The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 16, 2021, 10:03:53 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Help, UQM won't run
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: Help, UQM won't run  (Read 8515 times)
Cattrance
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 23


Goodbye and thanks for all the fish


View Profile
Help, UQM won't run
« on: October 29, 2008, 04:24:22 am »

Hi ,

I just recently got back into UQM on version 0.3.  I then realised after some time that the aliens were supposed to talk and for some reason mine wouldn't (I was stuck with just subtitles).  So I went to install version 0.6.2. It all downloaded and installed fine. Then when I went to run it this came up:

The Ur-Quan Masters encountered a fatal error.
Part of the log follows:

The Ur-Quan Masters v0.6.2 (compiled Jan 15 2007 13:56:34)
This software comes with ABSOLUTLEY NO WARRANTY;
for details see the included 'COPYING'  file.

Netplay protocol version 0.3. requiring remote UQM version 0.5.4
Error: Could not copy default key config to user config dir: No such file or directory

Now I cant play it at all. What do I do!

Thanks, I hope someone can help.


Logged

Forever the happy number 313. King of the prime!
Novus
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1938


Fot or not?


View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2008, 11:16:25 am »

I went to install version 0.6.2. It all downloaded and installed fine.

Error: Could not copy default key config to user config dir: No such file or directory

Now I cant play it at all. What do I do!
This typically means the main content package is missing or corrupt. Try reinstalling UQM or manually downloading and installing the content packages from the UQM downloads page.
Logged

RTFM = Read the fine manual.
RTTFAQ = Read the Ur-Quan Masters Technical FAQ.
Cattrance
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 23


Goodbye and thanks for all the fish


View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2008, 05:48:16 am »

Yeah I guess that was kinda obvious, but I was very very annoyed after spending around an hour trying to download the darned thing. Thanks anyway  Smiley
Logged

Forever the happy number 313. King of the prime!
TheDarkOne
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2010, 02:59:43 am »

ive had a very similar problem.  this is what my error message says. pay attention to the near end of it; its slightly different

The Ur-Quan Masters encountered a fatal error.
Part of the log follows:

The Ur-Quan Masters v0.6.2 (compiled Jan 15 2007 13:56:34)
This software comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY;
for details see the included 'COPYING' fle.

Netplay protocol version 0.3.  Requiring remote UQM version 0.5.4.
Error: Can't create C:/Users/Kristopher/Application Data/uqm: File exists

i downloaded and installed the game from the site you recommended, and this is what came up. what do i do?
Logged
ziper1221
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2010, 03:20:41 am »

try deleting C:/Users/Kristopher/Application Data/uqm

nice thread Frankensteining..
Logged

TheDarkOne
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2010, 02:13:18 am »

okay well i tried looking for that folder and for some reason its invisible. i run searches on it, and i follow the directory to the letter, but its nonexistent. i try creating a folder with the exact same name and my computer asks if i want to replace the existing folder. i say yes, and the folder vanishes! this is becoming frustrating Angry
Logged
jucce
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 95



View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2010, 02:31:31 am »

okay well i tried looking for that folder and for some reason its invisible. i run searches on it, and i follow the directory to the letter, but its nonexistent. i try creating a folder with the exact same name and my computer asks if i want to replace the existing folder. i say yes, and the folder vanishes! this is becoming frustrating Angry

You can do it from the command line, open it (for example with WIN+R, "cmd") and type:
Code:
rmdir /S /Q "C:/Users/Kristopher/Application Data/uqm"
Logged
ziper1221
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2010, 03:03:48 am »

You should turn on the ability to see hidden folders anyway.
Logged

Admiral Zeratul
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 223


I enjoy overthinking things.


View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #8 on: October 22, 2010, 08:30:00 pm »

You should turn on the ability to see hidden folders anyway.

I never saw the point of hidden folders, really. It's just an annoying feature I turn off on every new computer I obtain or when I have to reinstall the operating system of one I already have in my possession.
Logged

Priority override. New behavior dictated. Must break post into component ideas.
ziper1221
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2010, 09:54:21 pm »

Its to save windows from certain people...
tech guy: Is your computer plugged in?
guy: I dont know, I cant see back there.
Tech guy: you should turn on a light.
guy: I cant, the power is out.

not verbatim, but you get the idea.
Logged

onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #10 on: October 23, 2010, 02:04:47 pm »

Its to save windows from certain people...
tech guy: Is your computer plugged in?
guy: I dont know, I cant see back there.
Tech guy: you should turn on a light.
guy: I cant, the power is out.

not verbatim, but you get the idea.

It's actually kind of funny, but annoying, because people really are almost like that. I once tried answering a guy asking about a problem with a game called Lode Runner Online, which requires a certain DLL to be in the Windows\SYSTEM folder in order to run. Somehow, this was too complicated to follow:

Quote
Right click on DPLAY.DLL, choose Copy. Go to My Computer (or just Computer, if you're on Vista or 7). Go to C:\. Go to Windows. Go to System32. Right click on the white space and choose Paste.

I had to give him THIS before he got it:

Quote
1. Go to My Computer (XP and earlier) or Computer (Vista/7) in the start menu
2. right click on the disk drive that your CD is in (usually D or E)
3. Choose "Open"
4. Go to the DIRECTX folder
5. Right click on DPLAY.DLL
6. Choose "Copy"
7. Go to My Computer
8. Go to the C drive
9. Go to the Windows folder
10. Go to the System folder (System32 on 32-bit Windows, probably something like System64 for 64-bit Windows)
11. Right click on the white space
12. Choose "Paste"

And this was just for copying a file to another folder! Imagine what Microsoft's support group has to go through everyday!

Man, I wish people would take just FIVE MINUTES to understand GENERALLY how the stuff they use works. They don't need to have full comprehension, but Jesus Christ, moving and copying files is just everyday housework, no more difficult than plugging in the TV!
Logged

Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1331



View Profile WWW
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2010, 01:44:56 am »

Speaking of plugging in a TV, long time ago before the advent of fiber optics and satellite TV some of my family members used to have me come over their house to plug the coax into the back of their TV. Or it could get even more complicated like hooking up a VCR  Roll Eyes
Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #12 on: October 25, 2010, 09:28:11 pm »

Speaking of plugging in a TV, long time ago before the advent of fiber optics and satellite TV some of my family members used to have me come over their house to plug the coax into the back of their TV. Or it could get even more complicated like hooking up a VCR  Roll Eyes


Hah! Get this: My stepfather doesn't know how to change the input source on the TV. So when one of us watches a DVD, he needs to wait for someone else to change it back to HDMI input. The funny thing is, rather than taking 5 seconds to learn how to do it himself, he just gets mad at us for not changing it back to satellite input for him after watching a DVD. Roll Eyes
Logged

Serosis
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1331



View Profile WWW
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2010, 02:50:14 am »

HA!  Cheesy
Logged

The artist formerly known as Kohr-Ah Death.

Get your MegaMod HERE
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3848


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Help, UQM won't run
« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2010, 06:44:38 pm »

To be fair, it would take longer than 5 seconds. A minute or two?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!