he thought was right, but it kept saying something about Win32.

...actually, did you mean sc2?
« Last Edit: October 06, 2006, 01:54:18 am by Zarnium » Logged

Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 810



View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2006, 04:04:54 am »

You need DosBox if your running Win2000 or XP. Those versions will not run any DOS games. DosBox is your best bet for that game.
Logged
BlackSpathi
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 15



View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2006, 08:53:48 am »

yup, should work with DosBox

btw. sc1 and sc2 can be downloaded from the same site. Look at the bottom of the sc3 page for links to sc1 and sc2.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2006, 02:07:06 pm »

You need DosBox if your running Win2000 or XP. Those versions will not run any DOS games. DosBox is your best bet for that game.
That's not entirely true; Windows XP (and probably 2000, although I have little experience with that system) runs many DOS games pretty well on its own (and VDMSound usually fixes the sound compatibility if needed). This applies to SC3 too, IIRC (I don't have the CD at hand to check right now).
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Zarnium
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Mr. Owl ate my metal worm.


View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2006, 04:36:17 pm »

I did use DOSBox. But my computer is a macintosh so it should have even more trouble with a windows game.
Logged

AngusThermopyle
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 304


A paranoid android.


View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2006, 07:08:44 pm »

Quote
But my computer is a macintosh so it should have even more trouble with a windows game.

If I'm not mistaken, was there not a Mac version of SC3 released?
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2006, 09:18:07 pm »

If I'm not mistaken, was there not a Mac version of SC3 released?
Looks like there was.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Zarnium
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 75


Mr. Owl ate my metal worm.


View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2006, 09:24:47 pm »

Yes, but only the windows version was on abandonia.
Logged

Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 810



View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #10 on: October 07, 2006, 01:23:03 am »

You need DosBox if your running Win2000 or XP. Those versions will not run any DOS games. DosBox is your best bet for that game.
That's not entirely true; Windows XP (and probably 2000, although I have little experience with that system) runs many DOS games pretty well on its own (and VDMSound usually fixes the sound compatibility if needed). This applies to SC3 too, IIRC (I don't have the CD at hand to check right now).
Well ok...But for all intents and purposes, they either run too fast or don't have sound, so that's why I classified them as not working. But you are right... some do work (like that). Smiley
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: new uqm
« Reply #11 on: October 07, 2006, 12:38:46 pm »

Well ok...But for all intents and purposes, they either run too fast or don't have sound, so that's why I classified them as not working. But you are right... some do work (like that). Smiley
VDMSound goes a long way toward fixing sound problems with DOS games under 2000 and XP (it's primarily a replacement for XP's built-in General MIDI + Sound Blaster (DAC-only) emulation). Some older sound cards (e.g. SB Live!) have their own SB emulation that works better. In general, the DOS emulation built into Windows 95 and later works quite well in my experience with many games. Generally speaking, the less weird tricks they do, the better they work.

Some games do funny things with the system timers that Windows doesn't allow (e.g. almost anything written by TFB, especially SC2 and The Horde), causing them to run too fast or slow under Windows (especially with sound on); in this case, running them on the real hardware (hope you still have an ISA slot for that Sound Blaster or Ultrasound Smiley) or DOSBox works better. The problem with DOSBox is that it uses a huge amount of CPU power; late DOS-era games that require a fast Pentium (133 MHz or so) to run smoothly (pretty much any DOS FPS from 1994 onward; e.g. Duke Nukem 3D, System Shock) require the full power of a bleeding-edge current CPU to run well in DOSBox; XP+VDMSound is my choice for those.

Generally speaking, DOSBox is almost always a good solution if you have enough CPU power to emulate a system fast enough for satisfactory gameplay. SC3 on DOSBox suffers from some slowdowns on an Athlon XP, but with a little tweaking it's mostly fine. On a Pentium III or earlier, I wouldn't bother with DOSBox for SC3 (it does a passable impression of a 486SX, which is a bit too slow for SC3).

Don't get me started on the idiot game programmers who failed to take increasing machine speed into account at all and ended up with games that run way too fast on modern hardware (Megarace is probably the most amusing case; it works fine, except that races are over in about a second if you hit a turbo arrow on the track). This sort of thing was excusable in cases where faster but compatible machines simply didn't exist or were non-standard (i.e. back when "PC" meant an original IBM PC with an 8088 CPU and the C64 was a major gaming platform), but writing code that requires a 386 and breaks on a 486 shows a great lack of foresight! In these cases, you need DOSBox or a slower machine.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!