The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 21, 2022, 09:49:42 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Sound = none?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Sound = none?  (Read 4135 times)
Jinx
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



View Profile
Sound = none?
« on: December 15, 2007, 12:05:09 am »

Oops. UQM was running perfectly, until I got too ambitious about the soundcard. Now it crashes on opening, and tells me I should run with no sound... but I'm not clear on how to.

Presumably once I run it soundless I can change the soundcard back to the default setting and then start with sound - how do I do that?

Thanks,

J
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2007, 11:14:42 am »

I assume the error message is:

Quote from: UQM
Sound driver initialization failed.
This may happen when a soundcard is not present or not available.
NOTICE: Try running UQM with '--sound=none' option
I'm further assuming that you're using Windows.

If you're starting UQM using a shortcut (e.g. in the Start menu or on the desktop), right-clicking the shortcut and choosing "Properties" allows you to add arguments to the command line that the shortcut executes. Add "--sound=none" to the end of the command line and restart UQM (and remove it again after you fix the settings).

Alternatively, you can edit the UQM configuration file, uqm.cfg, directly using e.g. Notepad. Changing config.audiodriver from "openal" to "mixsdl" is likely to help, or config.audioquality to "low".
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
sprawl
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2008, 04:12:56 pm »

Help me i have the same problem. I a vista 32-edition don't know how to fix this problem!
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2008, 12:26:37 pm »

Help me i have the same problem. I a vista 32-edition don't know how to fix this problem!
Which part of the fix described above are you having trouble understanding?
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
sprawl
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2008, 12:39:44 pm »

Help me i have the same problem. I a vista 32-edition don't know how to fix this problem!


Sound driver initialization failed.
This may happen when a soundcard is not present or not available.
NOTICE: Try running UQM with '--sound=none' option
Logged
sprawl
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2008, 12:41:31 pm »

Help me i have the same problem. I a vista 32-edition don't know how to fix this problem!
Which part of the fix described above are you having trouble understanding?
I don't understand where to find the command line
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2008, 01:24:48 pm »

I don't understand where to find the command line
Which part don't you understand: opening the shortcut properties by right-clicking and choosing "Properties" or that Windows confusingly labels the command line "Target" (on the "Shortcut" tab)?
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
sprawl
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2008, 02:39:55 pm »

I also get this error message

The Ur-Quan Masters has encountered a fatal error.  Part of the log follows:  The Ur-Quan Masters v0.6.2 (compiled Jan 15th 2007 13:56:34)  The software comes with ABSOLUTLEY NO WARRANTY;  for details see the included 'COPYING' file.  Netplay protocol version 0.3.  Requiring remote UQM version 0.5.4.  Repair your keys.cfg file to continue."

 Undecided
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2008, 04:51:34 pm »

Repair your keys.cfg file to continue.
RTTFAQ to find the keys.cfg file. If you can't fix it, it's usually best to delete it and let UQM replace it with the default configuration.

I'm starting to feel like it would be a good idea to have UQM:
  • Automatically downgrade sound and graphics until it finds something that works (instead of aborting with an error message).
  • Automatically discard corrupt configuration files (rename to keys.broken, display an error message and continue).
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
countchocula86
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 345


Culture 20!


View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2008, 10:58:07 pm »

Those sound like very useful ideas Novus, is there any reason they cant be implemented?
Logged

I like to think you killed a man. It's the romantic in me.
sprawl
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6



View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2008, 11:49:30 pm »

i don't know what happen but my game is working again after i find a file names j7b05ace/X1. I deleted this file then downloaded the the game again and everything started working. Thanks for your help novus
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Sound = none?
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2008, 02:01:01 am »

Those sound like very useful ideas Novus, is there any reason they cant be implemented?
According to bug 676, the intent is to force the user to sort out their system and/or UQM configuration. However, the discussion there predates the setup menu; at the time, aborting with an error message was the user-friendly option, but now misconfiguration can be fixed much easier inside the game.

Seems like a case of inertia to me; this was a good decision in 2005, but it needs to be re-evaluated.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!