The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 24, 2021, 03:21:10 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Starbase Café (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  SC:BEL Mission 1
« previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 55 56 [57] 58 59 ... 67 Print
Author Topic: SC:BEL Mission 1  (Read 110835 times)
Lukipela
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3619


The Ancient One


View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #840 on: June 03, 2009, 08:44:46 pm »

How does the slayer work if Wubula were fire W, from one square W of Bach's current location? Could two spiders be hit, or just one?
Does just moving past the spiders trigger the "breaking away from combat" rule? (If Wubula were to move N W N).
And how does the "only once per turn" of the Fallback ability work when there are two enemies attacking?

- She'd hit Bach. If he isn't there, she'd hit one spider. The splash only begins on the third square.
- Yes, it counts as breaking melee. If you get close enough to engage them, you'll be close enough that they can take a pot shot at you.
- The point of the rule is that the Human cannot get cornered by melee fighters, he can always retreat. Draxas rewrote a lot of stuff, and I just copied that in. Not sure what the "once per turn" means actually.  Embarrassed In this case, I rule that it means that Bach can move freely witrhout fear of the "breaking away" penalty from multiple enemies the first time he does it during the turn. After that, he can get hit.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2009, 06:46:23 am by Lukipela » Logged

What's up doc?
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #841 on: June 03, 2009, 10:12:27 pm »

How does the slayer work if Wubula were fire W, from one square W of Bach's current location? Could two spiders be hit, or just one?
- She'd hit Bach. If he isn't there, she'd hit one spider. The splash only begins on the third square.
Did you borrow SoA's keyboard?
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Draxas
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1044



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #842 on: June 04, 2009, 12:03:04 am »

- The point of the rule is that the Human cannot get cornered by melee fighters, he can always retreat. Draxas rewrote a lot of stuff, and I just copied that in. Not sure what the "once per turn" means actually.  Embarrassed In this case, I rule that it means that Bach can move freely witrhout fear of the "breaking away" penalty.

The idea of "once per turn" was to prevent someone from running past a line of guards at melee range without taking a single strike. They'll catch on eventually.

The interpretation that I intended is that you can break combat once per turn without taking free hits, regardless of how many opponents you're in combat with. However, on the second (and subsequent, if applicable) attempts to break combat, the skill no longer activates and you're attacked as normal.

In summary, my intent was to allow breaking away from combat, even though there are 2 opponents there. As Luki said, the idea is that the player cannot be surrounded easily by getting trapped in melee range, and can escape as long as they're not completely boxed in.

I'll weigh in on which plan I like best once I get home and can take a look at the map.
Logged
Lukipela
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3619


The Ancient One


View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #843 on: June 04, 2009, 06:46:48 am »

As usual Draxas makes a lot of sense, so I updated my post above to reflect that.
Logged

What's up doc?
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #844 on: June 04, 2009, 08:41:43 am »

How does the slayer work if Wubula were fire W, from one square W of Bach's current location? Could two spiders be hit, or just one?
- She'd hit Bach. If he isn't there, she'd hit one spider. The splash only begins on the third square.
Did you borrow SoA's keyboard?

Could you please reply to my remark as I wrote it?
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Lukipela
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3619


The Ancient One


View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #845 on: June 04, 2009, 09:38:37 am »

As soon as I get home, can't really do it from here.

EDIT: ok, standing one step W of Bach eh? The blast marker tell us that the shot travels forward, and that by tile 3 there is a splash to the sides. That means the first spider doesn't get hit by splash since it's only two tiles away. If you're standing exactly where Bach is standing and there was no spider directly W of you, it would be hit by splash. Since there is a spider there, only that one gets hit.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2009, 04:36:46 pm by Lukipela » Logged

What's up doc?
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #846 on: June 04, 2009, 05:41:38 pm »

Ok, that answered the question I asked, as well as the one I meant to ask.
I thought that maybe the westmost spider would als be hit, as the combustible material would not just come from the direction of the shooter, but also from the center of the stream.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Dabir
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 291



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #847 on: June 04, 2009, 10:18:31 pm »

Would it be worth Wawa's switching back to the peashooter before attacking, on the basis that there's a lot more ammo for that?
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #848 on: June 04, 2009, 11:07:29 pm »

That may be a good idea, but mainly because he/she/it won't have time to reload. He/she/it shouldn't do much shooting anyhow; he/she/it should get ready to use a special power if the need arises, imho.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Draxas
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1044



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #849 on: June 05, 2009, 06:26:44 am »

Does Wawa have any buffing skills left that he could use on Sukuzu? If so, I think it would be in our best interests to get him buffed up in order to take out the High Priest, since he's really the only one with any opportunity to do so. If so, I think I should risk moving N W so he can use it this turn.

