The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 26, 2022, 09:48:53 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Land noobie question
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Land noobie question  (Read 2655 times)
thorzog
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



View Profile
Land noobie question
« on: November 17, 2007, 03:44:20 am »

When ever my lander gets destroyed I can't land on another planet. I've tried scrapping the old lander and building a new one, I've looked over the options at the Earth base for repairing it, and I've tried carrying multiple landers but I still can't land.
Is there an option to change to a different lander?
Is there some reason why after my lander is destroyed it still shows up on my ship?
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Land noobie question
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2007, 04:08:06 am »

There's no such thing as a damaged lander. But there are other reasons why you might not be able to land on a planet. It could have no surface to land on (a gas giant), or it may be slave-shielded.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
thorzog
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



View Profile
Re: Land noobie question
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2007, 04:17:54 am »

I've tried landing on the same planet that the lander was destroyed on and I have a second lander. Should the lander still be present in the hold after its destroyed? Cause in my game it still shows it.
Logged
waywardoctagon
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 142


More information...


View Profile
Re: Land noobie question
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2007, 05:20:28 am »

Maybe you don't have enough fuel?  It takes fuel to send a lander down to a planet.

Or maybe you're out of crew.  I don't know for sure, but I bet if it's just Zelnick, you can't send a lander down.
Logged
thorzog
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3



View Profile
Re: Land noobie question
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2007, 07:12:17 am »

Yea I have enough fuel and crew. Even went back to earth, fueled up and crewed up and destroyed the lander on Venus. I then scrapped the lander and bought a new.

One thing bothers me, after a lander is destroyed I can still see a picture of a lander on the screen above the menu, along with the Vindactor and the Spathi ship I got off of Pluto. Is this normal game behavior? Should I not see it at all? Should I not see it in the shipyard either?

I might just try to uninstall and reinstall the game. This seems more like some weird error.
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Land noobie question
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2007, 02:38:40 pm »

If you report it as a bug in our bug database, attach your savegame, and describe the steps needed to reproduce the problem, we'll take a look.
If it turns out not to be a bug, we'll just close the bug report again.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Granknight
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4



View Profile
Re: Land noobie question
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2007, 08:40:46 pm »

are we talking of landers or earthling cruisers?
if it is near the spathi eluder it's not a lander.
you must'nt go in shipyard but in outfit starship: the modules for the landers are the squares over the ship picture.
Cruisers are only for attacking.

Cruisers look like this one
| |. ..O. ..| |
| | .// .\\ . | |
| | . . . . . | |
| | . . . . . | |
and it's the one you see near the spathi,
 landers are much smaller and you can see them only in the window "outfit starship"
 . O
 |/. .\|
 ¯¯¯¯¯¯
Logged

*happy* *campers* rule!
Koowluh
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 382



View Profile
Re: Land noobie question
« Reply #7 on: November 29, 2007, 07:19:15 am »

landers are much smaller and you can see them only in the window "outfit starship"
 . O
 |/. .\|
 ¯¯¯¯¯¯


Not true, they show up as no more than little blips above your flagship in-system as well. Check out the 0.40 screenshot of the slaveshielded Earth in the screenshots section. Just below the name(s) are little blips. Those are landers.
Logged

I hate drugs. Air is the worst one. Breathe it once and you're hooked for life.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!