The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 06, 2022, 07:05:04 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Windows Mobile port?
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 8 Print
Author Topic: Windows Mobile port?  (Read 54020 times)
Baby Gorilla
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #45 on: April 28, 2008, 04:35:52 am »

Also, has anyone tried this on a PPC with a slide out keyboard, and if it would solve any of the keymapping issues or just cause more?
Logged
NamelessPlayer
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 104



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #46 on: April 29, 2008, 10:04:30 pm »

I just slapped a WM6.0 ROM with a 0 MB page pool setting onto my X50v just to see if performance would be acceptable, and I haven't had any filesys.exe issues yet.

Of course, I also tested the UQM port, and lo and behold, it works this time! However, the D-Pad is mapped incorrectly, still having its portrait mode orientation while the display is in landscape. If I try going into landscape beforehand, then the image doesn't display properly. It would be nice if that were fixed.

Oh, and as far as the HTC Mogul problems are concerned, did you try making a shortcut to UQM.exe with command line arguments to set the resolution to 320x240? (I'm not sure how else to help until I manage to let one of my classmates test UQM on her Mogul.)
Logged
Baby Gorilla
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #47 on: April 29, 2008, 11:07:56 pm »

I just slapped a WM6.0 ROM with a 0 MB page pool setting onto my X50v just to see if performance would be acceptable, and I haven't had any filesys.exe issues yet.

Of course, I also tested the UQM port, and lo and behold, it works this time! However, the D-Pad is mapped incorrectly, still having its portrait mode orientation while the display is in landscape. If I try going into landscape beforehand, then the image doesn't display properly. It would be nice if that were fixed.

Oh, and as far as the HTC Mogul problems are concerned, did you try making a shortcut to UQM.exe with command line arguments to set the resolution to 320x240? (I'm not sure how else to help until I manage to let one of my classmates test UQM on her Mogul.)

I made the shortcut as I know how to. I used Resco Explorer to copy/paste shortcut. I opened the file in Word Mobile, and here is what is displayed currently for the file uqm_shortcut:

27#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe"
21#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe' -1 uqm_log.txt
"- 320x240"

Am I doing something wrong? Missing something?
Logged
NamelessPlayer
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 104



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #48 on: April 29, 2008, 11:26:21 pm »

Try editing it to display the following:

 "\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe" -1 uqm_log.txt -r 320x240

If that doesn't work, try adding the 21# at the beginning and see what happens.
Logged
Baby Gorilla
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #49 on: April 29, 2008, 11:54:04 pm »

Try editing it to display the following:

 "\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe" -1 uqm_log.txt -r 320x240

If that doesn't work, try adding the 21# at the beginning and see what happens.
Nothing Sad

It's not even creating a log file! That, or I don't know where it's putting it.
Logged
ptx
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 69


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #50 on: May 02, 2008, 08:33:24 pm »

Quote
I made the shortcut as I know how to. I used Resco Explorer to copy/paste shortcut. I opened the file in Word Mobile, and here is what is displayed currently for the file uqm_shortcut:

27#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe"
21#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe' -1 uqm_log.txt
"- 320x240"

Am I doing something wrong? Missing something?

It is not "-1", but rather "-l" as in "log"

I am fairly certain that it works on HTC Mogul, b/c I did try it out on a friend's HTC 6700 (WM5), as well as my HTC Touch (WM6).

-Pavel
Logged
Baby Gorilla
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #51 on: May 03, 2008, 01:01:13 am »

Quote
I made the shortcut as I know how to. I used Resco Explorer to copy/paste shortcut. I opened the file in Word Mobile, and here is what is displayed currently for the file uqm_shortcut:

27#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe"
21#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe' -1 uqm_log.txt
"- 320x240"

Am I doing something wrong? Missing something?

It is not "-1", but rather "-l" as in "log"

I am fairly certain that it works on HTC Mogul, b/c I did try it out on a friend's HTC 6700 (WM5), as well as my HTC Touch (WM6).

-Pavel

Ok, I changed it so it now reads in the uqm_shortcut.lnk:

27#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe"
21#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe' -l uqm_log.txt
"-r 320x240"

When I tap the shortcut, I get the 'working' icon, then nothing. Still no log is being created.
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #52 on: May 03, 2008, 02:07:00 am »

I don't have Windows mobile myself, but from what I could find, the number before the '#' specifies how many characters follow the '#'.
I don't know how parameters are supposed to be handled, but I'd try the following:
Quote
53#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe" -l uqm_log.txt -r 320x240
I'm not sure where the uqm_log.txt file is supposed to end up. Perhaps it is better to specify it with a complete path (and change the number accordingly).
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
ptx
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 69


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #53 on: May 05, 2008, 06:54:36 pm »

Quote
Ok, I changed it so it now reads in the uqm_shortcut.lnk:

27#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe"
21#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe' -l uqm_log.txt
"-r 320x240"

When I tap the shortcut, I get the 'working' icon, then nothing. Still no log is being created.

I still don't understand why you have two lines (one starting with 27 and one starting with 21).