Stunning powers to delay the High Priest would be handy as well... I don't think he has any long ranged ones left, though, does he.

A risky move would be for me to move N and fire N. This would probably clear out one of the spiders in Sukuzu's path, but it could also hit him for up to 3 damage, which would be a pretty lousy tradeoff. But if Wawa has no powers we can use on it, that may be our only shot to kill it.

If you think the risk isn't worth it, I'll just move N and fire W; Wawa and Wubula can clean up the spiders S and W of me.
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #850 on: June 05, 2009, 08:50:09 am »

Too much of a risk. And Sukuzu isn't our only chance at killing the high priest. Using a slayer from the line below Sukuzu will also damage it. And from the west side of the pool it could be hit too. We should just make sure that Sukuzu can fire directly at the high priest the next turn, so we should be in a position where we can kill anything which appears in front of him. All he may need is a full turn to shoot at it. And if we can get Wawa on the same line as the Priest, with noone in between, he/she/it can deal 3 HP to the Priest and stun it with Psychic blast, if necessary.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Lukipela
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3619


The Ancient One


View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #851 on: June 05, 2009, 09:03:37 am »

I would like to point out that Sukuzu has emptied his Slayer, and IIRC he hasn't gotten a spare plasma charge. That means he needs to change to his handgun to fire his weapon. Seeing as he is also stunned, he won't be doing any shooting this turn since just switching to another weapon in the heat of battle would consume his remaining AP. As Bach is also stunned he can move two steps, or move one step and fire.

As an aside, those stuns were pretty unlucky and any more of those may well get you into trouble.

EDIT: Going away for the weekend. I'll try and grap the map file from home in case I have internet access, but can't really promise anything.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2009, 12:26:38 pm by Lukipela » Logged

What's up doc?
Draxas
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1044



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #852 on: June 05, 2009, 03:44:18 pm »

I would like to point out that Sukuzu has emptied his Slayer, and IIRC he hasn't gotten a spare plasma charge.

That's bad. In that case, perhaps letting him run wild in melee while we clear out as many little guys as possible would be the best bet. We need to cut down anything that pops up on the top row so he has a clear path. Can either Wawa or Wubula get a clean shot at the upper path spiders if I clear out the 2 from moving N, firing W? If so, Sukuzu could just advance and engage in melee (over the course of this turn and the next, anyway).

Of course, I still have some concenrs that the High Priest could start shooting at us. 4 X 2 strikes is nothing to sneeze at. I hate to say that if we keep trying to pursue him, one or more of us might kick the bucket.
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #853 on: June 05, 2009, 04:17:48 pm »

Hmm... the High Priest might move down and fire at us from there. It may be best if we use the spiders as cover, and Wawa and Wubula try to advance from the south. From the south Wubula could fire to the north as well, helping clear the way for Sukuzu at the north.
Plan D:
Bach moves N, and fires S, clearing the way for Wawa and Wubula. He'll be at risk, but he should be able to handle it. And chances are that the High Priest doesn't want to move from its spot near the exit-to-be (like last turn), and a spider may move in front of Bach or block the path of the High Priest.
Wawa moves W W S.
Wubula moves N W W S.
Sukuzu attacks W, or bettter: Sukuzu throws a granade at the High Priest.

Lukipela: Wubula's HP in the status box next to the map doesn't match her HP in the first posting.
Lukipela: Do the new spiders appear after the Ilwrath has moved, or before?
Lukipela: How did Sukuzu get attacked by two spiders? Are these mini-spiders able to attack diagonally?
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Lukipela
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3619


The Ancient One


View Profile
Re: SC:BEL Mission 1
« Reply #854 on: June 05, 2009, 07:11:11 pm »

Lukipela: Wubula's HP in the status box next to the map doesn't match her HP in the first posting.
Lukipela: Do the new spiders appear after the Ilwrath has moved, or before?
Lukipela: How did Sukuzu get attacked by two spiders? Are these mini-spiders able to attack diagonally?


- I'll have a look. Most probably the status box HP is correct though. I always update that when doing combat, but I'll often miss updating the first post.
- The new spiders appear at the beginning of the Ilwrath turn, with 1 AP for that turn (I originally thought two, but that allows them to move a bit too far. It may be worth mentioning that the High Priest won't be moving much unless he has to, since he needs to stand in his current square to get away.
- Short answer: Because I'm a screwup. Long answer: That spider should be one step E, that's where it spawned. Play as if it were there. The spiders can't attack diagonally (unlike most of you).
Logged

What's up doc?
Pages: 1 ... 55 56 [57] 58 59 ... 67 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!