The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2022, 12:08:58 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Celebrating 30 years of Star Control 2 - The Ur-Quan Masters

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Internet REQUIRED for UQM?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Internet REQUIRED for UQM?  (Read 1490 times)
Ricoman
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21



View Profile
Internet REQUIRED for UQM?
« on: September 14, 2009, 07:38:15 pm »

OK, I downloaded all the content packs, the 3DO music and voice packs, and installed them with the installer. All I get is an error about "Can't find Netplay 0.5.4" and it shuts down.

Do I HAVE to have an internet connection to get to play the UQM version of PC Star Control 2???

I'm trying to play it on my laptop that doesn't have any wireless access...

EDIT: nevermind, I found the answer here:

http://forum.uqm.stack.nl/index.php?topic=4273.0

EDIT EDIT: AAARGH! Even with the Content Pack it still just goes to a black screen then crashes to the desktop...WTF??? I want so bad to play this but I'm not a dang MCSE and I can't program my way out of a bleeping paper bag. So does ANYONE have a simple, easy to follow install tutorial I could follow? I'd be FOREVER grateful...
 Cry

EDIT EDIT EDIT: PLEASE? can ANYONE either point me to a tutorial or write a short one up? I'm going through SC2 withrawal...

 Shocked


OKAY. I'm searching all teh posts about "Installer, trouble, problems" and I'm compiling a hopefully helpful article for newbies like myself.  Once I get everything together in a semi-logical form I'll post it here, and maybe get it stickied or something.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2009, 09:11:47 pm by Ricoman » Logged
Ricoman
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21



View Profile
Re: Internet REQUIRED for UQM?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2009, 05:45:43 pm »

OK, here's what I did and now it works great: (except for the battle sound when you first encounter an enemy, I seem to have los tit somewhere but don't really care as it doesn't change the game at all)

1. Download the UQM installer, the UQM contents file, the UQM sound file and the UQM voice file
            (I just made a SC2 folder on my desktop to keep them in)

2. Run the installer, I just used the default location [(c:\The Ur-Quan Masters\) I think it was]

3. Find the voice, sound and content files you downloaded, and rename the extensions from .zip to .uqm                    (Windows won't like this and will ask you if you want to change the extension. Choose "yes")

4. Put the sound, contents and voice files into the install folder (I also copied them into the contents folder inside the install folder just in case.)

5. WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT use the OpenAL sound option (I think it was the far right of the three sound driver options)!!! it will crash UQM and you will have to uninstall and re-install!!!     Shocked

so anyway that's what I found worked for me. I hope it helps someone else save a few hours of beating your head on a brick wall  =)
Logged
meep-eep
Forum Admin
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2847



View Profile
Re: Internet REQUIRED for UQM?
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2009, 06:16:49 pm »

A few additional hints for future readers of this thread:

If you edit an existing posting, it will not be marked as "new" again, so it is advisable to just add a new reply if the meaning of the original posting has changed.

You shouldn't need to manually download the contents and music packs. The installer will download them if they're not in the current directory.

The .uqm files are indeed .zip files internally. This can confuse Internet Explorer, which has been known to rename the .uqm files to .zip when you download them. (Yet another reason to ditch IE.) That's not a problem for UQM, but the installer won't be able to find them.

OpenAL (as well as OpenGL) has caused problems for some people. Deleting your uqm.cfg file would have been enough to reset the sound (and video) settings — reinstalling was overkill.
Logged

“When Juffo-Wup is complete
when at last there is no Void, no Non
when the Creators return
then we can finally rest.”
Ricoman
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 21



View Profile
Re: Internet REQUIRED for UQM?
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2009, 08:20:12 pm »

You shouldn't need to manually download the contents and music packs. The installer will download them if they're not in the current directory.

yes, but I don't have an internet connection on my computer so I had to do it manually  Wink
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!