I suggest trying the folowing:

1. Remove your shortcut

2. Create a new shortcut by clicking on the file, then Copy, and then Paste As Shortcut

3. Edit the shortcut and add the following at the end:
 -r320x240 -luqmlog.txt

NOTE: Make sure you do this correctly, i.e. if your original line is this:
29#"\Storage Card\UQM\UQM.EXE"
your new line will be:
29#"\Storage Card\UQM\UQM.EXE" -r320x240 -luqmlog.txt

Again, after the original line you will have a SPACE character, then -r320x240 (NO SPACES between r and 3), then -luqmlog.txt (NO SPACES between l and u)

I think you have two problems in your current shortcut:
1. Two lines. There should be only one line.
2. You have "-r 320x240" in quotes. This will probably pass it in to executable as single argument, and the executable doesn't know what to do with it (that's just my guess, I haven't checked the code)

NOTE: that you should only end up with ONE line in the shortcut file.

The log file is written in the current directory (normally wince doesn't have a concept of current dir, but cegcc introduces it).

I never had to change the initial number in the shortcut - it works for me w/o changing it in both WM5 and WM6.

Bottomline: First check to make sure you have only one line in the shortcut, then add this to the end:
 -r320x240 -luqmlog.txt

Logged
ptx
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 69


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #54 on: May 05, 2008, 06:59:59 pm »


Ok, I changed it so it now reads in the uqm_shortcut.lnk:

27#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe"
21#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe' -l uqm_log.txt
"-r 320x240"

When I tap the shortcut, I get the 'working' icon, then nothing. Still no log is being created.

If you still can't get this to work, PM me your IM (yahoo, aim or msn) and I will walk you through over IM.
Logged
Baby Gorilla
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #55 on: May 05, 2008, 09:11:49 pm »

Quote
Ok, I changed it so it now reads in the uqm_shortcut.lnk:

27#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe"
21#"\Storage Card\UQM\uqm.exe' -l uqm_log.txt
"-r 320x240"

When I tap the shortcut, I get the 'working' icon, then nothing. Still no log is being created.

I still don't understand why you have two lines (one starting with 27 and one starting with 21).

I suggest trying the folowing:

1. Remove your shortcut

2. Create a new shortcut by clicking on the file, then Copy, and then Paste As Shortcut

3. Edit the shortcut and add the following at the end:
 -r320x240 -luqmlog.txt

NOTE: Make sure you do this correctly, i.e. if your original line is this:
29#"\Storage Card\UQM\UQM.EXE"
your new line will be:
29#"\Storage Card\UQM\UQM.EXE" -r320x240 -luqmlog.txt

Again, after the original line you will have a SPACE character, then -r320x240 (NO SPACES between r and 3), then -luqmlog.txt (NO SPACES between l and u)

I think you have two problems in your current shortcut:
1. Two lines. There should be only one line.
2. You have "-r 320x240" in quotes. This will probably pass it in to executable as single argument, and the executable doesn't know what to do with it (that's just my guess, I haven't checked the code)

NOTE: that you should only end up with ONE line in the shortcut file.

The log file is written in the current directory (normally wince doesn't have a concept of current dir, but cegcc introduces it).

I never had to change the initial number in the shortcut - it works for me w/o changing it in both WM5 and WM6.

Bottomline: First check to make sure you have only one line in the shortcut, then add this to the end:
 -r320x240 -luqmlog.txt



AH!!! Thank you! That worked! I think there were some conflicting instructions floating around and I was trying to piece them together, hence the multiple lines.

Now to configure the keys and start playing! Thanks again! Cheesy
Logged
Baby Gorilla
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #56 on: May 05, 2008, 09:43:00 pm »

Ok, next question Cheesy

I can get into the game well enough and navigate the menus, but when I select Super Melee to test things out, I can't move the cursor from the '?' icon. I've tried editing the controls in the setup menu, but that doesn't seem to work, since I'm trying to change the commands to keys that are on the Mogul's slide out keyboard. I'm not exactly sure how I should edit the .key file to change things around.

What I want is to either be able to use WASD or the "joystick" on the face of the Mogul to steer/thrust the ship (without having to worry about pressing the 'enter' button), and either of the arrow keys to use as fire/special.
Logged
ptx
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 69


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #57 on: May 05, 2008, 10:13:42 pm »

Ok, next question Cheesy

I can get into the game well enough and navigate the menus, but when I select Super Melee to test things out, I can't move the cursor from the '?' icon. I've tried editing the controls in the setup menu, but that doesn't seem to work, since I'm trying to change the commands to keys that are on the Mogul's slide out keyboard. I'm not exactly sure how I should edit the .key file to change things around.

What I want is to either be able to use WASD or the "joystick" on the face of the Mogul to steer/thrust the ship (without having to worry about pressing the 'enter' button), and either of the arrow keys to use as fire/special.

I'm not seeing that behavior. I am able to move the cursor with the regular cursor keys when using either HTC Touch and Dell Axim.

Only thing I can suggest here is to play around with the starcon.key file.



Logged
Baby Gorilla
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 9



View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #58 on: May 05, 2008, 10:33:08 pm »

I think something may be conflicting with it, as the cursor isn't solid, but it's rapidly blinking/flashing, like something is keeping it in place. Not sure how else to describe it.
Logged
ptx
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 69


I love YaBB 1G - SP1!


View Profile
Re: Windows Mobile port?
« Reply #59 on: May 05, 2008, 10:45:56 pm »

Make sure you are not running two UQM's at once... I've had that happen when I clicked twice on accident - it started two instances of the game.

I.e. Either exit game, or if you can't = reboot the phone. Afterwards start the game again, but be careful not to click it twice.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 8 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!