The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 26, 2022, 09:22:17 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Game pad
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Game pad  (Read 3255 times)
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Game pad
« on: July 02, 2007, 04:49:52 pm »

I have a problem using my saitek game pad with ur quan masters.
I selected joystick1 in the controls, then I entered edit controls and selected joystick1 again.
When I pressed to configure an action it asks me to press my game pad or keyboard. When pressing the gamepad there was no response, only when I pressed the keyboard it recorded the keyboard key.
What am I doing wrong?
I looked into the FAQ and it was written there to look into a cfg file? is that necessary?
Also, have you thought of adding force feedback/rumble support?(sorry if it was already asked too many times)
Thank you.
Logged
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2007, 07:27:59 pm »

Sigh,
It seems that the gamepad needs some profiler software to run in order to work with the ur quan masters. I installed this profiler on my administrator account, but it wont run on my limited acoount because it requires administrator privilage to run.
This is so annoying, it doesnt make sens that I need to be logged as an adminstrator in order to use my gamepad.
The game pad worked on the limited account on an other game, that was a sega emulator, perhaps there is a way to activate the gamepad in limited account with ur quan as well?
Logged
Amiga_Nut
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 208



View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2007, 08:14:10 pm »

 Yeah, I was having the same problem on my primary computer. I say “was” because I gave up trying! I ended up learning to use the keyboard instead. I’m not sure of the cause, (using a Logitech USB game pad on a WindowsXP system.) The system recognizes the controller just fine, but UQM refuses to respond at all. The weird thing is that I didn’t have that problem on a different computer. Same operating system, both running on the administrator account, but in that case I was using a Gravis game pad connected to the joy port on a SB sound card. Worked fine! Sorry I can't be more help. I'll be watching this thread for an answer though. Wink
« Last Edit: July 02, 2007, 08:18:57 pm by Amiga_Nut » Logged

I keep my old Amiga on a flash-drive. Tongue

meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2007, 08:20:59 pm »

What is this "profiler software" you are talking about?

A joystick requiring you have to run games with administrator is indeed silly.

As for getting UQM to work around your "profiler software", the SDL library handles the joystick interaction for us, which means there's probably not a lot we can do.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2007, 10:33:47 pm »

I'm blatantly assuming you're using XP. I also assume this is the profiler you're talking about. Executive summary: it's a utility to remap stuff on a game controller to mouse or keyboard commands. You could use that to map the pad to keys, but according to the documentation you shouldn't need it at all. The basic troubleshooting steps here are:

  • Make sure that the pad shows up as a game controller in the relevant Control Panel section; use the test feature there to verify that Windows recognises it correctly as a game controller and all the axes and buttons work.
  • Check the debug output from UQM (stderr.txt in your UQM directory); it should show how many joysticks SDL has told UQM the system has. If it's missing there, it's probably an SDL issue. It would help if you tell us what this file says about your gamepad.

Finally, this forum post may be of use in running Saitek Profiler without admin rights.

It would also help if you told us the exact model numbers of your pads so we can look up further information on them.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Amiga_Nut
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 208



View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2007, 04:15:05 pm »

Update: Moved the Gravis and SB card to my primary computer and IT WORKS. (Head scratch)


1. Was that a USB joy?
2. What OS are you running?
3. Do you have a sound card in the problem system?
Logged

I keep my old Amiga on a flash-drive. Tongue

Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2007, 07:46:04 pm »

I am using XP and its a USB game pad.
The gamepad seem to be functional in the control panel.
The data from the debug file is:

1 joysticks were found.
The names of the joysticks are:
    Saitek Cyborg Force Rumble Pad
VControl opened joystick: Saitek Cyborg Force Rumble Pad
4 axes, 12 buttons, 1 hats.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2007, 12:46:51 am »

1 joysticks were found.
The names of the joysticks are:
    Saitek Cyborg Force Rumble Pad
VControl opened joystick: Saitek Cyborg Force Rumble Pad
4 axes, 12 buttons, 1 hats.
OK, so Windows seems to be handling the pad as it should and SDL is at least noticing that it exists. Either SDL has some weird problem or UQM's control or configuration system is acting up.

Next up, I'd like to see your key configuration file. Deleting your key configuration file or manually editing it to include bindings for the joystick may help (were the "joystick 1" and "joystick 2" templates empty when you started editing them, or were all the actions bound to something? I'm not sure whether VControl ever opens joysticks that aren't bound to any actions; if it doesn't, you can't use the key config menu to bind them to anything because it won't see you do stuff). Testing with some other SDL-based program would also be a good idea; if the pad works in, for example, LAB3D/SDL, the problem is probably in UQM.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #8 on: July 05, 2007, 07:57:14 am »

I cant find the key configuration file, where is it suppose to be?
I would like to notify that it worked on administrator account.
On administrator account I had the actions bound to something in joystick1, where in limited account I didnt have any action bounded in joystick1.
It is possible that UQM is trying to create the key config file in a place where the limited account dont have permission to create it? or either the key config file is in a place the limited account cant change it, because maybe I ran UQM at administrator account for the first time.
Just a guess.
Logged
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #9 on: July 05, 2007, 01:13:41 pm »

or either the key config file is in a place the limited account cant change it, because maybe I ran UQM at administrator account for the first time.
Each account has its own UQM configuration files, save games and so on (everything saved by UQM, essentially). This means the administrator account got its own new configuration files when you ran UQM for the first time on that account.

Educated guess: have you run UQM on the limited account without the pad plugged in (or without joystick support, or with the pad in some sort of keyboard emulation mode (some Saitek models have an "FPS mode" that could cause problems))? I've been looking at the source code, and it looks like UQM removes all the joystick bindings if you don't have a joystick.

As for where the configuration files are, this is documented in the technical FAQ.

Please post copies of both the limited and admin accounts' key configuration files. After that, I suggest you copy the configuration file from the admin account to the limited account; if my guess is right, that will give you gamepad support on the limited account, too.

If my theory is correct, this is a bug in the UQM control scheme that can easily be duplicated with any joystick. I don't have one at hand right now, unfortunately.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Koowluh
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 382



View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2007, 01:19:47 pm »

On a side note, I just dug up the following topic:

http://uqm.stack.nl/forum/index.php?topic=3349.0

This topic reminded me of something similar I had and answers your force feedback/rumble question a bit as well...
Logged

I hate drugs. Air is the worst one. Breathe it once and you're hooked for life.
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #11 on: July 05, 2007, 02:16:04 pm »

Wait a minute... This is a known bug? I didn't see a Bugzilla entry for it. I should have recognised it from last time. Sad

Force feedback in SDL has been in the planning stage for years, according to the SDL documentation. I don't see any force feedback stuff in the SDL 1.3 development tree, though, so it's probably going to wait until 2.0.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Sargon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129



View Profile
Re: Game pad
« Reply #12 on: July 05, 2007, 05:23:30 pm »

On a side note, I just dug up the following topic:

http://uqm.stack.nl/forum/index.php?topic=3349.0

This topic reminded me of something similar I had and answers your force feedback/rumble question a bit as well...
Ok, I did that and it fixed the problem, thanks.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!