The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 17, 2019, 04:57:12 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul Reiche and Fred Ford want to continue the story they started when they created Star Control II — The Ur-Quan Masters. «Happy days and jubilation!» «But wait!» «There is something wrong here... something which makes my sheath retract and my talons ooze.» «Please, Captain, we need your help!»

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Requiem
« previous next »
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Print
Author Topic: Requiem  (Read 7550 times)
Alvarin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 795



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #30 on: June 29, 2009, 11:45:11 pm »

What do you mean by "apply patch" ? Can you please write step-by-step for it ?
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: Requiem
« Reply #31 on: June 30, 2009, 05:05:19 am »

Let me Google that for you...
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Spurk
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 115



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #32 on: June 30, 2009, 02:27:09 pm »

Or if you want to do it the hard way, you can also just open the file uqm-0.6.4-ee/src/sc2code/planets/Makeinfo and add the line with the + sign in between the other lines as shown. Smiley

For the record, your patch works fine for me. Alvarin, you'll want to do a clean first (./build.sh uqm clean), before you do a new build.
Logged
Spurk
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 115



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #33 on: June 30, 2009, 02:54:43 pm »

Also, if you want a minor bug report, when i go to the pkunk starbase, orbiting their hw, when i finish speaking to them, i end up in orbit of their planet, instead of remaining at the starbase. don't know how much this applies to other races' starbases.

not the biggest deal, but figured i'd mention it.
Logged
0xDEC0DE
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 175



View Profile WWW
Re: Requiem
« Reply #34 on: June 30, 2009, 05:10:40 pm »

That's on purpose.  Starbases == Homeworlds, for the most part.  I figured moving the ship would make that a little clearer.  I guess not.
Logged

"I’m not a robot like you. I don’t like having disks crammed into me… unless they’re Oreos, and then only in the mouth."  --Fry
Angelfish
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 568



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #35 on: June 30, 2009, 05:50:05 pm »

Thanks, I'll certainly look at this sometime when I have time Smiley.
And as you can see, people fade away, but some people come back Wink.
Logged
Spurk
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 115



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #36 on: June 30, 2009, 06:01:23 pm »

Hm. Got an abrupt endgame. I was playing a game and got to the point where I go to Zeta Hyades, but when I reached the Druuge, I didn't hear the red alert sound (might just be me not paying attn), and after speaking with the Druuge, I got dumped immediately back to the New Game / Load Game / Melee / ... screen. No battle, no nothing. Immediate game over, I guess.

Since I hadn't been saving, I can't reproduce the error quickly, so don't know if it was a fluke or not.
Logged
CelticMinstrel
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 515



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #37 on: June 30, 2009, 08:15:28 pm »

That's pretty much the same thing that happened to me, except it was after speaking with the Ur-Quan at Unzervalt.
Logged
Alvarin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 795



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #38 on: June 30, 2009, 09:01:58 pm »

Thanks for the patch explanation , it was much easier , than I thought it should be Smiley

About the disappearing Fwiffo - consider this - it is a Spathi ship with Spathi captain , but the whole crew is from the starbase (Human/Shofixti maybe some Pkunk/Umgah/Yehat/Arilou) and I really doubt that Fwiffo or any other Spathi captain would have the nerve to kidnap 29 crewmen .
Logged
Son_of_Antares
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 305


Arioch, I summon thee...


View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #39 on: July 02, 2009, 04:19:39 pm »

Hey decode dude! Today I finally had some spare time to try out this extended version of yours and was really looking forward to it. But as fate would have it I almost instantly encountered a problem: each time I try to exit the setup menu the game crashes leaving me only with an error report Tongue how can I counter this? I mean it's not that much of a problem, but I sure want to configure controls and all...
« Last Edit: July 02, 2009, 04:22:00 pm by Son_of_Antares » Logged
Nate
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #40 on: July 17, 2009, 04:21:08 pm »

I played your Mac OS extended version last night and enjoyed it a lot.  The additions add a lot of flavor to the game, and also made me visit star systems that I don't usually mine.  I especially liked the Precursor starbase and the dead starbase. 

I ran into many of the same problems that others have enumerated: the transition from conversation to combat seems to cause the game to exit to the menu every so often. But if you save a lot, this isn't that frustrating. No single event consistently caused the exit in my experience. 

One other thing I noticed: I couldn't ask the Mycon at their homeworld the "Why do the shattered worlds only occur in your area of space?"  But this didn't effect my ability to complete the Syreen plot.  Maybe I've just forgotten how to activate that dialogue with the original sun device dialogue restored to the game.

If you ever come back to this mod, one other thing you might add are Androsynth/Precursor archeological remnants at Alpha Lalande where they discovered the device that got them noticed by the Orz (per the flavor text on the Androsynth homeworld).   

Anyway, thanks for making this, and giving me a reason to replay SC2 again.
Logged
SuddenDeath
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 96


from Sunstrike's image pack


View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #41 on: July 20, 2009, 02:18:22 pm »

Hey decode dude! Today I finally had some spare time to try out this extended version of yours and was really looking forward to it. But as fate would have it I almost instantly encountered a problem: each time I try to exit the setup menu the game crashes leaving me only with an error report Tongue how can I counter this? I mean it's not that much of a problem, but I sure want to configure controls and all...

This. I can't change any settings Sad
Therefore, UQM is constantly in 'windowed' mode...
« Last Edit: July 20, 2009, 02:19:59 pm by SuddenDeath » Logged
sisteczko
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #42 on: September 28, 2009, 02:35:56 pm »

>This. I can't change any settings.
>Therefore, UQM is constantly in 'windowed' mode...

Changing settings in Official UQM 0.6.2 version worked for me. Appearantely these versions share the same settings lcation. And after setting settings in 0.6.2 at least once the 0.6.4.ee settings ceased to make problems.
Logged
sisteczko
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 2



View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #43 on: September 28, 2009, 02:54:00 pm »

I spent whole day trying to get 3domusic, remixes speeach to work in this version, but to no avail. I realize it has to do something with the .rmp files. I even found somehow the .rmp file for 3domusic, but still I couldn't hear it in the game.

I tried putting it in addon directory and content directory.

I realize of course that packages in addon directory need to be included with commandline swith "--addon"...

Is it possible at all to hear the 3do and other music in this edition without learning how to modify and recompile the source?

Thank you for reply.

If someone want to PM me, do it at adam AT statystyka.net
Logged
SuddenDeath
Frungy champion
**
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 96


from Sunstrike's image pack


View Profile
Re: Requiem
« Reply #44 on: September 28, 2009, 06:58:43 pm »

>This. I can't change any settings.
>Therefore, UQM is constantly in 'windowed' mode...

Changing settings in Official UQM 0.6.2 version worked for me. Appearantely these versions share the same settings lcation. And after setting settings in 0.6.2 at least once the 0.6.4.ee settings ceased to make problems.

Yeah, discovered that some weeks ago. And you can change settings in the Balance Mod UQM, that also works.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!