The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 12, 2019, 12:29:18 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Input device
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Input device  (Read 4073 times)
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Input device
« on: June 17, 2007, 05:10:27 pm »

What is the most suitable input device for sc2?
I would think the keyboard, unless its a keyboard that is unresponsive when too many keys are pressed together. Since I have such a keyboard, I think the second option would be a game pad.
So I am thinking of buying a gamepad, is there something I should consider before buying a game pad for sc2?
Logged
guesst
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 692


Ancient Shofixti Warrior


View Profile WWW
Re: Input device
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2007, 05:36:59 pm »

I use a saitek 2900 wireless pad for all my input needs. Luv it! There is a wired version if you'd prefer.
Logged

A new game and it's code each week. Please visit Cymon's Games
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Input device
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2007, 09:40:15 pm »

Well what do you think about  this http://techgage.com/print/logitech_chillstream_gamepad
Logged
guesst
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 692


Ancient Shofixti Warrior


View Profile WWW
Re: Input device
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2007, 02:56:07 am »

i've never tried it. I like the button programming software that comes with the saitek because then it becomes functional as a remote control for your comptuer, if that's useful to you. It's very useful to me.

Also, I prefer the button layout of the saitek because it's default 4-button but possible to layout 6-button. I emulate, a lot, and most of the time 4-button is fine, but ocassionally, like with Capcom fighter or Sega Genesis, the 6-button comes in useful.

But, hey, if you want a fan for your sweaty fingers and don't mind being forced to a 4-button layout, the logitech looks great.
Logged

A new game and it's code each week. Please visit Cymon's Games
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Input device
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2007, 05:03:38 am »

The problem is that I dont have too much options to choose from. There are only few models available in the shops in my country.
I could order it from abroad, but it will take time, I dont know if I want to do it.
Logged
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Input device
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2007, 05:18:10 am »

Ok, I decided to order it from amazon perhaps? but they dont have a wired version of p2900, so this is what they have:
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_e/104-1692519-4474321?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=game+pad
Is the saitek p2600 is equivalent to the p2900, only it is not wireless and have rumble?
Logged
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Input device
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2007, 03:24:21 pm »

Bummer, amazon don't ship these kind of items to my country. Maybe I will look for it in ebay.
Logged
guesst
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 692


Ancient Shofixti Warrior


View Profile WWW
Re: Input device
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2007, 08:26:48 pm »

You don't have to use the controller I used. Since I'm the only one replying to this thread let me help you out.

What are you going to use this controller for? If your answer is "really, just Star Control" any controller, 4-button, 2-button, fan cooled or not, will do. I was on the look out for one that could be used with a 6-button layout for emulating my genesis (which has a version of StarControl incidently), but you may not need or want that.

Do you need wireless? I use wireless because my computer is hooked up to my TV, which means wires would get in the way. But again, it may not be a benifit to you. Also, I use the wireless aspect when I am showing a movie clip in my classroom (I teach) and the programmable buttons allow it to double as an effective remote. Much less expensive than other windows media remotes.

What country are you having so much trouble with? Just out of curoisty.

Honestly, I love the controller I have, but analyze it in terms of what you need. Do you really need what I need? If you're having this much trouble getting one you've got to ask yourself, is it worth it?
Logged

A new game and it's code each week. Please visit Cymon's Games
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Input device
« Reply #8 on: June 18, 2007, 10:33:05 pm »

Its not that much trouble.
I already bought a P2500 from ebay and playing sega genesis games would be great.
Also, I am developing a computer game and I need a gamepad to see how my game works with a gamepad.

p.s. I am from israel
Logged
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 811



View Profile
Re: Input device
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2007, 05:16:36 am »

I use a Dual Shock PSX gamepad via USB adapter. I wouldn't trade it for the world. It is the best gamepad ever made IMHO.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!