The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 24, 2021, 07:36:12 am
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  Technical Issues (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Newer UQM version
« previous next »
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 Print
Author Topic: Newer UQM version  (Read 31658 times)
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 813



View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #90 on: August 19, 2003, 09:44:12 am »

i have 89 objects, 35.1 KB, in the content folder. i tried to use the -n command to force the game to look at the content file, it changed something in the background dos window, but it flashes by to fast for me to read it. then it crashes like b4. it was working awesome in in his last build.

my specs:
windows 98 se
600 Mhz compaq presario 5000 series
319 mb ram
voodoo 5 pci video card
ess allegro sound card
about 85-90% free system resources
direct x 9b? what ever is the latest i just upgraded the other day.

maybe this is a bug?
it doesnt matter if i drag the UQM to the desktop, or patch it in the default location. still the same thing. oh how i hate this infernal machines Angry
~DEFIANT  


« Last Edit: August 19, 2003, 09:45:00 am by DEFIANT » Logged
Paxtez
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 130


Joystick Jedi


View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #91 on: August 19, 2003, 01:02:28 pm »

Quote
it doesnt matter if i drag the UQM to the desktop, or patch it in the default location.


What do you mean by that?
UQM doesn't really care where it is, as long as it has the DLLs and the content folder in the same dir.
How are you trying to start UQM?  Double clicking on the actually UQM.exe file in main UQM folder, or a short cut of somesort?
« Last Edit: August 19, 2003, 01:03:57 pm by Paxtez » Logged

....Paxtez....
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 813



View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #92 on: August 20, 2003, 05:10:34 am »

i have the original install program saved to disk. i erased everything and started over, allowing UQM to install to its default location: C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters
what i ment about the desktop thing, i draged the whole UQM file to my desktop, then i patched it there to see if it made a differance since you said you moved your file, i thought id try the reverse. no such luck.
ive tried double click on my short cut of UQM, and also the exe in the UQM file itself, same out come. i didnt do anything different than i normally do when i patch with Strikers build. ie: download the insaller, click it, highlight upgrade and dll's, start menu, then download from the internet. ive also tried different combos with the installer.
how do i go about maybe getting the files off source forge and compileing? them myself? that way i could just update with out having to wait for striker or the new version to come out. can some one may be point me in the right direction plez and thank you.
~DEFIANT
Logged
Idot
Guest


Email
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #93 on: August 20, 2003, 09:25:01 am »

Driller Killer
Quote
fatal error: couldn't mount content dir, no such file or directory  
The apparent solution was to move the game to the default installation location (C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters\).

I can't! Cry
I don't have enough space on my drive C: 'cause its' size is only 2GB and it is made only for windows and some common files
Logged
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3862


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #94 on: August 20, 2003, 09:05:49 pm »

Perhaps you can put a shortcut at C:\Program Files\The Ur-Quan Masters pointing at the real UQM directory?

I don't know how much like symlinks shortcuts are... not very much, I gather... but it might be worth a shot.
Logged
Defender
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 813



View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #95 on: August 24, 2003, 08:45:56 pm »

Death_999:
what do you mean by put a shortcut in the uqm dir?
was this fix directed at me or Diller Killer? damn i wish Striker was around maybe he would have an idea whats going on. looks like im stuck to playing his last build since i cant get it working.
~DEFIANT
Logged
Idot
Guest


Email
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #96 on: August 25, 2003, 09:17:58 am »

I agree with DEFIANT
and also I need a kind of instruction "how to use zipped files with the newest version?"
Logged
Paxtez
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 130


Joystick Jedi


View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #97 on: August 25, 2003, 05:26:38 pm »

The zip files go in a folder named 'packages' inside the content folder.  The zip files have to have the path to the file (not counting the content folder).  So you can zip the melee dir, and as long as the files are stored as 'melee\blah.blah' and not 'blah.blah' it should work.
Logged

....Paxtez....
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3862


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #98 on: August 25, 2003, 11:40:04 pm »

Quote
Death_999:
what do you mean by put a shortcut in the uqm dir?


I said, 'at'. I mean, it's looking for a directory at location X. This is not where you have the uqm directory. So create a shortcut pointing to the real location, and put the shortcut where UQM expects to find the directory.

From what I understand of shortcuts, though, I'd be a little surprised if this worked.
Logged
Idot
Guest


Email
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #99 on: August 31, 2003, 07:38:02 am »

how I acn use the standard packages?
like \content\packages\yuqm-0.2-content.zip ?
Logged
Idot
Guest


Email
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #100 on: September 03, 2003, 10:17:02 am »

is it possible to new version add an option to see old dialogs?
(it isn't a good idea to seat with a pen and  piece of paper Embarrassed)
Logged
Idot
Guest


Email
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #101 on: September 09, 2003, 07:59:10 am »

If I just rename uqm-0.2-voice.zip & uqm-0.2-3domusic.zip to uqm-0.3-voice.zip & uqm-0.3-3domusic.zip will they work?
Logged
Paxtez
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 130


Joystick Jedi


View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #102 on: September 09, 2003, 01:21:33 pm »

You don't even have to rename it, it should still work fine.  The 3do music package wasn't changed at all (iirc), while the voices only had two minor changes (that I know of).
Logged

....Paxtez....
NECRO-99
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 478


Androsynth Combat Tactics Specialist


View Profile WWW
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #103 on: September 10, 2003, 02:32:19 am »

*Blunders in like an idiot*

Ok, this comes from a total layman about compiling, etc.

I downloaded the source for 0.3. Done.
Checked the "Install" file, it told me to get some GNU zipper called "make". Done
Now I've not a clue what to do. 0.2 still works, but I haven't the slightest idea where to start on updating. Hilf mir!
Logged

I love being a clone. Everything I do bad gets blamed on the real me!
Deep-Jiffa
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1045



View Profile
Re: Newer UQM version
« Reply #104 on: September 10, 2003, 03:40:06 am »

You can start by uninstalling 0.2.
Logged

Deep Jiffa Owns j00!
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7] 8 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!