The Ur-Quan Masters Home Page Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 17, 2019, 09:49:57 pm
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Paul & Fred have reached a settlement with Stardock!

+  The Ur-Quan Masters Discussion Forum
|-+  The Ur-Quan Masters Re-Release
| |-+  General UQM Discussion (Moderator: Death 999)
| | |-+  Starmap's size within the galaxy
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] Print
Author Topic: Starmap's size within the galaxy  (Read 3166 times)
ziper1221
*Many bubbles*
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 124



View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #15 on: December 08, 2009, 03:40:18 am »

this galaxy still seems WAY too small. I'm blaming the numbers I got from valaggar.
Logged

Joss Rand
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18



View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #16 on: April 12, 2011, 03:08:59 pm »

This has been dead for more than year and a half, but in order not to start a new thread here we go. I know this is just a game and I doubt FF & PRIII were thinking on the real Universe and/or real astronomy when they made the starmap, but nonetheless I love astronomy and sci-fi and I wanted to speculate:

Fwiffo says Spathiwa -Epsilon Gruis- is at 143 light years from Sol. Besides if that was something it said because he was scared of seeing the Vindicator hovering over him, perhaps his light years aren't the same of us.
Spathiwa orbits its star at roughly the Saturn-Sun distance, so assuming Epsilon Gruis has the same mass of our Sun (bear in mind an orange giant is a very different type of star respect to a dwarf like Sol; see Wikipedia entries) its year would be equivalent to roughly 30 of our years -if it was more massive, the year would be shorter, but not much-. If that figure is correct, Spathiwa would be actually at 4300 light years of our star.

Another possibility is that hyperspace distances does not correspond with realspace distances. That would explain why, despite being Vela at a hundred light years away from Earth, there's no supergiant star so close to us. Zeeman could be much farther.

Finally, all the stars we see in the game are single and have planets -or moons in the case of gas giants- in which you can land. Probably there're much more stars we don't see because they're binary or more -most real-world stars are in double or multiple stars systems; see Alpha Centauri and perhaps their gravity fields would make the hyperdrive useless- and/or have no planets or have planets unworthy of exploration due to size or other causes (think, for example, on those many planets that have been discovered during the last years. Most have masses comparable to Jupiter and orbit their stars much closer than Mercury)


(PS: Sorry for my english)
Logged
SweetSassyMolassy
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 271



View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #17 on: April 12, 2011, 04:47:36 pm »

Maybe the translator on your ship picks out what the alien races mean by "year" and normalizes it to the earth year, except the Slylandro, where of course there's no translation.
Logged

I am not always understand about what you speak, unfortunately.
Death 999
Global Moderator
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3831


We did. You did. Yes we can. No.


View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #18 on: April 13, 2011, 09:02:55 pm »

Well, Alpha Centauri is technically binary, but the two are far enough apart they could each independently have planetary system. Tight binaries are notably absent, true.
Logged
Joss Rand
Zebranky food
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 18



View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2011, 01:38:58 am »

Well, Alpha Centauri is technically binary, but the two are far enough apart they could each independently have planetary system. Tight binaries are notably absent, true.

Correct. In fact, planets have been found around stars belonging to binary -or multiple- systems. I meant to say perhaps the gravitational fields of two (or more) stars could make the hyperdrive useless, so you could not go there nor exit -you could use sublight engines (the ones you use for moving between planets), of course, but be prepared for a voyage of several years at best-; it could explain why we not see binary/multiple systems in the game.
Logged
Draxas
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1044



View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2011, 03:12:17 am »

Considering the gravity well generated by a single ship is enough to draw another vessel in, never mind a single star system, I'd suspect that multiple star systems would actually be rather large and dangerous hazards. The could possibly act as a hyperspatial black hole, drawing things in and then not allowing them to leave.

Why don't we see them? Who knows. Then again, it's already established that a given system in Hyperspace is arbitrarily named according to one in Truespace, and the two systems are likely not one and the same.
Logged
Dabir
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 291



View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2011, 02:55:40 pm »

Well Hyperspace presumably isn't actually 2D, so there could be a good deal of distance between apparently adjacent stars like Zeeman and Vela, just on the Z axis. That would mean that the computer could easily filter out dangerous gravitational anomalies and steer you around them as if they weren't there.
Logged
Draxas
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1044



View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #22 on: April 15, 2011, 07:35:07 pm »

But the wouldn't it take a lot of fuel to go from Zeeman to Vela?
Logged
Dabir
*Smell* controller
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 291



View Profile
Re: Starmap's size within the galaxy
« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2011, 09:54:10 pm »

Maybe there's absolutely no resistance in the Z axis in hyperspace? It's another dimension, it doesn't have to make sense to us.
Logged
Ahmed
Guest


Email
Rainbow Worlds Location
« Reply #24 on: April 20, 2011, 11:16:17 am »

Hello. Does anybody knows the location of the rainbow worlds?
 Huh
Logged
onpon4
Enlightened
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 709


Sharing is good.


View Profile WWW
Re: Rainbow Worlds Location
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2011, 12:35:15 pm »

Hello. Does anybody knows the location of the rainbow worlds?
 Huh

Doesn't this belong in another topic?

But since you've already made the post, you do know of the Ultronomicon, right? Just search "rainbow world" there and you'll find a neat list of all of them.
Logged

Pages: 1 [2] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!